We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Damp room in need of some TLC”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coach & Horses

The Coach & Horses
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach & Horses
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Damp room in need of some TLC”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked through "Booking.com" and on arrival had a bad feeling about the property, the general condition of the pub looked run down but as we had already guarenteed the room with a credit card went on in, cancellation fees are 100% up to a week from date of arrival.

The room smelled musty and the bed linen felt damp, breakfast was a small box of cereal and a plastic bagged croissant, we were informed that a cooked breakfast was available when the pub opened at 10am at extra cost.

As we were both tired from the Carfest event we tried to air the room wirh no luck, the wall heater did take the edge off the dampness by the morning.

The bathroom was a disaster, the mirror, towel ring and toilet paper holder were all only just holding on to the wall, both basin taps would not turn off and the top of the cold tap was broken. Behind the door was a hole where the door handle had smashed through the plasterboard, the bath had a shower screen with rust staining the bath and the general cleanliness of the bathroom and bedroom was well below are expectations.

We checked out at 10:20am and I attempted to give the key in at the bar, the pub door was still locked so I gave up and left it in the room, obviously the cooked breakfast was a non-starter.

Such a shame, a quiet location, large room with a lot of potential, £65 is way too much until the decor and dampness are rectified, and a proper breakfast should be offered in the price too.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is not damp, it may have been our bad luck but another reviewer also suffered the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter0101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Damp smelling room, awful settee torn and faded - in fact I could not work out why it was in the room as it was only fit for the tip the bedroom suite was fine and did not need this in the room, peeling bathroom ceiling, inside of bathroom door was filthy, breakfast laid out as 2 boxes of cereal with 2 everlasting croissants in plastic bags. View from the window was an oil tank. It was advertised as a lovely coach house from 18th century but the room was part of an outbuilding which could have been lovely if anyone had cared to keep it heated, cleaned and some more thought given to the expectations of guests. Would not advise staying here and will be very careful in future when booking with booking.com

Room Tip: I am lost for words - unless there is a good make over then I can't recommend how anyone could c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sutton Scotney hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We choose to dine at the Coach and Horses following a day at Thruxton Race Circuit, we were a little put off by the outside appearance but once inside we received a warm welcome from the staff and found a table in the main bar area and perused the menu. There was quite a reasonable choice and both myself and husband choose fish, chips and peas, the orders for people on the next table arrived and the portions are really big, in fact if anything and had I realised I would have asked for a childrens portion. Our meals arrived and again were very generous portions everthing was cooked well and it was very tasty but just too much. On the whole we enjoyed our meal and its was really good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Three of us popped in for dinner on a Friday night during the Easter holidays. The place was very busy, which seemed a good sign. I noticed that the meals others around me were eating were very generous in size. I had chicken madras with rice, which was acceptable. My mother in law had scampi and chips, which tends to be the same everywhere, really. My wife chose 'salmon in sweet chilli sauce' from the specials board. Unfortunately the fish was raw inside, with only the outer 5mm or so being the correct cooked pink colour. The sweet chilli sauce had just come out of a bottle, which was a shame. Embarrassed, we asked that the fish be cooked through. The plate was taken away. Meanwhile we two with our meals had to eat them whilst my wife waited. After we had finished, a fresh salmon order arrived. This, too, was undercooked in exactly the same way, which was hard to believe. I had to ask a second time for the fish to be taken away. My wife ordered lasagne this time, and we were told that there would be no charge, which was fair enough. But our evening out was spoiled by carelessness in the first place, compounded by negligence: one must simply not serve fish that is undercooked,, cold and raw in the middle.

Needless to say we won't be going again.

The young lady who served us was, however, very polite and professional. The kitchen staff, by contrast, need remedial training in food safety.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Dropped in for lunch & was pleasantly surprised, nice atmosphere, good food & great friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Scotney
1.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#12 of 13 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#11 of 13 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
4.4 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach & Horses

Property: The Coach & Horses
Address: Oxford Road, Sutton Scotney SO21 3JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sutton Scotney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Scotney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Coach & Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach & Horses Sutton Scotney, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing