We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norton Park - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norton Park - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a 2 night spa break with a friend and have to say one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The room was spacious, clean, modern and surprising large for a standard twin room. The food was out of this world especially the desserts hotel staff couldn’t of been more helpful either. Spa facilities good and spa treatments very nice and relaxing have to say have never felt so relaxed. Would defiantly stay here again. In July a friend and I will be staying in another Q hotel the Ashford international and really hope we will get the same great experience as have in this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lil-miss-sunshine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    746
    369
    146
    87
See reviews for
299
888
33
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Booked our weekend break for last weekend on Feb 29th for the special offer of £29 person, B & B but looking on here, it seems they are always having an offer of some description! I also got 29% off the spa treatments which was great. i really enjoyed the spa treatments.

I upgraded to a feature room which was in the Manor House at a cost of £50 extra per night as the reservations assistant said they were more or less suites.

The hotel is set in very pretty grounds and a long drive in from the road to the hotel. The staff are very friendly and check in was seamless. Restaurant staff are also very helpful.


Our room, Tulip was a nice room but no way was it a suite aInd the bathroom was so tiny! No shelf to place any toiletries on so had to use the floor! The Manor House is a much more quiet area than the main hotel and am pleased we were staying in there however it does look as if it needs some refurbishment and is not cleaned as often as it could be. There were grass cuttings in the porch and the carpet on the stairs was not cleaned during our stay!

We had to wait for 15 - 20 minutes on the Saturday morning to get a table for breakfast which was disappointing. The hotel was clearly full and they do not rush guests at breakfast which is great if you are not waiting! Dinner on both nights was good and the staff did a good job.

I mentioned to the receptionist about the small bathroom, and the room not being a suite and they reimbursed me the upgrade cost which was quite generous of them but would rather have paid and had more spacious facilties. The receptionist was very courteous and charming so clearly the staff are their main asset.

This hotel is very busy with events and weddings etc so is not a totally restful experience for a spa hotel and think the offers encourages people to book. We got what we paid for but would not necesssarily return to this hotel. Aldwark Manor, York and Forest Pines at Lincoln are, in my opinion better Q hotels.
I

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank specialevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your review and particularly your comments relating to the staff. The Manor House is a listed building so when we refurbished we were not able to alter it structurally and enlarge some of the bathrooms. I am glad that our reception team dealt with your dissatisfaction with the bathroom size efficiently. This particular weekend we were busy with weddings and events however that is not the case every weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed here 17-19th May on a two night Travelzoo deal. I cannot fault anything about this hotel at all. We arrived early as we had booked some treatments via the spa and were informed the spa had already contacted them and our room was ready if we would like to check in first. The room was spotlessly clean, loads of space for two girls with all their stuff, plug sockets in the right place for hairdryers/straighteners, good lighting, plenty of mirrors, extra pillows, an iron, ironing board, and even a fan if you needed it. We enjoyed the in room movies which were part of our package and slept soundly both nights. The spa treatments were divine and the staff were welcoming and friendly. The food at dinner was lovely and served at a steady, unhurried pace. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was busy but considering the amount of guests (there seemed to be wedding parties) there were compared to spaces in the restaurant, the staff kept it all flowing with a smile and we waited no more than ten minutes for a table. Why some people in the queue were moaning is beyond me - the room information clearly states that in busy periods, there is sometines a 5-10 min wait at breakfast between 9-9:30 so they were warned! We went away for a much needed de-stress break and some quality mother/daughter time and this hotel exceeeded our expectations. The friendly and professional attitude of all the staff we encountered is a credit to them. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ventnor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
I am delighted that you and your daughter had an enjoyable break and enjoyed all of the facilities. We are now able to open up our terraces adjacent to the restaurant for breakfast which should improve the breakfast experience at busy times. You mentioned you booked through Travel zoo and I suggest you also look at Qhotels.co.uk as we are regularly releasing new packages and offers.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

I was at the hotel over the weekend of 18/20 May and can honestly say that it was one of the best I have ever stayed in. The staff were all friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. My room was clean and well laid out and breakfast was good with plenty of choice. I used the restaurant as well and the food and service was excellent with very attentive staff. I could find no fault with the leisure facilities although a jacuzzi would have been a nice addition. I would highly recommend the spa. I had two treatments there and the therapists were extremely efficient leaving me totally relaxed and refreshed. There was a wedding going on at the hotel over the weekend but this did not mean that the staff were overstretched and so could attend to the other guests. Having read some of the other critical reviews here, I cannot believe we are talking about the same hotel as my experience was as perfect as it could be. OK, you could be really picky about the walkways between the blocks of rooms (but they are covered) and the distance to the car park, but there would be many more complaints if cars were parked right outside the rooms as is the case at many other hotels with consequent starting of engines and slamming doors. These aspects in no way detracted from my overall experience and I would not have even given them a second thought had it not been for the comments on here. Looking forward to my next visit and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone else. Well done to everyone there!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spursfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review that I have shared with the team here at Norton Park. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

we stayed at the hotel 18th-20th may, although the hotel was busy due to weddings and other functions during our stay the staff were all very efficient and willing to help at all times everything stayed spotlessly clean. we ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was great.
would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyandvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Good quality rooms, excellent buffet breakfast and lovely setting in its own grounds. Service is very good and check-out speedy. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingsince1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Rated as four star due to the facilities no doubt, certainly not for quality or value for money. I bought a beef sandwich, chips (x2) a ham sandwich a pint of Guinness and a large glass of red wine and it came to £35! Our room was a good five minute walk through endless, poorly signposted corridors and walkways - eat your heart out maze creators. The room was nicely furnished however and the bathroom good too but this was about all that I can say in defence of the extortionate room price of £116. Absolutely astronomical. The staff were very friendly which made a difference but in terms of overall value and quality I would not rate it above an average three star (at best).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubabigbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Norton Park. I am sorry that you felt our Food & Beverage and Room rate pricing did not meet your expectations. All our menus and tariffs are based on being competitive in our market along with the quality of the the product we serve. Menu's and tariffs are clearly displayed as was the room rate prior to booking. The hotel is situated on 55 acres and the bedroom blocks are only two stories high. This can result in a few minute walk to your room but the benefits are country side views, the smell of fresh cut lawns and meadows along with the sounds of nature. Thank you for kind comments relating to the staff at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Scotney
14.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
6.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
20.2 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
16.4 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Park - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Park - A QHotel

Property: Norton Park - A QHotel
Address: Norton Park | Nr Winchester, Sutton Scotney SO21 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sutton Scotney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton Park - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts of Winchester, Norton Park is a sumptuous four star hotel blending beautiful contemporary chic with historical elegance all set within 54 acres of peaceful grounds. No matter what your reason for visiting, on business, a family trip or a spa break, the hotel has all the facilities to surpass your expectations. For those visiting on business, be it for a board meeting, a residential conference, training seminar or annual dinner the state-of-the-art facilities are exceptional. Norton Park offers 16 conference and meeting rooms for up to 340 delegates within the main hotel, the Manor House and for something a little different the 17th century Tythe Barn. On the doorstep to all that Hampshire has to offer including historic Winchester with its magnificent cathedral and the coastal cities of Southampton and Portsmouth, Norton Park is an ideal base for a leisure break with family and friends. The hotel has 166 modern bedrooms, a large leisure complex and spa, a great restaurant and beautiful landscaped gardens to stroll around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Norton Park - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton Park - a q Hotel Sutton Scotney
Norton Park a Qhotel Winchester
Norton Park - A QHotel Sutton Scotney, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing