We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norton Park - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is set in its own grounds just outside Sutton Scotney. The staff are pleasant and the hotel is new and very clean.

Breakfast is very good with lots of choice. The bar food menu is a little limited but there is a separate restaurant that might have a better menu.

If you are staying here then you probably need your own transportation as there isn't really anything within walking distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in an annex with an enclosed walkway to the main building. Possibly not ideal in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Norton Park.
We do offer both a bar and restaurant menu, offering more dining options to our guests.
I am glad you were happy with the hotel and staff and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a reunion group and have to say we were happy with the hotel but very disappointed with the staff and many aspects of the hotel, especially the evening meals and breakfast staff.
To be honest we expected much more from this hotel. I believe the major issue is staff training although the quality of the evening meals for the cost was poor. Over priced for small or badly presented food is unacceptable and I have had better at Wetherspoons at 33% of the price. Example fish and chips, a very small portion of fish and look warm chips for nearly £15.
The walk to the room from reception was a long one but the room was acceptable but I don't expect a shower over the bath with a curtain at this standard of hotel.
The final straw was breakfast - a nice lady asked tea or coffee, I said tea please, coffee arrived. I tried to attract the attention of a male team member he glanced in my direction but quickly looked away.

Room Tip: Breakfast food selection was good but staff spoilt it. Dinner menu was expensive for the quantity an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay and I apologise for the shortfall in standards you experienced in the restaurant. We have recently appointed a new executive chef and will be introducing new menu's within the week. I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast service with the Bars & Restaurant Manager to ensure that further training is completed for new members of the team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Prior to our arrival we received an email from Sophie asking what times we wanted to reserve dinner as we were on a package. She also asked if there was anything else she could do. We requested a quiet room and asked about storing our cycles somewhere.

On arrival Sophie was on reception, so it was nice to put a face to the name. She was very welcoming and helpful. We had booked a feature room in the manor house and she mentioned that the room was fairly big so our cycles would probably fit.

The room (1) called Carnation was indeed large and there was plenty of room for our bikes. Although a bit dark it had a very large bed, a chaise longue, 2 armchairs, a fireplace, a triple wardrobe, a small table and a desk. There were two windows with two different aspects but they looked out over the car park and side of the hotel. The bathroom was fairly large but was looking a bit dated/need of refurbishment. The bath was extremely deep so it was a climb to get into. I felt that the bathroom was not quite as clean as it could have been but it wasn't bad. The window here again overlooked the side of the hotel where I think kitchens may have been located.

We had meals included in our package and it was probably this that let the stay down. The food was okay but not spectacular. I had pulled pork for a starter and sirloin steak for a £10 supplement for main. The steak was good but I expected to get some extra bits with it like mushrooms, tomatoes but it came with chips and a rocket salad which seems limited for a £26 meal. For dessert I had cherry norton mess which was nice. My husband, who is a vegetarian had haloumi for starter and pasta for main. Again they were okay - there was nothing wrong with anything but it was just not outstanding. He had white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake for dessert and found it a bit bland. We ordered some wine and this was fine at £23. The waiters were incredibly friendly and efficient and we could not them at all- they could not do enough for you.

In fact all of the staff are fantastic. We asked for an extra towel, newspapers, shower gel which we had forgotten to bring and for someone to fix the safe and all were done immediately. Sophie also printed us off a cycle route that we asked for.

We used the gym and spa 3 times in all and they were all good. Having times for kids in the pool works well as we were able to swim without them being all over the place. In the evening we found it difficult to get a lounger as people on spa breaks had put their towels on them and gone away, this is frustrating but difficult to do much about apart from putting some signs up.

We had a second meal on Saturday evening and this was slightly better. Again the service was good. However, my husband found the portions very small and had the cheese at a supplement to try and satisfy his appetite. I also found the portions a little on the small side especially the pudding- chocolate and hazelnut cup.

Breakfast was good - masses of choice and well cooked. On the Saturday morning we arrived latish after going to the gym and some things had not been replaced but other than that no issues.

Our only other gripe was no hot water at 9 am ish on Saturday morning after going to the gym. My husband had a stone cold shower which he was not impressed with. However, this morning all seemed fine.

All in all, a very pleasant place to stay. I don't understand understand people complaining about walking between the spa, reception etc. It is not a long walk and no problem at all even staying in the manor house which is further away.

We will definitely be returning and in fact are due to go again mid-August for a family celebration.

Thank you to everyone, especially Sophie and all the other staff for all their help in making our stay so good.

Room Tip: We like the manor house and have stayed in 1 carnation and 6 tulip. Tulip has nicer views but carnat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed on a breakaway deal for two nights as we arrived we drove up to the hotel through lovely open countryside,
Receptionist was very pleasant and helpful,room was clean and tidy,
Sat on the patio for pre dinner drinks it was very peaceful,evening meal was excellent on both nights staff was very helpful and pleasant,breakfast very good.
It was a very nice and peaceful place will be back very soon

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Grazscutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your two nights with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile


This was our second visit to Norton Park. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and is easy to find from the M3/A34.

On both visits the standard of service has been excellent, from reception to room service to restaurant/bar staff and the spa. The rooms are also of an excellent standard and clean.

We both had treatments in the spa for the first time during our stay this weekend (shoulder, neck and back massages) and again we were very pleased with the services that were provided. The spa staff were knowledgable and helpful.

Any requests we made were no trouble, for example asking to move tables in the restaurant to sit by the window as it was very hot was no problem. We also emailed ahead to request a room with a bath rather than a shower cubicle and again this was no problem.

The area that lets this hotel down is the food, particularly in the evenings. This time we booked a table in the restaurant at 8.45. Upon arriving for dinner we both remarked at how the room was exactly the same as it was at breakfast and did not feel like a restaurant that reflected the prices charged.

Before we had even had time to select wines, our good order had been taken and our starters arrived almost immediately. These were so obviously pre-prepared, although acceptable. We both ordered steak as our main course costing £26 each. This arrived within minutes of our starters being cleared. The steak itself was well cooked and seasoned but the accompanying chips were bland and undercooked, resembling oven chips and accompanied by a handful of bagged rocket with no other accompaniments. The desert that followed was of a similar standard, a sorbet that was OK, two small scoops but nothing special, and a hazelnut pot that appeared to be a spoonful of Nutella in a butter dish and an accompanying biscuit.

All in, dinner amounted to almost £100 including a couple of glasses of wine each and I don't think the standard of food reflected this. This is not to the detriment of the excellent staff who seemed to be ever present; at breakfast, in the day and serving dinner and drinks in the evening. As always there were several hen parties present and it seemed that the food was targeted more at those on package deals where margins are slim rather than those who are happy to pay a bit more for a good meal.

Breakfast was good and again the service attentive.

We will certainly be back as we enjoy the hotel and spa and it is conveniently located for us but we will look for a local pub or restaurant to dine at in future as the restaurant failed to match the high standards set by the staff and facilities at the hotel.

Tom Lloyd

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed for two nights one before and one after a wedding on Thursday. The drive up to the hotel was lovely and the grounds beautifully kept, so high hopes for the hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and explained our room was up the stairs/lift to the first floor through the glass walkway through the second walkway the up the stairs, have to say that didn't sound too bad but in reality it was quite a hike when you have cases etc for a wedding, at least a 5 minute walk to our room which was at the furthest point away from reception in what is known as "D" block.
The breakfast the first morning was not what I quite expected, the hot breakfast was lacking several items which I and several other guests waited at least 8 minutes for them to be replenish, when they came they were good. They would be much better off using serving domes instead of small dishes for beans etc.
This is the first hotel I have been in where it states in the booklet found in the room that corkage may be charged if alcohol is found in your room. Hilton, Menzies and Marriott Hotels certainly do not state this as between 20 & 32 of us girls from our golf club use these hotels for our weekends away without any problem.
Wine by the bottle is priced for clients on expense accounts the cheapest being £23 per bottle, which in other hotels comes in at about £18.
The cleanliness and comfort of the room was very good, I would have expected a comments card, which I could have filled out, but none was forthcoming.
Overall the experience of this hotel was good but make sure you get a room in "B" block to avoid the hike to the room. Obviously the bulk of the clientele are clients attending conferences on expense accounts, and not people paying for themselves.

Room Tip: B Block and nothing beyond that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am glad that you found the grounds, reception and your bedroom to a high standard. The layout of the hotel is due to bedrooms being added on and the planniers would only allow a two story buiding. The plus side is that most bedrooms over look a country setting or lawns in the courtyards. We did have an issue during one breakfast that delayed the hot food being replaced as rapidly as it normally is and I apologise for this. The corkage charge is used as a deterent if guests decide to have a party in a bedroom resulting in disturbing other guests. Our wine prices are determined by local pricing and in line with 4 star competitor pricing.

Thank you again for writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is the first time my wife and I have used Q Hotels and we will certainly use them again. This hotel was in a lovely setting with a long drive which really added character. The receptionists were all excellent. Strangely enough the highlight was the welcome and explanation of what was available came from Rose when we entered the restaurant for our first breakfast. I have got to say this was the best welcome and service I have ever received from the many hotels that I have stayed at both in the UK and abroad. Rose was equally brilliant when we arrived for our second breakfast and she much deserves this accolade - a real credit to this hotel and her profession. We invited friends to join us for dinner on our second night and we were well attended to by all and especially the young lady from South Africa (sorry I have forgotten her name). The food for breakfast and dinner was excellent. Our room was slightly small but very adequate and very clean. The bed was really comfortable as was the armchair. A fan was provided which was most welcome as both evenings were rather warm but I mustn't complain about our weather. Very convenient for visiting Winchester provided you have got transport. So overall we really enjoyed our stay and next time we are in this area we will certainly book in again. So well recommended as far as we are concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Scotney
7.8 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,205 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,869 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#13 of 13 in Winchester
51 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Park - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Park - A QHotel

Address: Norton Park | Nr Winchester, Sutton Scotney SO21 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sutton Scotney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Price Range: £89 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton Park - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts of Winchester, Norton Park is a sumptuous four star hotel blending beautiful contemporary chic with historical elegance all set within 54 acres of peaceful grounds. No matter what your reason for visiting, on business, a family trip or a spa break, the hotel has all the facilities to surpass your expectations. For those visiting on business, be it for a board meeting, a residential conference, training seminar or annual dinner the state-of-the-art facilities are exceptional. Norton Park offers 16 conference and meeting rooms for up to 340 delegates within the main hotel, the Manor House and for something a little different the 17th century Tythe Barn. On the doorstep to all that Hampshire has to offer including historic Winchester with its magnificent cathedral and the coastal cities of Southampton and Portsmouth, Norton Park is an ideal base for a leisure break with family and friends. The hotel has 166 modern bedrooms, a large leisure complex and spa, a great restaurant and beautiful landscaped gardens to stroll around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norton Park - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton Park - a q Hotel Sutton Scotney
Norton Park a Qhotel Winchester
Norton Park - A QHotel Sutton Scotney, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing