We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norton Park - A QHotel
Nearby Hotels
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barton Stacey(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peat Spade Inn(Stockbridge)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winchester Hotel & spa(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,386)
Filter reviews
2,386 results
Traveller rating
796
869
433
180
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
796
869
433
180
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housespa breakspa facilitiesq hotelsrelaxation roomthe main hotelsauna and steam roomcream teaevening meallovely groundsbuffet lunchbreakaway clubnight breakwaiting staffboth morningsrestaurant staffbirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
1,244 - 1,249 of 2,386 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were recommended this hotel by the mother of the bride, as an ideal place for all the guests to meet and stay. It is a large impersonal hotel of the type where we wouldn't normally stay, however this was rectified by a few members of staff, most noticeably the lady in the restaurant at breakfast. An OK hotel for those used to staying in large company owned hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us.

We are a large country hotel, set in stunning grounds to expore. Within these grounds are a 400 year old barn, a 16th century Manor House and a Walled Garden, perfect for meetings and drinks receptions.

I am glad you found the staff so helpful. Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

You could think you were the Lord of the Manor when you arrive. The whole complex and the vast area of grounds that the Hotel is set in are superb.We were made most welcome and the young staff are very professional in every department.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent, and after speaking to other guests they also were pleased with their rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on having helpful, professional staff and I am glad you enjoyed your bedroom and the surrounding grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Norton Park soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As Breakaway Club members we’ve used various Q Hotels for a number of discounted UK short breaks and for the money you pay, we tend to find they’re a bit above the usual average for chain hotels. This is a fairly typical out of town manor house hotel development set in acres of parkland with low rise bedroom blocks, and even newer extensions, meandering away from reception. The difference here is that the new part doesn’t lead off the back of the manor house like it does at lots of other places, it’s been kept totally separate. If you look at a map, you may think you can access the hotel off the A30 not far from the A34/A303 junction. You can’t. The hotel’s long driveway leads off the minor (white) road that runs up from the A30 at Sutton Scotney to Micheldever. The driveway from the road has a good tarmac surface but the gravel roadway leading to the Manor House itself is very poor in places and could do with some urgent attention. Norton Park is a long way from anywhere and they’ve added a lot of conference and function space, so don’t be surprised if you find lots of delegates as well as wedding parties staying here.

We booked a 2 nights DB&B offer with half price upgrade to the Manor House, which has its own car park and were allocated room 1 on the 1st floor called “carnation”. The Manor House entrance is quite grand but the red stairs carpet is pretty grubby. All the downstairs rooms are meeting rooms, and there’s even one between two bedrooms on floor 1 as well (poor design), so you get extra people shuffling around or staff moving furniture at all hours, which knocks the house atmosphere somewhat. Room 1 is a big bedroom. It’s about 21 or 22 foot square with sash windows facing north and west and has a large bathroom with its own north facing window. The website is misleading since it implies all rooms have “stunning views”. They do not. Some rooms look out over pleasant but hardly stunning grounds. Our windows overlooked the car park, a flat roof, and Victorian outbuildings used by the gardeners. The website should only say “some rooms” have good views of the grounds. Based on limited floor plans we saw, we also wonder if the website implication is correct that Manor House rooms are all bigger than rooms in the modern blocks.

Although our room didn’t get very much natural light or have the promised stunning views, we liked it, and as usual for Q Hotels, the 6 foot double bed with topper was really comfortable, and also as usual for most hotels, the duvet was a higher tog than needed. The 42 inch flat screen TV with a large number of freeview channels was a sensible size for the room and the picture was fine – unfortunately, this hotel isn’t offering no charge Sky TV like elsewhere in the chain. The no charge safe was large enough to fit any size laptop and the no charge WiFi signal was excellent – what a difference from the arm and a leg that Hilton Hotels expect guests to pay for internet access. We didn’t really like the huge ancient bath you have to clamber into with difficulty or the overbath shower with plastic curtain and thermostatic control that didn’t allow the water to get hot enough for a good shower – we don’t think anyone would spend long standing there, especially if the wind’s from the north as the old sash windows let in plenty of fresh air! The toilet wasn’t properly fixed to the floor and there was a water leak from it that made the karndean style tiles and grouting strips pretty unpleasant – it was obvious that this hadn’t just happened, it was an old problem – we reported it so hopefully management have fixed it now – if not, future guests, please make sure the fault gets mentioned on TA again.

The hotel provides a standard information booklet in the room but based on our experience, they could probably give some extra hints for Manor House rooms. We were surprised by the lack of a bath plug and someone did bring one when we asked for one but it turns out you don’t actually need it as the ancient device at the end of the bath obviously seals the pipes somewhere below. If the towel radiator doesn’t work, it may not be broken. In the gloom we eventually noticed a white switch on the white skirting boards hidden behind an armchair and that needed to be on before the rail would heat up, not just the chrome switch on the wall. Similarly, if one of the reading lights above the bed doesn’t work, it may not be broken. There’s a tiny black switch under the black housing that you can’t see in the poor light – it might just be off, like ours was. Reception obviously didn’t know about this switch or the chap who brought the bath plug plus a new bulb – but the Eastern European maintenance man did and simply turned it on!

As the hotel’s a bit isolated we reckon a good number of leisure guests will end up eating in as well as conference people and other groups. If your rate doesn’t include Q’s standard £26pp food allowance, expect to pay that or more for 3 courses, and drinks are typical hotel pricing – i.e. think pub prices then add a good bit more. Our evening meals and the service we received both nights were good. Apart from juice, we had no problems with breakfast and were attended to by staff without any delays. On our first morning the so called orange juice was like disgusting orange coloured dish water but it was fine the second day, so we can only assume they’d run out on day 1 and used something else that looked a sort of orange colour. The main dining room’s a bit small but we guess that’s because the hotel was only half the size it is now when the communal rooms were built. But they do have an overflow room.

We didn’t use the spa so can’t comment on that. We enjoyed our stay at Norton Park, especially at the Breakaway Club price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Many thanks for your thorough review and I am glad you are enjoying the Breakaway club membership.
We are just about to start a complete refurbishment of The Manor House which should rectify many of your points raised, including replacing the carpet.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I wanted a quiet weekend break and we certainly got this.
The staff are very friendly and professional.
The hotel was spotless and clean.
The spa facilities were very good and we both took great advantage of these.
We recommend this hotel to all our friends and plan on going back once we are married.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, I am glad you both had a relaxing break and enjoyed the hotel, staff and spa.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Norton Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First time ever at a Q Hotel, although we have stayed at most of the major chains.
Pleasantly surprised by this one.
Drawbacks:-
Long walk from the car park to the hotel
Depending on which room you are allocated it can be a walk to your room as the hotel is a bit of a 'rabbit warren'
Food in the bar was over priced and we found the descriptions a bit ambiguous in their meanings
We were unable to eat in the restaurant as it was booked so we had no choice other than going into the bar for something to eat
Positives
Beautiful bed and pillows - great night sleep was had by both of us
Breakfast had a great selection of hot and cold foods - the only difficult bit was trying to attract the attention of staff who appeared to be skilled at ignoring the breakfast room guests.
Everything in the room was very nice and clean.
Bit slow at check out
Overall it was OK

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R1893YXli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us, I am glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast.
We are experiencing a very busy period at present and although we try our best to accommodate every guests individual dinner requirements, the restaurant does tend to get full and we always recommend booking in advance.
Due to planning restrictions, the hotel is spread over a larger area - the benefit of this being that most rooms have views of our lovely grounds.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews