We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Ignore the bad reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norton Park - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Reviewed 18 January 2010

What a nice hotel!
I surprised my girlfriend for her 21st by taking her to Norton Park and it was an amazing stay.
Unless you have a car, the hotel is in a bit of a secluded place, but i suppose that adds to its tranquility.
We traveled by train to Micheldever station to find that there are no taxis, only from half an hour away in Winchester! Luckily a lady from a local pub gave us a lift to Norton Park. Once there we were promptly checked in and were showed to our room.
The place is massive! Took 5 mins to walk to our room alone, but we didnt mind! Snow was all around so it added to the atmosphere!
WARNING! the corridors that join the buildings can be cold as they are open!
Room was very large and in perfect condition, cleaned to the last spec of dust!
It had a decent tv with about 10 channels.
Room service was prompt but quite pricey as there is a tray charge of £3 each time. But what the hell eh?! its only a one-off!
Pool and spa area were fantastic, complimentary towel, big menthol steam room and sauna, heated chairs, free gym, nice changing rooms with free shampoo, body wash etc, as well as jugs of water on tap.
Restaurant food was delicious, the hotel wasn't very busy so food was fast and in good portions.
Staff were friendly and attentive. They couldn't have helped us more with food orders and queries etc.
The grounds are amazing although we didn't get to explore because of lack of time and snow.
Great nights sleep, MASSIVE breakfast! Full English, cereals, juices, toast etc, all topped up nicely.
Check out was fast and easy.
A member of staff told us about the £11 Million facelift it's just had, Money well spent, it looks amazing for it!
Had to get a taxi to Winchester station which for some reason worked out cheaper than one to Micheldever, even though its further away! Came to about £20 for taxi ride.
Overall a lovely stay, highly recommended for couples and families etc, we had a lovely 2 days, thank you Norton Park!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,179 - 2,185 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

We had to cancel two rooms for two nights because of the snow, but there was absolutely NO help forthcoming. We rang to cancel at 1pm, as we realised our Directors' flight was cancelled at the last minute. No help, not even to charge us just for one night. No, full payment for two rooms for two nights. We will never use them again. We used to go there a lot on business. Customer Service terrible.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank bloobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHotels, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your booking.

I can quite understand how frustrated you must be that your trip was cancelled.

However I have looked in to the details of your booking and note that you contracted on a full pre-paid non refundable rate in order to benefit from the cheaper price available on this deal. Under the terms of this type of booking cancellation incurs a full charge for the whole stay. This is commensurate with similar types of bookings across the whole travel and hospitality industry.

I am sorry that your travel plans affected you but keen to point out that we have remained open for business as usual all week even though we have experienced our own fair share of the bad weather.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your remarks on Trip Advisor

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We booked a 3-night B&B "retail therapy" stay in the Manor House for about £280, which included £25pp dinner allowance on the first night. For a hotel of this quality and facilities this was great value.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds down a half mile long drive - wonder when they are going to build a golf course? The Manor House is set apart from the main hotel, so don't unpack the car before you go to reception as you'll need to drive round to its own car park!

We were allocated room 5 (Peony). Although it was very nicely appointed and stylish, its quirky layout - staff corridor off the ante-room, no room to get the suitcase through the door because of the bedside table in the way, and the 2 tiny windows looking directly out onto a brick wall or into the kitchen - meant that it would have been a bit claustrophobic for a 3 night stay. The killer moment though was the skanky wet towel left in the bath by the cleaner. Happily the receptionist came immediately, apologised and showed us some alternative rooms. We noticed that the higher up you go in the building the smaller the windows (see picture) and darker the room and we asked to go into room 4 (Rose). After refusing another £30 per night we were allowed to transfer gratis.

Room 4 is enormous, beautifully decorated and furnished and with lovely views over the gardens and lake. It has a bathroom off a separate corridor from the room. Had everything been working well we would have been very comfortable there indeed and raved about the stay. However, the fridge wasn't working and the TV remote clearly hadn't worked for a while as fluids were dripping from the batteries. Both were replaced straightaway on request and we can't fault the staff response. To complete our moans though, we had 2 out of the 3 sleepless nights as the sash windows rattled in the wind, seemingly enough to shake the building down and the missing / broken shower screen meant we totally flooded the bathroom so we gave up using it and showered at the spa.

Having said all that, the hotel overall was lovely. Excellent and attentive (all english speaking) staff, good food at dinner and breakfast, lovely gym, pool and spa area. The grounds are attractive and the huge thatched barn is quite a sight. For the price, the hotel is excellent value.

We'd be happy to visit again if prices stay at these levels, as we will be staying in the area again, although we might think twice before upgrading to the Manor.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHotels, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2010

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Norton Park.

Firstly can I say how very sorry I am that you had cause to complain about our housekeeping standards which I have taken up with the Executive Housekeeper who wishes to add her own apology as this is certainly not indicative of the standards we are proud of as a Hotel team.

I've also addressed the maintenance issues that you have raised and again I am sorry that we let you down.

Regarding many of the other points that you raise can I say how pleased I was to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and thank you for your compliments.

I hope that you will consider choosing to stay with us again in the future

Regards

Andrew Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We were travelling with a 1 year old, so needed to make sure that hotel had cot.
When we arrived the lady on reception actually went to the room to check that the cot was there.

Throughout our stay the stay the staff were friendly and helpful. Far better than what we had come to expect from similarly priced hotels. The hotel had a big event going on, but this did not seem to adversely affect the service.

The hotel is modern in style, but you benefit from the recent renovation.

The room itself was small, but was conformable, modern and clean.

The breakfast was excellent, again at the price it was hard to fault.

Would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VintageLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHotels, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2010

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay at Norton Park

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found that we offered good value for money. However I was even more pleased to read that the staff did their best to make your stay more comfortable. I will pass on your remarks to them.

Regards

Andrew Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

A third trip to this hotel, so proves I can recommend it. It is well appointed and set in beautiful spacious parkland. The room is comfortable and modern though not overly generous in square footage. There is an attractive pool and relaxation area.

Since my previous visits the food provided seems to have taken a down turn. I must emphasise I did not use the dinner or lunch servic, but both breakfast and room service left much to be desired. The breakfast was on a par with more budget hotels complete with the ubiquitous DIY toaster and an uninspiring buffet. For this quality of hotel one would expect Hotel du Vin or Malmaison quality breakfast.
Room service was a disappointment. The sandwich was skimpy with standard sliced bread, not a seed of granary anywhere close, standard ham with salad as mere garnish barely a mouthful. This came in at £6.50 with a £3 room service charge. £9.50 for a sandwich of a very basic nature. I have let you know, Norton Park, by direct feedback (no response) so hope you might take onboard what is meant to be constructive criticism. What a shame to spoil such a wonderful setting, lovely rooms and general ambience by letting yourselves down with something so easy to fix.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmhLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHotels, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2010

Thank you for completing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Norton Park.

I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us however I was concerned to read your comments about the food.

You may be interested to learn that we have just introduced new Lounge, Bar and Restaurant menus for the start of 2010 which I am confident offer greater choice and variety. We have also ensured that we have improved standards of presentation as well as, of course, ensuring improvements to quality overall.

I hope that next time you stay you notice the differences and thank you again for your feedback. We are genuinely keen on receiving people's thoughts as this enables us to make good decisions when we are changing menus and other services we offer our guests

Regards

Andrew Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We decided to stay at the Norton Park after previously enjoying a stay at the same chain's Oxford Belfry hotel. The same spa break offer was available so we took advantage of it once more and were extremely pleased with the hotel and facilities.
Our room was comfortable and clean, all meals were excellent with friendly service and our beauty treatments in the Reflections spa were first class.
My only negative point was that the spa area was really crowded due to the large number of people booked in for the weekend and we were unable to find a lounger by the pool. The changing rooms were really cramped too for the amount of people using them during the day. The staff were aware of the problem though and you could see they were trying to keep everything running smoothly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

we spent a saturday night on a dinner/b&b deal for £126 including a room upgrade,
the service and food in the restaurant were truly excellent --a very enjoyable meal!
the room in the old part was fine and we used the pool twice.
all in all an excellent value break.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Scotney
7.8 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,241 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,917 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
14.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
7.1 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Park - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Park - A QHotel

Address: Norton Park | Nr Winchester, Sutton Scotney SO21 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sutton Scotney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Price Range: £77 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton Park - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts of Winchester, Norton Park is a sumptuous four star hotel blending beautiful contemporary chic with historical elegance all set within 54 acres of peaceful grounds. No matter what your reason for visiting, on business, a family trip or a spa break, the hotel has all the facilities to surpass your expectations. For those visiting on business, be it for a board meeting, a residential conference, training seminar or annual dinner the state-of-the-art facilities are exceptional. Norton Park offers 16 conference and meeting rooms for up to 340 delegates within the main hotel, the Manor House and for something a little different the 17th century Tythe Barn. On the doorstep to all that Hampshire has to offer including historic Winchester with its magnificent cathedral and the coastal cities of Southampton and Portsmouth, Norton Park is an ideal base for a leisure break with family and friends. The hotel has 166 modern bedrooms, a large leisure complex and spa, a great restaurant and beautiful landscaped gardens to stroll around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norton Park - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton Park - a q Hotel Sutton Scotney
Norton Park a Qhotel Winchester
Norton Park - A QHotel Sutton Scotney, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing