We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab pub, always has 3-4 excellent beers, lovely ambiance, very good food”

The Horns Public House
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Datchworth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub dating back to 1543 serving delicious home cooked food, cask marque ales, lagers and a great selection of premium gins!
Reviewed 28 January 2018

The "Bubble & Beetroot" is delicious, as was the pie-of-the-day -- chicken and mushroom. Mark the owner is always a great host, very welcoming, and the staff were friendly and efficient. Great spot.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lalehamlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2018

The current landlord has got excellent customer service attitude and he traains his staff very well. they are genuinely friendly, pleased to see you, and the food is a good as you'd need, if not better. A great evening out with friends for food or just beer. We went in the summer and have been going back regularly since then. cant fault the place except parking on quiz nights is challenging ! A popular pub with good food, say no more.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank victormeldrew2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Booked a table for 8 for staff party I have never had a meal like it ,
Starters came out all meals were from a dire the menu we didn't book this then main meal came out coverd in black gravy Yorkshire pudding hard as rocks worst meal I have ever had in my life puddings came out all rong
Do not book your Christmas dinner here please all my staff have been ill since hey returned home keep well clear .awfull I'll be writing to head office they are killing this pub .

Date of visit: December 2017
4  Thank apronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Booked the Horns for a Christmas lunch on Saturday 9th December.
We are a group of mixed aged walkers with a few kids and dogs.
Jason and his staff couldn’t have been more helpful and professional from the start.
There were 22 of us. We preordered our choices. When we arrived the dining area was set out beautifully. The food was served at the same time, all dishes were hot that should have been hot and all well presented. The meal went without a hitch. The food was lovely and great value. We shall definitely be returning next year.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank cjfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Was really looking forward to my Sunday roast here, as they have always been awesome! Disappointing, the meat was not the quality it used to be, the roast potatoes were uncooked in the middle, the veg not particularly well cooked and covered in pepper...Service was rushed and not of the standard I have experienced previously. Shame...

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Sarajane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horns Public House also viewed

Datchworth, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 
Watton at Stone, Hertfordshire
Woolmer Green, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Horns Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing