We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”

The Horns Public House
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Datchworth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub dating back to 1543 serving delicious home cooked food, cask marque ales, lagers and a great selection of premium gins!
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Visited yesterday for lunch following a walk in the nearby woods. We both had the Liver and Bacon and it was fabulous!!
Good dog friendly pub!!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike27Sept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Ordered baguettes which we enquired after when 30 mins had passed then again 10 mins later...... the place was NOT busy.........all of us sent them back due to undercooked bacon , cold Brie and rubbery chicken......,the waitress was delightful and clearly embarrassed by the quality of the food sent from the kitchen .....we paid for our drinks and left .... poor!

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank rothwell6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

As soon as you walk in you’re hit with the smell of good food. We didn’t eat, we were only stopping for a quick drink but we still perused the menu and will definitely be returning. The food looked good and reasonable prices too. The feel of the pub is oldy worldy, timbers and real fireplaces.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank heleno93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Excellent service, great food, welcoming atmosphere and they dealt with our dietary requirements positively and with ease. Prices reasonable too. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank emerg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

The "Bubble & Beetroot" is delicious, as was the pie-of-the-day -- chicken and mushroom. Mark the owner is always a great host, very welcoming, and the staff were friendly and efficient. Great spot.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lalehamlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horns Public House also viewed

Datchworth, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 
Watton at Stone, Hertfordshire
Woolmer Green, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Horns Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing