We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Venue for a Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Hallingbury Manor
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We really couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue to get married in and couldn't fault a single thing. The staff are fantastic from the events co-ordinator and DJ to the receptionists and waiting staff. The grounds and hotel itself are beautiful creating the perfect back drop and the most relaxing enviroment Every single one of our guests have made positive comments since our wedding on our choice of venue. A hidden gem and worth every single penny, we can't thank them enough.

Don't be put off at all by other comments regarding aircraft noise, yes you can hear the planes but the only time it disturbed us was once breifly during the speeches but that just added to the atmosphere and relaxed the person speaking. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is amazing. Would definitley visit just for an overnight stay if required and would certainly hold another function there.

Room Tip: When booking your stay ask if they are holding a function, if so request if possible a room out of t...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for Great Hallingbury Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had a great time at the hotel, we have planned our wedding there and we had really the best day there. The location is perfect, really stunning for the pictures too. And the people are really helpful and friendly. The food was fabulous, not only during the wedding, but the restaurant is great on any other day as well. The ceremony was great and the reception and party after that as well. The dining room was transformed to the party room and the house DJ did a great job in getting the crowd worked up. We had the wedding suite, which was the most beautiful suite we ever saw and were able to sleep in. The other rooms were definitely also worth it. We highly recommend this hotel to anybody for a normal stay but also for their wedding!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed here on a superbreaks deal. £140 for 2 nights bed and breakfast and dinner on one night. Think it's always important to say what you pay and where from as it puts the deal in perspective. Went in June 2012.

On checking we they wanted £25 on account. The deal was prepaid and I object to hotels asking for money or pre authorising cards. Car park was overflowing with rubbish and bins. Looked like they hadn't paid for collection in a while. Other than that the setting was lovely.

We wanted somewhere close to Bishops Stortford for friends visit. The hotel is off the old A120 so that part is quiet. We stayed in the converted barn and it was the hottest day of the year. That itself caused us problems. We had a ground floor room with great views over fields and patio area through double doors. No outside furniture provided so we dragged our hotel room furniture outside. Come the night it was unbearable in heat. We couldn't get air into the room without opening the doors which made us feel unsafe being in the country and there was no air conditioning. Also we did worry about rats coming in as we saw a few while we were there, prob connected to overflowing bins.

But the biggest problem was the planes, we expected a few we used to live there. But it is directly under the flight path and they flew all through the night. It is that low you can read the writing on the plane. The second night was much better as they were landing from the other side of the barn and we didn't get as much noise. But we hardly slept.

Beds were proper 6ft wide ones, we do not like small beds. TV modern flat screen and good selection of channels. Flooring was the dark brown Lino and it was filthy. You could feel all bits under your feet and I made a point of telling housekeeping to come and Hoover and wash the floor which was better. Curtains blocked out the light.

The dinner was adequate. No atmostphere, no music, bad service, very understaffed, had to keep asking for menu's, wine list, drinks etc. then got charged gratuities on final bill of £8! I told them to remove it so watch that, this was a prepaid deal so beware.

The restaurant has so much potential, but the dirty fag strewn (no ashtrays provided so what do you expect) patio overlooking the overgrown tatty pond could be lovely. The waiter told us it was going to be cleared this summer. The rickety picnic benches were dreadful and most people had made an effort to dress for dinner, it's not suitable for ladies in dresses to hitch up dresses to straddle the bench. But they had lovely patio furniture on the other side of the hotel which no one used. So move it????? Got bitten to bits so some citronella candles are a must. Could be a really lovely area.

Breakfast was the worst breakfast I have ever had. Cheap muesli, had to keep fetching butter, preserves, milk etc ourselves from around the room as the waitress didn't seem bothered. The cooked breakfast was like leftovers heated up. I like my food and am not a size 10, but even I didn't bother going for breakfast the next day.

All in all, would I go back? Not at the moment no. Give it some sprucing up and yes I would.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor barn room of you are a smoker. Nice in good weather during the day to sit out.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kidfreehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My Eldest Daughter got married here this year and what an amazing day it was. The help in planning her special day with Jill and Rose and their attention to detail was very professional. Nothing was too much trouble. On the day the support from all the staff from the people laying the tables to the DJ and Bar staff was superb. I couldn't thank them enough.

The Bridal suite is huge and is so beautiful , we have some lovely photos of the bride and her four bridesmaids getting ready in there and then making their way down the stairs to the ceremony Room.
Equally the photos of the Groom and Best man getting ready in another room are lovely.

The grounds of the hotel offer several different backdrops for your photos and the hotel looks beautiful at night all lit up allowing some superb shots.

I actually saw inside 5 different Bedrooms in different parts of the hotel and so can say from first-hand experience they were all spacious and spotlessly clean.

The food served up was lovely, and we received loads of compliments on it from our guests. In the evening the DJ kept the dance floor full and buzzing all night with a good mixture of songs and welcomed requests and the bar staff worked hard to ensure people got served quickly their drinks always with a smile. We really didnt want the day to end.

Would I go back ?? Oh definitely... Would I recommend you to book your wedding there ?? You'd be silly not to.. you won't find a better venue. How would i rate the overall experience ??? EXCELLENT !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky_G65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I recently had my wedding reception at this hotel and it was fab. The staff were brilliant and accommodating, the DJ great and the food excellent. I had the most amazing day and evening and all our guest commented on how great the food and the hotel was. There was help every step of the way, Jill and Rose were so helpfully throughout the whole process. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaGale_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have recently had our wedding at Great Hallingbury manor and I cannot find one bad thing to say about the hotel. First of all in the build up to the wedding we felt completely at ease that they would deliver the goods. Jill moore helped plan the wedding down to the last detail and was magnificent. Then on the actual day Rose helped run the wedding breakfast and evening party and it was a complete success. It ran smoothly without any hitches and the food was excellent considering they catered for 80 guests. I have had great feedback from our guests about the food and Great Hallingbury manor in general. All the staff were friendly and the bar manager in the evening was a great help. The rooms are of a high standard though admittedly we had the bridal suite which is huge, you would need two days to fully enjoy it. Other guests also stayed and said thier rooms were great. During the day the general manager kept checking that everything was to our liking. One of the resident DJs called Ashley kept the dance floor filled all night with a great selection of songs and he also promotes a retro sweet stall which was agreat idea and which our guests absolutley loved and finished off. The location is great as its only just off junction 8 of the M11 and 5 mins from Stansted Airport. You will hear some planes but its not a problem. In all the staff made it a day and night to remember for my wife and I. Big thanks to Jill Moore and Rose.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My sister-in-law arranged my baby shower here last month and the hotel did everything possible to make the occasion perfect. The staff were all very accommodating to all our requests, flexible with last minute changes, and helpful with suggestions. The atmosphere in the Lakeside restaurant was great, with outdoor and indoor space, and tasty food. It was easy to reach withim a few minutes of M11 motorway. This venue is ideal for weddings and parties in Essex, and all our guests gave great feedback!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, General Manager at Great Hallingbury Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your positive review which you wrote on trip advisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your event and I have shared your feed back with the Events team who are very grateful that their hard work has been recognised. It was an absolute pleasure to look after your event and we do hope to welcome you back soon again to The Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel.

Many thanks

Kind Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Hallingbury
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,241 reviews
3.0 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
547 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Hallingbury Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Hallingbury Manor

Address: | Tilekiln Green, Great Hallingbury CM22 7TJ, England (Formerly Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Hallingbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Hallingbury
Price Range: £46 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Hallingbury Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Hallingbury Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Great Hallingbury Manor
Great Hallingbury Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing