We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for a wedding or a romantic break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Hallingbury Manor
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We got married at this hotel in August and had a most amazing time. The grounds are beautiful and so is the inside. The views during the ceremony made it all the more special.
The staff were very attentive and efficient.
The rooms are very spacious with lovely bathrooms, the bridal suite is out of this world.
Breakfast was lovely, wide choice and hot.
A most fabulous venue for a wedding, a party or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Cannot recommend this location and its staff enough. Right from the planning stages where Georgina and Jill were both absolutely fantastic with helping to arrange everything just how we hoped for! Nothing was an effort to organise our wedding...we asked for a few changes to various bits right upto the day and they were always happy to accommodate and go the extra mile for us!

On the day, all the staff helped to make our wedding the most fantastic and special day. The food was perfect, really delicious and the chef was only to happy to cater for guests varied dietary requirements and our preferences. We had a lot of family staying at the hotel too and thank you so much to everyone for helping to make them all feel so welcome and once again help with organising meals the night before and lunch the following day, was all just perfect! Great Hallingbury manor was our first and in fact the only place we chose for our wedding as we loved the venue right from the start and we wouldn't have changed that for anything. Was a perfect choice and thank you all for giving us such a perfect and the best day or our lives! Also was really nice that Jonathan the Manager took his time to come and meet us and was so interested at how everything had been for us so we gave him our feedback which with all honesty was nothing but positive feedback! We have had nothing but positive comments from our guests, they absolutely loved the wedding day and they all comment on how much of a fantastic venue choice we made!!!

Thank you again and we hope to see you all again soon when we will visit for a nights stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Wonderful afternoon tea. It was pouring with rain outside. The waitress very kindly put us in the Garden Room, which was very comfortable rather than the large restaurant. Plenty of food, more food for afternoon tea than I have had previously together with a glass of bubbly. Would certainly go again. Although planes continuously fly overhead, it did cause any problems.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DinahC516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

All the staff helped to make our wedding the most fantastic day. The wedding organiser was extremely helpful, the meal was delicious and they accommodated my unusual requests and catered for my guests many dietary requirements brilliantly. The room was clean and tidy, and we could only hear the planes when we had the windows open. Thank you for helping to make it the best day of my life.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shroom469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We attended a wedding at this hotel & stayed for 2 nights at £60.p.p.p.n. B & B which we thought was rather expensive even though we were given discount rates.
The food on the first night was good but very little of it & we had to wait for over an hour for our main course & were charged £25.00 per head for 3 courses.
The wedding itself went ok & the food was delivered to all the guests quickly.
90% of the staff were foreign which was a problem trying to explain things to them.
The Aircraft noise from 5am in the morning woke everyone up as this place is on the flight path from Stanstead Airport & were passing overhead at one every couple of minutes.
The room was ok but very dark so you needed the lights on when you were in there also one of the towels had rust marks on it.
When we checked out & went to pay by credit card there was a 2.5% charge for this which I was not preparred to do so I paid with my debit card.
This hotel seems to make its money from weddings & people staying for 1 night before flying next day, its is in the middle of nowhere so you can't go anywhere without using a car.
We very much doubt we will be returning

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Awful hotel, from the moment I walked in reception staff were rude, the room was in the main building and it smelt awful (strange smell from the drains), I could barely breath, I called down to reception who were no help at all suggesting we opened a window!!! So we ended up staying in this putrid smelling room all night. The room was poorly cleaned, with cobwebs in the corners and mould on the tiles, there was also rubbish from a previous guest in the bin. Unfortunately this was not the end of our awful experience when we found what appeared to be 'fresh' stains on the bed sheets so we had to sleep on top of the duvet. The noise from the planes did not help our stay either. At the end of our stay I commented to the receptionist on just how awful everything had been only to receive a very false apology. We will not be returning here, Travelodge is amazing compared to this place!

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, General Manager at Great Hallingbury Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review which you wrote on trip advisor. I was very concerned to read your feedback and I would like to apologise sincerely for not meeting your expectations and for the shortfall in service provided to you by the team. This is most certainly not the high standard and quality which we strive to achieve and these service and standards issues have been shared and addressed with the Reception and Housekeeping teams. I only wish that you would have brought this to the attention of the Duty Manager or myself so that we could have had the opportunity of making your stay more comfortable and a better experience.

I would very much like the opportunity to speak with you in more detail about your stay, so if you could kindly contact me on gm@greathallingburymanor.co.uk at your earliest convenience, this would be very much appreciated.

Once again, please do accept our apologies.

Many thanks

Kind Regards


Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I recently attended a wedding at this beautiful hotel. The wedding took place in the Hotel on a Friday and we were able to stay here on the Thursday and Friday evening. We stayed with a number of friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here despite the noise of low flying aircraft which really didn't distract from our enjoyment here. The room was lovely and the staff here very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant here on the Thursday and found the food to be pleasant, maybe not excellent as you would expect from this type of hotel, but was fine. The drinks here are obviously sold at a high price but again we did expect them to be at this sort of hotel. The wedding was set in a lovely room and the reception was also very pretty. We were lucky to have fine weather and was able to enjoy the outside of the hotel also. Would I stay again? Certainly if I was lucky enough to be invited to another wedding there and maybe if I had a very early flight from Stanstead airport and would look at their prices for leaving the car for the holiday stay.

Room Tip: Unfortunately all rooms were disturbed by the aircraft noise but ear plugs were provided. Maybe in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Hallingbury
3 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
309 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,120 reviews
19.5 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
0.8 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Hallingbury Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Hallingbury Manor

Address: | Tilekiln Green, Great Hallingbury CM22 7TJ, England (Formerly Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Hallingbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Hallingbury
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Hallingbury Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Hallingbury Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Great Hallingbury Manor
Great Hallingbury Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing