We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just had lunch will never bother again”
Review of Feathers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Feathers Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wadesmill B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just had lunch will never bother again”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had lunch today and it was horrid. My husband had a prawn cocktail that consisted of frozen prawns,limp lettuce laid on a plate that any school child could have put there. His shank of lamb was out of a microwave, rock hard roast potatoes and non discript vegetable. I and my uncle had the roast pork that along with the shank of lamb was squeezed onto a side plate, the pork, potatoes and veg had absolutely no taste, the stuffing was a joke, like eating sawdust, and the so called "Homemade Yorkshire Pudding" was like a giant crisp. All this held together with horrible, thin watery gravy. We should have sent it back, but picked at it and said nothing and paid for it, but we will never go there again, and will tell everyone we know not to either. I would have been embarrassed to serve that meal up. In todays day and age why are we still served this rubbish. they used to have such a fantastic name and thats the only reason we stopped there, more fool us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Feathers Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor. We are sorry that your visit on this occasion was disappointing. However, we have recently changed management and our menu so we hope you will give us another chance by visiting again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    101
    70
    32
    16
See reviews for
78
124
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have stayed here a few times, so knew what it was like. Room was clean and comfortable, although at 08.00 the shower was a little on the cool side. Word of warning, if your arachnophobic like me, get someone to check the bath in the mornings. My husband saved me from an encounter with the biggest spider HE had ever seen. (He said it was washing itself with a loofah-but I suspect he was telling porkies!) this is not the fault of the cleaning staff, (although there were a little too many cobwebs for my liking!) they are situated in a small village with lots of trees about, so it can only be expected that the spiders like to check out the accommodation. There is a fairly good choice of pub grub, if you want to eat there in the evening. The breakfast was delicious. For a change you might like to try the egg ham and cheese toast. It was scrumptious, and very filling, so if you're going to opt for that at breakfast, you would be better not to eat too much cereal beforehand. There was a fairly good choice of cereal, and some nice pastries too. Overall The Feathers is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Feathers Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We are glad to hear you had a good stay with us and the wildlfe did not up you off us. On a serious note I have spoken to the housekeeping team and asked them to keep more of an eye on them in future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Recent new management seems keen to change where needed.Some staff(housekeeping side) gone,others still there.Current staff very pleasant, efficient and helpful,(as most were in the past),and very keen to make our stay a good one.Some recent changes evident ie new bed! and tidied back of parking area,as well as possibly improved food (although never bad in the past).

Room Tip: Ask the very helpful Mary(booking secretary) at the hotel for her advice,to match your specific requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Feathers Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We alway strive to offer the best service and value for money. We are glad to see that the improvements we are making at the Feathers are moving the restaurant forward. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2nights for my sons wedding in nearby Ware,We enjoyed the stay staff very polite and helpfull,the room we stayed in was on the ground floor it was nice being a bit dark so had to leave lights on all the time also a very bad must mildew smell as you enter the corridors leading to rooms,highdusting could be better noticed lots of webs and dead spiders around also some cobwebs in the rooms and bit of mould in the bathroom on the celing,but haveing said the negatives,the bed was lovely and comfy and they was pleanty of hot water for showers and baths also the Pub was nice and the food was good so not a bad place to stay Paid £60 a night so was good value all in all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Feathers Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have spoken to the housekeeping team and we have made some changes to bring the hotel back to the standards we exspect. Thank you again for taking the time to put your comments online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night for a friends wedding reception nearby.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely look at returning in the future. We had a room on the ground floor, it was very quiet and in a separate building from the pub. The bed was really comfortable and the biggest we have ever slept in. Breakfast in the pub was fantastic, a huge choice and suitable for all.
We ate a meal in the restaurant when we arrived and this was very reasonable with a good choice too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MW0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Feathers Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We at the Feathers are glad you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at The Feathers, as part of a large family party staying for my son's wedding. Our room was very comfortable, albeit a little dark. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we've slept in for a long time. Breakfast was very good, with a varied selection and attentive staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Feathers Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here as a friends wedding was nearby , we got a really decent price and usually if good deals you expect poor accomodation, but it turned out to be really good value and clean and comfortable, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttravels3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Feathers Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us while attending your wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadesmill
1.0 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.4 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
3.7 mi away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Salisbury Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hertford
285 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
397 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feathers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feathers Inn

Property: Feathers Inn
Address: 49 Cambridge Road, Wadesmill SG12 0TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Wadesmill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wadesmill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Feathers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Feathers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing