We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place, recommenned for young people”
Review of Calamidoro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calamidoro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcinaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Suitable for romantic holiday in quiet, elegant, great breakfast and service. Perfect for relax and as a starting point to visit Tuscany (Livorno, Pisa, Florence). I recommend it for young people because the hotel is located in front of a disco that it could disturb the sleep over the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacopo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I'm sure this hotel was lovely a few years ago but it is in need of an update and overhaul in terms of decoration and overall outside space. It's more of a resort than a hotel and on the complex there are shop units which are boarded up so it feels a bit down at heel. The private hotel pool is not big enough for such a large hotel meaning it gets very crowded. The other pool they advertise is a public pool (although Hotel guests have free entry) and this is a 10 min stroll away - not ideal. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very good (but expensive). For the price we paid we were expecting a high standard - there weren't even enough towels in the room and whilst the staff were very friendly and helpful it just wasn't really up to scratch. It is very close to the airport which is good if you have an early flight the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

An amazing hotel, very beautiful and nearby the beautiful city of Lucca.
The restaurant is really, really good.
Just LOVED it.
The staff as well is very friendly and helpful.
Other good thing is that it's near the airport of Pisa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Been there for business trip and I can confirm that it's a very nice place.
Ask to be placed in the main building, near the golf practice.

The room have a nice space and clean.

For sure I'll recommend this place

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the main building, near the golf practice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Parisian_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My Sister-In-Law and I stayed here in August this year and were very impreassed. We had no car so used buses, trains and taxis. When we were stuck on a couple of occassions, the hotel arranged for Angelo, the maintenance man, to take us to town. The breakfast was good, no fried or cooked, but all the healthier! Pool by main hotel is great and our rooms were fine - opened out onto a stone veranda wg=here we enjoyed many an evening enjoying a few glasses of wine from bottles purchased at the nearby Aldi!!!
A typical Tuscan getaway which met our expectations. The fact that the American Bar and Pizzeria did not open at all during our stay and the disco also seemed out of service was not a problem to us but we would understand other's frustrations.

Room Tip: To walk to the local supermarkets and shops, including Aldi, use the road at the back of the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acurtis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We only booked here as it was one of 2 hotels in the Pisa area available through Avios (we left it quite late to book) and the other one had awful reviews.

Looks nice on arrival, grounds well kept etc.

Hardly anyone about ... Including staff! We were told they had an 'american bar' that was open until
11pm ... But we could rarely find anyone to serve us drinks. We were also told the adjoining hotel pizzeria opened until 11pm, this is our 5th night here a it's not opened once at any time of the day or night! There is nice restaurant near by but a bit on the expensive side & not an every night kind of place.

The only thing that is most definitely open is the 'black line' bar across the road ... And given the track record, it will continue to be open until at least 2am (4am in a Friday). We think this is a pre-bar for the night club situated right outside the hotel gates.

The pool area is nice, loungers etc and a pool side drink service (just missing the waiter) and the continental breakfast is acceptable - lots of staff on for those couple of hours bizarrely!!

Rooms are OK - our double is 2 singles pushed together with an obvious & uncomfortable join in the middle. Decent size though. Mini bar is fully stocked with a decent selection - we resorted to the half bottle of red on the second night after failed attempts in the 'American bar' but it hasn't been replaced as yet.

Bath water came out as a disgusting muddy brown - sadly not a quirk of the area as you find with some places, but just a vile surprise when I went to check it. Ok the other 2 times of running it.

Rooms themselves could be classed as dated, but it depends what your expectations are. For about of town hotel in Italy, decor is no big surprise.

As is the nature of italian property (so I'm lead to believe) the walls are thin, as are the floors - and the 'helpful' feature of doorbells on each room are most unwelcome when mrs drunken stompy lady upstairs is ringing the bell to let herself into her own room for 20 minutes. Probably because her room key doesn't work - as ours has not for the main gates or the room for the duration of the stay,despite being reset.

Overall a disappointing hotel result - would not recommend and will not be coming back.

Oh ... On the positive side, you do get free wifi, hence my ability to review as I lie in bed ... At 37 mins past midnight waiting for the black line bar to close so I can get some sleep!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed for four nights at this hotel. The hotel is quaint, very old fashioned and has only two floors, we were above the bar. The breakfast room/bar area feels small and crowded with tables. The bedroom was a nice size, very clean, as was the bathroom, with linen and towels changed daily. The breakfast is described as American but it really is only continental breakfast and I was sad to see flies on the cold meat (which I didn't eat), lots of fresh fruit, oranges, peaches, plums, nectarines, which are left out so you can have them any time of the day. I think when we stayed there they had a staffing problem as we always had to go reception to get a drink from the bar during the day. If you don't have pool towels you can get towels from reception for €2.50 each per day. Beware of the midges around the pool during the day, I got badly bitten and had to buy insect repellent from the pharmacy next door. The hotel itself is in gated land and you have to buzz to get in, there is a nice lake with otters, swan and crane and a golf practice court and archery if you want. You can also use the bigger pool by the restaurant free of charge if you give your room number. The restaurant is very good but beware the English menu us significantly shortened from the Italian menu; you can charge your meal to the room. The American Bar, Limon, only opened one night as they had a private party. The café/music bar in the same complex is good for lunch and a beer. If you like kebabs the Instanbul Kebab shop across the road is good. There is a good restaurant a couple of minutes drive down the road next to a Lidl supermarket called Si Va Li - the food, wine and waiter/waitress service is brilliant, I wished we had found it earlier in the week!! A review of this hotel said that there were restaurants within walking distance but we didn't find any, there is not much place to walk on the main road and it is a very busy road. All in all I would recommend this hotel for a short stay or to use as a base to explore the area around Pisa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diontiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcinaia
6.1 mi away
Resort Casale Le Torri
Resort Casale Le Torri
#1 of 2 in Ponsacco
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#1 of 6 in Pontedera
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#2 of 2 in Calcinaia
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Albergo Roma
Albergo Roma
#1 of 5 in Casciana Terme
116 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
Tower Inn Pisa Valdera
#2 of 6 in Pontedera
90 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamidoro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamidoro Hotel

Address: Via del Tiglio 143, 56012, Calcinaia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Calcinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcinaia
Price Range: £56 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calamidoro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Calamidoro Hotel featuring 46 rooms composed of Superior rooms, Loft Suites, our Sweet Suite and the Imperial Suite. After walking through the gate you will be enchanted by a magical atmosphere, taking you from a small lake and a golf practice yard on one side to a private and relaxing pool in the green meadows on the other, until you reach the ancient Villa. As a Tuscan postcard, you will see the Pisan mountains on the background, with the medieval castle on the peak of the Verruca mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calamidoro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calamidoro Hotel Pisa
Calamidoro Hotel Province Of Pisa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing