We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice caravan but in the wrong place.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheerness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheerness Holiday Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice caravan but in the wrong place.”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed for a long weekend in a friends of a friends van. Upon entry to park there was a vibe of 'rough and run down in areas'.
The staff in reception were polite.
The park was a good size for the children to play and seemed adequate.
The surrounding area by the complex itself at the back was shabby,run down,inadequate outside seating and more fag butts then u could imagine.how lovely. ESP next to a children's park.
Main bar,and seating area seemed a good size. Didnt buy any but menu for food seemed fair. Need more bar staff.
Arcade on the small side. Manic hot and smelly. Didnt feel comfortable leaving my 6 and 8year old unattended as there were a few boisterous children hanging around. Did see the door staff walking through there now and then though.They were polite at the door and friendly.
Swimming pool...Vile. My partner and kids visited the (waist high) pool, and he says it was rather lacking filtration in the hygiene department. Nice. They left and showered well!
On the Saturday night we didnt attend the complex.Seemed extremely busy which was fine, but we didnt appreciate hearing the explicit version of 'who the [--] is Alice!' Blaring out at 11.50pm,with children in the park shouting back in response to the song. How proud there parents must be.
Dont leave any items outside the van. They most likely will be stolen at some point. Dont rely on the complex shop. Its literally, Your ESSENTIALS. There is a Tescos and Aldi near by which was greatly needed.
Not much to do in surrounding area. at all.
Beach....well its Ok for a dog walk I suppose.
We packed up early and left the Sunday.Will never return. A let down.
Having worked in a holiday camp for Haven for the past few years, its so clear that the park holidays we stayed at here,is certainly not a place for us in the future.
Park Holidays at Sheerness... er, No.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexi141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    12
    12
    12
See reviews for
44
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Without doubt we will return to sheerness holiday park! We cannot fault it at all and I think it is mostly down to the efficient and friendly service you receive 24/7.

On arrival at the park we had to wait 10 minutes for our caravan to be cleaned but we were extremely early, and in turn extremely grateful that the caravan was ready so early after such a long journey!

The lady in reception was efficient but very friendly and we were checked in with no hassle whatsoever, there was a little shop in reception which provided some of the necessities which came in handy for a cup of tea in the morning, but otherwise a massive 24hr tesco only 15 minute walk or couple of minutes by car.

For the money we paid we were very surprised at the caravan, heated towel rails incredibly clean 3 good sized bedrooms to sleep and a good size TV with free view although we didn't spend a lot of time in the caravan because the other facilities were so great for the kids.

The swimming pool is fantastic so clean with lifeguards always on duty and it's a lot bigger than pools in most other caravan parks, the kids had a great time meeting other kids in the pool.

At one dinner time we tried the food in the club house and have to say for how cheap it is it's pretty decent grub, loads to choose from just order at the bar found a table and we were all eating within 20 minutes. Fantastic.

We had a problem with our cooker at one point but only because we couldn't work out how to ignite it! Despite this one of the groundsmen was at our van within 5 minutes despite the fact I think he had already finished his shift but he was so polite and showed us how to ignite it safely!

All the other staff and management were very visible, the general manager is always available as we wanted to ask about booking another holiday next year one evening about half 6 and she was still in the office working, extremely polite very friendly and very knowledgeable about things to do in local area!

Not only will we return but may even consider buying a caravan here, there is so much to do in Kent and sheerness is so close to things like Leeds castle Rochester castle fantastic beaches farms zoos, all that and only 40 miles from London, very special!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonbirmingham38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We booked to go to this holiday park as a last min thing back in june. In fairness the staff were extremely polite and helpful and for that I would give 5 out of 5. We got to the caravan and again, in fairness it was in pristine condition but my god the stench of smoke from it was horrendous, I dont know if it was a private caravan that had been sublet and the owners had been in there the week before and were heavy smokers but it made us heave when we opened the door to it. When we go on holiday I am never expected to cook so we went to the food area and our feet were sticking to the floor, the tables were filthy and we were told that fod was not served until 6pm ( this was 5pm). We decided to go over to the shop so I could get something to cook and believe me, it was no shop, it was a small little corner with a small fridge with a few blocks of cheese and some butter a couple of rows of canned stuff and some bread and not a lot else. We ended up asking the lady in there if there was anywhere we could go to eat and she told us to go offsite and try the takeaway up the road ( says a lot for the staff who probably know the quality of the food onsite when they are not encouraging you to wait till 6pm and sending you offsite doesnt it?) By this point both me and my husband had had about enough of the place. There were gangs of men standing at the front entrance to the entertainments on a night and the whole place just wasnt nice at all. We came back early and felt very let down by the whole experience. Obviously everyone has a different idea of what they want from a break and one mans food is another mans poison, but if anyone was asking me would I go again, it would be a very definate no, its not as good as the website leads you to believe at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrstewardsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Sheerness Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Sheerness Holiday Park. I am glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and the accommodation in good condition. We do encourage people not to smoke in the hire units and we do put in non-smoking stickers, but unfortunately we are unable to monitor this 24 hours per day.

With regards to the restaurant area this is located within the complex area with a carpet flooring that is cleaned on a daily basis. I am sorry that when you walked in it had been left in an untidy state. Unfortunately we had had a busy afternoon and was catching up with the clearing away before we re-open for 6pm. We offer food from 9am - 3pm and 6pm - 11pm, seven days per week. Unfortunately we do have to close in the afternoon to prepare for the evening service, If we are asked where to get food from outside the park we will always tell people this information Unfortunately with the no smoking ban now in place we do try to encourage people to use the smoking area at the back of the complex, but a lot of people do smoke still smoke out the front.

We do advertise a small shopping kiosk for essentials only, as we are only 5 mins from the town centre that has a 24h Tesco, Iceland, Aldi and Co-Op

Again please accept my sincear apologise that you did not enjoy your time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Grabbed a late deal Fri-Mon for £101 in a silver caravan. Very clean had a fully equipped kitchen and an LCD tv with built in freeview and DVD. Sure the club house was a little run down but, the staff are great and it was cheap and well equipped. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Sheerness Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Sheerness Holiday Park. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We went on a holiday for Jubilee half term, with our 4 year old. I have to say the all the staff where very helpful. We had problem with our cooker at one point and the problem was shorted very quickly.
The caravan when we arrived was spotless and all the equipment supplied was clean and tidy eg linen, crockery, pots, plates etc
we used the swimming pool a lot and there was always a lifeguard. the changing room and pool was clean and was maintained well.
all entertainment was included in our Holiday and we mainly used the kids disco in which i say the entertainer member of staff was wonderful and you could see he enjoyed his job, which in turned made the events a lot of fun.
The caravan park is ideal located to visit and tour the surrounding area. There is a big supermarket only 5 mins drive away. There are some lovely sandy beeches close by which are worth a visit.
I would recommend this holiday park for any family wanting a British seaside holiday. the entire holiday Park is well maintained and very clean. The staff where always willing to help with questions and advice.
This holiday park offers real value for money and it a good base for a family holiday.

Room Tip: its a caravan park that offers value for money with good amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayCrazyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheerness
4.2 mi away
The Shurland Hotel
The Shurland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eastchurch
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sheerness
50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Queen Phillippa B & B
Queen Phillippa B & B
#1 of 1 in Queenborough
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Ferry House Inn
The Ferry House Inn
#1 of 1 in Harty
58 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sheerness Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheerness Holiday Park

Property: Sheerness Holiday Park
Address: Halfway Road | Minster On Sea, Sheerness ME12 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Sheppey > Sheerness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Sheerness
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Sheppey is enjoying a boom as a holiday destination so why not visit?Sheerness boasts one of the largest indoor pools available. The entertainment venue is equally impressive and ready to welcome and amuse you. Weekends and peak seasons holidays bring out the liveliest evenings with a more relaxed feel at other times. There are enough attractions to keep the whole family entertained for weeks, let alone a few days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheerness Holiday Park Isle Of Sheppey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing