We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food in bar disgusting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheerness Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheerness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheerness Holiday Park
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food in bar disgusting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived here camping, first night, into the clubhouse. Drinks prices very cheap.
Can't fault that.
However the food is an absolute disgrace.
Out of our party of 9, 2 dishes included mash potatoes. When the food came out, the mash was not mash, it was powdered smash very poorly made. Great for filling holes in walls, not fit for human consumption.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    12
    11
    12
See reviews for
44
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
erith
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed on the touring site in our tent with our children (3 in total). From the second we got there when we checked in the attitude from staff was very unwelcoming and borderline rude. The rest of the stay our views remained the same with the exception of the lady who works in the little shop and the entertainment team, who were very friendly and how you would expect staff on a family based holiday site to be. The swimming pool and staff are also very good. Throughout the 3 days we were there the rudeness continued.
If your camping I would recommend good strong pegs as the ground is very hard and stoney and some of my pegs bent and then had to be thrown.
The campsite toilets didn't seem or smell like they were cleaned regularly.
The children enjoyed themselves what with the kids club, swimming and the park, but it's not very enjoyable for an adult being faced with the staff who look and sound like they don't want to be there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kaylie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheerness hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 night over the bank holiday weekend in April. The staff were very helpful and the place is good value for money. Only problem was the fuses kept blowing in the caravan whenever anything electrical was used however it was sorted promptly each time when we reported it. The entertainment is good for families especially with young children. Didn't spend much time on the park and didn't use the pool so can't comment. It's quite a travel to get to any attractions but we were prepared for that and could get around easily with the car. It's only an hours drive into London which is great if you want to go sightseeing.
Overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went for a weekend away with my partner in our tent for 3 nights.
Didn't expect the entertainment to be on but was, had an Olly Murs tribute act was okay, also had the england game on the tv's. Didn't go to the swimming pool but it looks a decent size.
The food in the bar is lovely, had
breakfast twice there!
Good little shop for all the basics.
Toilets and showers were always clean and although small the showers were lovely (espically after being sun burnt!) Wasn't extremely busy but was a few campers around although most went Sunday.
Overall, recommended to my partners parents who enjoy camping and we're booking to come back at the start of august in the summer to see it more busy, can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmurph04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laylajc, Guest Relations Manager at Sheerness Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Sheerness Holiday Park and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The staff were very rude and unhelpful and need to learn some manners. We arrived very early and was blatantly told we could not check-in till 4pm and before we could ask if there was anywhere we could go on the site, the girl turned her back on us and carried on banging on her keyboard! We came bqck at 3:55pm (slightly early i know but we had wasted as much time as possible before we was bored) to again be told "we said check-in was at 4pm." When we finally got our caravan we was told we could not park near it so we had a good walk with all our bags (not really what you want to be doing after a long day). The caravan itself was ok very basic but then every time we tried to use the cooker the electrics blew!! When we went to reception to report it the response was "fine you've probably tripped the switch we will send maintenance." Each day we was there the electrics tripped and each time it seemed like it was took much trouble for them to sort it.
The sites entertainment is very poor the amusement which is stated is just machines which either do not work or kids were stood kicking them or hammering the glass till money fell down. The swimming pool looked very unclean and we was told we would have to leave our shoes outside so we took it there was no changing rooms (plus children were coming out past us in there swimsuits and towels round them). The evening cabaret entertainment was not exactly the best needed to be a bit more up to date and entertaining for kids as well as adults. There was more entertainment coming from the caravan down the way from us, although it was a bit inconsiderate of them carrying it on till early hours when there probably a lot of children sleeping.

Overall its a good job we didn't pay too much money for this holiday or id be wanting a refund and i wouldn't recommend this site to anyone. What it advertised on the internet and brochures is not what you get...far from it!

Room Tip: Dont stay in less than gold
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kratcihel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laylajc, Front Office Manager at Sheerness Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for you review on your stay here at Sheerness Holiday Park, We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfying.

Under no circumstances do we tolerate rudeness from any member of staff towards customers, if you felt this was indeed an issue and reported it to the office manager, I could of dealt with this matter for you.

We confirm the check in times upon taking the booking, and it clearly states the check in and out times on each grade of Rental Caravans on the internet. check in times are generally around 4 pm unless staying in a Gold Caravan, the early check in of 2pm is available to add onto your booking at any time and can be added once you arrive on Park before 12pm.

Upon Arrival we issue all guests with there Entertainment passes so they can use the facilities whilst they wait for the check in time, Our entertainments team are always around during the check in times to say hi to the children.

We do not allow parking around the caravans on the grass due to rain and bad weather making the grounds look messy and untidy, there are parking facilities within short walking distance of all our holiday home rentals, and directly outside some units, again this can be requested upon making the booking at an extra cost.

Our Maintenance team work hard to keep all problems to a minimal and are on hand to help when needed, and we aim to fix the problem right away, the Caravans have a low Amp electrical rating so can cause the electrics to trip if overloaded, this is something once reported to the reception the maintenance team can come round and help.

With regards to the noise from another guest, security and out of hours contact numbers are given to each guest upon arrival, to call at any time with any problems including noise complaints and this will be dealt with accordingly, if we do not know about the problems unfortunately we are unable to help with the situation.

We offer a range of entertainment to suit all guests including children. our programme is also given out on arrival to all guests.

The swimming pool is kept clean and sanitised at all times during the opening hours and outdoor footwear is not to be worn around the poolside for hygiene and health and safety reasons. the pool does have a large unisex changing facility along with a showering area, however some holiday makers do prefer to change in there caravans and walk to the pool with there towels.

Children in the complex must be supervised by adults at all times and we do try our best to monitor this however as im sure you can appreciate it the responsibility of the child's parents. if reported to the complex manager or staff this issue could have been resolved quick and efficiently.

If you wish to discuss the issues raised in your review any further, please do not hesitate to contact me on the following email info@sheernesshols.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in a privately rented caravan in april 2014. Wasn't expecting much which is why we usually stay at the other end of the island. The park is beautiful despite being fairly close to some industrial areas. You wouldn't know where you were once on camp as it is very pretty and idyllic. Despite being there during a school holiday it was very quiet. Mainly owners on camp but not once did I feel uncomfortable which owners on many camp do. If you want a large camp that is lively and full of energy then look else where. Its a smallish camp, relaxed and well facilitated. Large Swimming pool was one of the best and warmest we have had. Was very cleam too. Play area was newly built and was safe and stunning! Really good quality play equipment but could do with a bench for tired parents :) other than that I can't fault it. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Pool staff were great. Wasn't blowing whistle every two minutes like in some camps but still dealt with bad behaviour. Every building is being made over and the camp is looking great. Will definitely be back. Keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jme2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laylajc, Front Office Manager at Sheerness Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review on your stay here at Sheerness holiday Park. we are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience and value the comments made. look forward to welcoming you and your family here in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This park is a very family friendly park and has had a recent facelift which has improved the first impressions of the park. The staff are helpful and friendly defo stay again. It's easy to get to and good location.
If I was to buy a caravan I would chose this site to place it on

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mvpo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laylajc, Front Office Manager at Sheerness Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at Sheerness Holiday Park Ltd we are glad you had an enjoyable experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you on park again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheerness
4.2 mi away
The Shurland Hotel
The Shurland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eastchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sittingbourne Kent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Queen Phillippa B & B
Queen Phillippa B & B
#1 of 1 in Queenborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sheerness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheerness Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheerness Holiday Park

Property: Sheerness Holiday Park
Address: Halfway Road | Minster On Sea, Sheerness ME12 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Sheppey > Sheerness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Sheerness
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Sheppey is enjoying a boom as a holiday destination so why not visit?Sheerness boasts one of the largest indoor pools available. The entertainment venue is equally impressive and ready to welcome and amuse you. Weekends and peak seasons holidays bring out the liveliest evenings with a more relaxed feel at other times. There are enough attractions to keep the whole family entertained for weeks, let alone a few days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheerness Holiday Park Isle Of Sheppey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing