We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelmersdale
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here for our friends wedding and was impressed from the start.
The hotel is situated on the edge of an industrial estate but don't let that put you off because the grounds around the hotel are lovely.
When we checked in we were upgraded straight away to a suite which we were very pleased about,the room was lovely and very big with a seating area,all which was very clean.
The staff were very helpfull,the room for the wedding meal was stunning,with no complaints whatsoever.
Breakfast was lovely with a selection of full English,fresh fruit,cereals and fresh coffee.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank phillykenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    116
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
105
74
7
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

nice landscape, first class service, clean rooms. a good place to stay relaxed. prices are not high. no good connection to Manchester, but highway is close to the hotel. the great hall is available for party too

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiacomoD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here a few times on business.
The hotel is quite good but let down by a few little things.
The food was very average standard with not much choice. Myself and my colleagues tried most things on the menu and found it only avarage, I complained about the food one evening and was told it would be passed to the chef who never responded. One of the evening receptionists could not raise a smile and sometimes i couldnt get my reciept on early check outs which was very frustrating.
Get these little things right and the place would be alright. Expected more from Best Western

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robangsymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

When we arrived at the hotel I couldn't b,elieve the location in an industrial estate. But don't be put off the hotel is is better than the surroundings. The staff are all so helpful the rooms clean. The breakfast plentiful. Yes I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level Contributor
221 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hard to believe this is supposed to be a 3 star hotel, as the rooms are good, the restaraunt is good, and very little noise from the main road nearby.

Stayed here because it was closest to the office I was visiting; reception were very helpful and moved me from the room I initially had - due to noisy neighbours (thin walls) plus I dont like being on the ground floor. The second room was a twin, with a good sized bathroom. It had a connecting door, however it was reassuring to see nice big sliding bolts at the top and the bottom.

Bar area is cosy, with the restaraunt next door. Food was good too - 3 courses for £20 - though breakfast next morning was let down by the quality of the sausages, and the texture of the scrambled eggs - never seen anything quite like it. Stick to fried or poached.

Shall certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Numbers 1 - 44 are on one side of reception,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We ended up staying here for a friends wedding. We originally went to the park hall best western but it was so awful we ended up here by default and it as SO much nicer. The staff are polite apart from one receptionist who failed to tell us breakfast was starting later the next day and didn't seem to know where any shops were. We had to drive for ages to find a cashpoint!
The rooms were modern and clean, can't fault it really. Breakfast was good and they cater for kids fairly well. The room where the wedding was is absolutely beautiful and the wedding meal was lovely! You can tell great effort went into it all.
I would probably stay again if it wasn't in the middle of an industrial estate and had a pool or something.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in an easy to find location, maybe not the most convenient if you want to go out of the hotel to find something to eat or explore but we just wanted some food and to get some sleep before we continued our journey the next morning. Most of the other guests seemed to be travelling business men.

The room was spotlessly clean, free toiletries were a small bonus as it means less to pack. Mthe missus was disappointed that there was shampoo and no conditioner but that's probably a girl thing!

We ordered from the bar menu, my wife ordered a curry, which was passable, and I ordered a burger, which was not! To say it was disgusting would be an understatement. I've had better burgers from a school canteen. To be fair, they took back the burger without fuss, knocked me up some fish and chips and offered me a free drink.

We had quite a good night's sleep. The blackout curtains certainly helped with that. Found the beds reasonably comfortable.

Breakfast was very good. There's a cold selection of the usual items and cooked items are cooked to order. When it came it was hot and tasty without being greasy. What more could you really want?

Essentially a recommendation comes down to one question. Would I stay here again if I was in the area? Yes I would.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jtibbles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelmersdale
1.4 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
6.1 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Address: Prescott Road | Wigan, Skelmersdale WN8 9QD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Skelmersdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelmersdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated just off Junction 5 of the M58 motorway, 3 minutes from J26 of the M6. Therefore it is ideally located for for Wigan, Skelmersdale, Ormskirk, Liverpool (just 20 minutes away) and Manchester Airport. Lancashire Manor dates back to the 16th century. Today the hotel offers an eclectic mix of the traditional, tastefully blended with the modern facilities expected by our discerning customer, including fibre optic data lines, Wi-Fi, Flat Screen TVs, soft duvets and great showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lancashire Manor
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel Skelmersdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing