We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand national weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelmersdale
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grand national weekend”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Bar area and restaurant comfortable and well presented.The room was very clean and comfortable.The hotel is situated on an industrial estate but very easy to find.The only down side I found the price a little expensive but that may have been because it was grand national weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor Hotel, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff.

I am pleased to hear how you found your stay to your satisfaction and comfort. The Grand National is a very busy time to the area, which does reflect on the prices of all local hotels. The Lancashire Manor prides itself of keeping our prices competitive and affordable for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    116
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
105
75
7
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very comfortable, good bed, clean bedroom and bathroom. We had a small lunch that was value for money. There was a large selection at breakfast time it was hot and good value for the price we paid for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor Hotel. It was great to hear how you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction.
Please keep the hotel in mind for your future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Attended a function here over a weekend. Beautiful hotel but it is located on a industrial estate which is disappointing, think the price should reflect the area that it is located . Staff are very helpful, courteous and food was delicious, hot and well presented but menu was very basic. Rooms are beautifully decorated and my suite was very spacious but lots of cobwebs, dusty and found a dead spider in the corner clearly been there for a long time and missed vacuum. Lovely time had and just a little attention to cleaning this would score full points. Only down side is no pool and the cleaning.
Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff, as they pride themselves on customer service; they will be happy to hear how you found them to helpful and courteous.

As you can see from previous reviews, the problems you encountered with your room are not of the usual high standard the hotel keeps. We encourage guests to report such incidents to a member of staff as soon as they occur as we are only too happy to rectify. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you on future visits to the Lancashire Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelmersdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Good quality hotel at a good price. Just the job for business or an intermediate stop if travelling a long distance. Good location if a little tricky to find. Good staff, bar meals and facilities. Lots of business people staying as well as airport travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your resent stay at the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor Hotel.

The hotel is ideally located for Liverpool, Manchester and the business estate in Skelmersdale, I am happy to hear you found it to your convenience.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Lancashire Manor a number of times through work over the last few years, and have reviewed it before.

But after my latest stay, my first in a few months, I need to review it again - they've added a fitness room. A perfect addition to what is already a decent hotel that was only really let down by being basically in the middle of nowhere leaving you with very little to do.

It has two treadmills, an elliptical, a stepper, an exercise bike and some weights and at least means the monotony of being stuck in a room or a bar can now be reduced. I had a great couple of hours in there and, whilst it may sound basic, it's just what someone who keeps up with their fitness needs after a tiring day.

The rest of the hotel remains the same - the beds are comfortable and it is quiet. Whilst the bar food may come across as mostly unhealthy for those of us who try to eat properly, for most people that's sure to be fine and there's more choice with the restaurant having it's own menu. The staff seemed only too happy to make a substitution when asked, too.

Breakfast remains excellent, with a good choice of hot or cold food.

Keep it up... add a pool and I might even move in ;)

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN LANCASHIRE Manor Hotel.

By telling us what you enjoyed about your stay and where we could make improvements, we can offer future guests a superior experience by making adjustments such as adding the fitness room.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The company I work for have a factory close by and I stayed here for the full week to save travelling home every day. Overall this is a very nice Hotel, the food's good, the room was excellent with a fantastic shower and the staff were first class. My rate included breakfast which I wasted every day due to the 0700 start time being too late for me, 0630 would have been better, no complaints though and I will be back.

Room Tip: My room (7) was very quiet, no idea about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor Hotel, I was pleased to hear how enjoyed your stay.

The hotel is close to the business estate in Skelmersdale which a lot of guests, like you, find very convenient. If you could make them aware; the staff are always happy to accommodate and can make alternative arrangements for an earlier breakfast should this be required on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again on future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I have been using Lancashire Manor, since we were married there in 2001, never once have we had to complain about anything! Our last visit on Sat 08 Mar 14, was no exception, even though there was a large wedding taking place. From the moment we entered and for the entire evening nothing was too trouble, staff are always pleasant and the food was as exceptional as ever! ,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor hotel; it is always a pleasure to welcome you and your family Damian.

We value our regular guests and appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelmersdale
1.4 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
5.9 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Haydock
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
7.4 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
8.5 mi away
Rufford Arms Hotel
Rufford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rufford
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Address: Prescott Road | Wigan, Skelmersdale WN8 9QD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Skelmersdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelmersdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated just off Junction 5 of the M58 motorway, 3 minutes from J26 of the M6. Therefore it is ideally located for for Wigan, Skelmersdale, Ormskirk, Liverpool (just 20 minutes away) and Manchester Airport. Lancashire Manor dates back to the 16th century. Today the hotel offers an eclectic mix of the traditional, tastefully blended with the modern facilities expected by our discerning customer, including fibre optic data lines, Wi-Fi, Flat Screen TVs, soft duvets and great showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lancashire Manor
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel Skelmersdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing