We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights at the Rothley Court”
Review of Rothley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rothley Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
Certificate of Excellence
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Two nights at the Rothley Court”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

After having a short break at the Rothley Court in Spring 2012, we couldn't resist going back! Spending 2 nights - 25/26 January - there, with glorious, sunny weather and lying snow - what a beautiful sight. Excellent breakfasts and a very nice dinner there on the Saturday evening. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The Annexe quieter when there is a wedding reception in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Great to read your comments about Rothley we will pass this on to the team & hope to see you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    176
    98
    58
    49
See reviews for
149
243
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for one night on a really good newspaper offer, £30 per couple bed and breakfast. After reading previous reviews we were very apprehensive about what we would find but although our room (in the main house) was desperately in need of redecorating and the carpet was very dirty, at least the bathroom and sheets were very clean and we had lovely views across the grounds, the location really is lovely. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and apart from a grumpy waiter the food was really nice - hot, tasty and well presented; the sticky toffee pudding was the best I have ever tasted! Breakfast too was really nice and was served by a pleasant, friendly and helpful waitress. All in all a much better stay than expected and we would stay here again if the offer was repeated.

Room Tip: Room 10 has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is much appreciated and the negative points you have raised will be looked into. Rothley Court will be going through a refurbishment in January 2014, so we will have made vast improvements to our accommodation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed here in a standard room. Upon arrival I thought the grounds were impressive and was looking forward to a nice room. Staff at reception and in the restaurant were all polite and helpful.
Unfortunately the room lacked quality and was a little tired looking. In fairness it is relatively cheap, so I can't complain too much. It's just a shame that the rooms are not up to the standard of the exterior and grounds. Also, in the annex where I was, I was awoken a couple of times by other toilets flushing or floorboards above creaking as people walked around.
I am sure it would all look great as a wedding backdrop.
Overall not high quality, but reasonable value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-and-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for your recent feedback and comment about Rothley Court accommodation.
We take on board your comments about the rooms and and thank you for your kind words regarding the team.
We are always looking at ways to improve upon standards and the feed back given and are now in the process of
planning refurbishment of these rooms which is planned to start on 1st January 2014.

Once again your comments and feedback are valued.
Paul Brice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Rothley Court provided an excellent setting for the wedding. We spent 2 nights there, eating in the restaurant on the first night- the special offer on curry night was superb both in taste & value. The staff did their upmost to help with everything from unloading wedding cakes, transferring decorations from room to room etc. The wedding was fantastic, the marriage service, blessing & wedding breakfast all passing without a hitch despite the bride arriving 15 minutes late!!! The food was excellent & service good. The DJ got everyone on the floor. All in all a fantastic day enjoyed by all. Many stayed in the hotel so breakfast was an added bonus. Good value & we will be back to relax in the magnificent surroundings. Thank you to everyone who shared & worked to provide our excellent wedding experience on valentines day.

Room Tip: Room 3 was a fantastic oak panelled room full of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeltonSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Many thanks for your feedback in regards to your daughters wedding. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to give a review and look forward to seeing you in the very near future I will also pass your thanks onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

It's the first time I've felt the need to do an on-line review, but my sisters wedding day really could not have gone better.

It's a really impressive building, full of history and character. Perfect backdrop for the photos. We stayed in the main hotel, while some of the guests stayed in the mews (a 70's/80's built annex detached from the main building).

The staff trod the line between being professional and efficient, while also making us all feel welcome and at home. Special mentions for Jason and Alicia who we dealt with regularly and did a cracking job. The DJ was supplied by the hotel, and he had us dancing through the night. I was aching in the morning!

The whole family met over breakfast the following day and I can honestly say no one had a bad word to say. And I have a very picky family!

Overall a brilliant day. If I ever take the plunge Rothley Court will definitely be in with a shout.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights staff were pleasant the building is exceptional lovely old place with a medievel chapel attached . We were in Room 1 which was very spacious a lovely pleasant room, food was of a high standard and the wating on staff do a really good job. What i referred to as suits, to my partner, seemed very stuffy and aloof which made me feel a little uncomfortable, good job the rest of the staff were alot better more freindly and approachable. We did hear during our stay that the company planned to shut the hotel early next year for modernisation lets hope they dont go to mad and spoil this lovely building which has loads of character please Greene King dont spoilt . We hope to return in the near furture .

Room Tip: Lovely for a relaxing stay quiet and on the edge of a lovely village
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to give a review and look forward to seeing you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed here after my friends recent wedding. Our room was £85 and that was a discount price. The room was tiny, and falling apart at the seams. The bathroom was filthy and mouldy. The paint was peeling off the walls and damp everywhere. The bed was tiny. Staff were un-attentive and rude. The only nice thing was breakfast! However I was slightly peed off that some guests who didn't stay at the hotel came back in the morning and were given free breakfast! And there's muggings here who payed for it! Maybe they should check who actually stayed at the hotel. On the plus if you want a free brekky just got there on a sunday morning and plonk yourself down!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukerface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are extremely sorry to hear that on this occasion we were not up to our usual high standards. All feedback will be relayed onto the relevant departments regarding the issues raised and we will look to ensure that you or another of our guests encounter the same issues again. We do sincerely apologise for the service you received from us on this occasion and hope you will come visit us again so that we can make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothley
2.3 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
18.0 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#19 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#20 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothley Court

Property: Rothley Court
Address: Westfield Lane, Rothley LE7 7LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Rothley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothley Court 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rothley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothley Court Hotel Rothley
Rothley Court Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing