We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rothley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rothley Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had the lovely experience of a meal at the hotel
The party conprised of 6 adults and 4 children which was not a problem
Unfortunately we arrived later than the meal was booked for but this was not a problem to the staff who were very accomodating.
All the staff were very pleasant and nothing was not to much trouble
The food was of a very high standard hot and plenty of it. The Yorkshire Puddings were very nice!!
Price was also very reasonable
Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Only had a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyTraveller-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and we hope that you will visit ourus again to try our new autumn menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    174
    92
    58
    48
See reviews for
147
241
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here just one night but wished it were longer. The hotel is beautiful, full of character with lovely grounds. The staff are all really friendly and keen to help with anything and the food is excellent. One of the best breakfast menus I've come across with eggs Benedict for instance as a choice as well as the usual full English, at no extra charge. Dinner was equally good in nice surroundings. We stayed in the Mews House in a very nice room . All in all a great experience, booked at the last minute for a very cheap rate - what a great surprise! Don't forget to explore the hotel if you stay, the staff are happy for you to look around. The chapel is an absolute gem, don't miss it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay, and awarded us an all round 5 stars rating. I’m pleased the staff went that extra mile to make your stay such a great experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have been going to this hotel for many years but have never stayed as we live in the area. It used to be one of the most prestigious venues with a renowned restaurant. I have to say that my experience over the past few years has been very disappointing. It seems as if they are still good at the special events - weddings, celebrations etc but day to day we have not been impressed.

My latest visit was yesterday when I visited with a friend for morning coffee. We entered the bar to find it closed and the back door wide open into the garden making the room very cold on a chilly morning. Over the bar was a big board inviting us to choose from their wide range of coffee, but there was no one to order it from. We went back into reception to ask if they were serving coffee, but there was only one member of staff there and a queue of people waiting to check out. Bearing in mind the cold room, we decided not to wait and left for coffee elsewhere. It was bewildering as this hotel is always advertising locally, trying to encourage us to use it for coffee and bar meals etc.

This is a truly beautiful old building in a fantastic setting and it is sad to see it has lost it's way. They don't seem to know which market they are appealing to. Grand weddings, top end business accommodations, fine dining? Or two meals for under a tenner, and fish and chips to take away?

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I’m Sorry to hear about your recent experience at Rothley, and on this occasion that the bar was not yet staffed, which was a shame, as you did not get to sample our range of coffees. I would like to ensure you that customer service is of great importance to us, as we strive to give a great experience to everyone who chooses to visit Rothley.We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

lovely old hotel in beautiful surroundings. we stayed in annex and was not bothered but any noise that other reviewers have said... . lovely choice for breakfast menu.... yes some areas are tired and need painting but did not spoil our stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeyminnie754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for the review, it is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our beautiful surroundings, and the breakfast choice was to your liking. We are delighted to see you gave us a 4 star rating for value and sleep quality, and that you we not disturbed over in the Court Mews. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had our wedding reception hosted at Rothley Court and it was fantastic. The venue is beautiful, the gardens are amazing and the staff and whole experience was tremendous. All of our requests for the day were excellently managed by the Wedding Organiser (Laura) and the two Duty Managers (Mike and Andrew). The food was served exactly on time, there were no mistakes - all done to an extremely high standard. The staff were all helpful, cheerful and smartly presented in Rothley Court Uniforms. The bedrooms in the main building are typical of a building of this age - but to be fair suit the character of the building nicely. We had no guests stay in the Annex. The breakfast was great and the selection on offer was very good. I notice previous reviews of this hotel seem a little negative (last year) - which is surprising. If there was any issues with wedding receptions here previously I would suggest that the management have now ironed them out as our day was brilliant. Many thanks to Mike,Laura and Andrew and all the team for an amazing day!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thanks for the great review James, we are so pleased we could help make your wedding such a tremendous experience. We are very proud to hear the team performed to such high standards and everything was how you had hoped. We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a old building set in nice gardens. It isn't your standard budget hotel, the age is shown in its wear and no doubt more could be made of the location. You could expect the building to house a mitchelin * restaurant with rooms, it doesn't.
Instead, you get what it proports to be: an old English Inn. Ok perhaps not with a very long history going back millennia but the house was an important part of the UK's campaign against slavery and for that reason alone should be given some respect.

My room had character, it was charming but the floor boards creaked and the view of the back of the property (bins included) wasn't great.

Food was fairly good. And value for money. The bar serves a single, well kept draft ale and multiple bottled lagers.

Above all, the staff are excellent. Friendly, helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: At the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie_Skier_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for the review, we are glad you found the service to be of a 5 star rating, and that you enjoyed the grounds and character of the hotel. It’s great to see that you found our menus to be of good value, and had the time to experience our distinguished range of draft ales and spirit selection. We look forward to your next visit to Rothley Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Attended a wedding at Rothley Court hotel in Leicestershire recently and had a great experience, service good, setting fantastic. Staff pleasant and friendly, we had a large balcony room with large bathroom. If I had a negative about the whole event it was the swarm of wasps that wanted to get in on the party.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the annexe, not great standard and my all accounts, from guests, in need of re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thanks for the review, we are delighted you had such a great experience during your recent visit to Rothley.Our apologies for the wasps during this event, we have taken the necessary steps to try and eradicate this problem in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothley
2.3 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
316 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
637 reviews
18.0 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
464 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#19 of 41 in Leicester
479 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hunting Lodge
The Hunting Lodge
#8 of 12 in Loughborough
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothley Court

Property: Rothley Court
Address: Westfield Lane, Rothley LE7 7LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Rothley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothley Court 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rothley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothley Court Hotel Rothley
Rothley Court Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing