We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£58
Hotels.com
£58
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Skyscanner.com
£58
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
stac30
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Quirky
Review of Rothley Court
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Jul 2023
The hotel grounds etc are beautiful, the room was clean and quirky. We stayed in the superior room. Only downside is no aircon but with such a old building you can't have everything. So when I was asked to close all windows in the room due to the hotel having a wedding barbecue I was definitely in need of aircon. The room smelt of barbecue smoke that evening even with windows closed. Apart from that highly recommend people stay
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Restaurant can get busy, maybe several weddings but staff are very friendly and helpful
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£58
  • Hotels.com
    £58
  • Skyscanner.com
    £58
  • Expedia.com
    £59
0.0 miles from Rothley Court
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Booking.com
£53
  • ibis Budget
    £59
  • Hotels.com
    £53
  • Expedia.com
    £53
1.3 miles from Rothley Court
Free Wifi
Free parking
one of our recently refurbished rooms
Booking.com
£95
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £95
  • Vio.com
    £77
  • Expedia.com
    £87
2.2 miles from Rothley Court
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£54
  • Hotels.com
    £56
  • Vio.com
    £48
  • Expedia.com
    £56
2.6 miles from Rothley Court
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rear of Hotel
Hotels.com
£90
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £88
  • Agoda.com
    £76
  • Trip.com
    £89
3.0 miles from Rothley Court
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£120
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 miles from Rothley Court
Free Wifi
Free parking
Algotels
£64
  • Agoda.com
    £57
  • ZenHotels.com
    £51
  • Vio.com
    £56
4.7 miles from Rothley Court
Free parking
Booking.com
£62
  • Expedia.com
    £59
  • Hotels.com
    £56
  • eDreams
    £62
5.0 miles from Rothley Court
Free parking
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £120
  • Vio.com
    £110
  • Expedia.com
    £120
4.9 miles from Rothley Court
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£64
  • Expedia.com
    £69
  • Agoda.com
    £52
  • Hotels.com
    £69
4.7 miles from Rothley Court
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rothley
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
372
231
142
100
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
372
231
142
100
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building steeped in history listed building lovely grounds friends wedding beautiful building superior room evening meal stayed for one night chapel mews venue disco
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2023

Good food, polite staff. No complaints.

Seeing the historical exterior puts an impression into your mind of silver service and ringing bells for suited waiters to appear, once you drop this unrealistic expectation it’s a perfect hotel and pub.

Room tip: Nice garden Book a table in restaurant to avoid disappointment
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2023

Went to the Rothley Court for lunch with my family. What a disappointment. 4 of us ordered Sunday lunch which, consisted of one roast potato, (they had run out of mashed potato) a very small amount of beef, which was over cooked, frozen peas and carrots, no fresh vegetables, a small piece of stuffing and a Yorkshire pudding which was so hard and overcooked you couldn't get your knife through it! My grandson had fish and chips, the fish was overcooked, the chips were undercooked, not a very appetising dish and badly presented. Needless to say he left most of it.
All in all very very overpriced and frankly not worth the visit. We will not be visiting this establishment again. Keep away if you want a decent meal.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Escape53319910428
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2023

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your Sunday lunch with us
We do use fresh carrot’s and not frozen and do apologise for running out of mash
I will speak to our kitchen team as this is not our normal Sunday lunch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023

We went today for lunch at 12-00 wanted a Sunday roast with mashed potato instead of roasted potatoes was told that they had run out of mashed potato wow how do you run out of mashed potato at 12-00 on a Sunday plus prices have increased and when food arrived portions have decreased two small slices of beef and a very small portion of cauliflower cheese looked like a child’s portion

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P1607MXdavidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

I am so sorry you didn’t enjoy your Sunday lunch with us I can assure you that our roasts have not increased at all although a few items have
I will speak with the kitchen team so this does not happen again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2023 via mobile

“It’s not my job to bring the cutlery” having walked passed it on the way to the garden to deliver the food just about sums this up. Stunning old building, serene setting, nice menu just sadly, the food is always served fried within an inch of its life.

Old buildings as hotels are money pits but GK is raping this one to another level. How sad, the GK brand is compromised by a GM who probably doesn’t have the budget and definitely not the desire or passion to make it better. Staff want to perform but can’t, food is appalling, dried, bland, fried (deeply). They aren’t trained, are not cared for and consequently don’t give a t@ss. Would you for £10 an hour??

At a £100+ a night for a basic room in the gods (let’s see if the hot water works later!) , you’re better off with an booking at your local motorway underpass, bring your own cardboard blanket, enjoy the chat from intoxicated souls and take a bottle of Special Brew to keep hydrated … the pain and trauma experienced will pass, the memory of this place however won’t.

What an embarrassment to the GK brand.
Let’s see if the CEO responds or even better stays here incognito and agrees…I very much doubt he will..🤣

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JamoGlos_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2023 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this splendid old building, and enjoyed a lovely room and a great breakfast which included a gf option. Staff were very helpful, and it was a very relaxing time. I’d recommend it to anyone who loves old buildings, repurposed with care…

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank euroboyLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2023

Thanks for your fantastic review we always have gf options available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews