We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service appalling”
Review of Time & Plaice

Time & Plaice
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Rothley
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fish & chip shop with dining room
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service appalling”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have been to Time and Plaice on 3 occasions. Each time the abruptness and rudeness of the waiting staff in the restaurant has been straight from the "stuff you" school of service. The younger girl was alright, but the middle aged women were truly obnoxious. Each time it was a case of you can't sit here, you can't sit there, even though there were no reserved signs on any of the tables we chose. On the last occasion, after we had sat done, a blonde, middle aged, member of staff in blue started puling the table away from us and banging a chair into my leg as we were getting up to leave.

It is clear this place gets a lot of custom from older people, which is probably why the staff can be rude and aggressive to customers at will. The treatment I have received there is the worst that I have experienced anywhere, ever.

Its not as if the food is anything to shout about in the first place. The fish and chips were ordinary, at best. The place is little more than a glorified chippy.

I do hope the owners or management read this feedback before their staff drive away all of their business. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    13
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very rude on phone”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

did not get to eat there, the lady who answered the phone was very rude, so we did not bother to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DinaLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's a chippy!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I had take away fish and chips. I deliberately asked for fish and chips. I got the standard size fish and medium chips - £4.50. Freshly cooked because there was a queue. The fish was very thin, discoloured, cooked in oil and the batter very thick. Not crisp and light but chewy. For £1.50 there wasn't many chips which were undercooked. My quest for good fish and chips in Leicester will continue.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HullDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High price to pay to be served by rude bossy staff!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Rude obnoxiuos staff & owner. Crowded, manic atmosphere with staff running around like headless chickens & the Mother hen standing around swinging her tea towel whilst clucking her orders at people, which only resulted in confusion. Chips were only just warm, fish was average, prices were perhapes over the top. Restaurant area is decorated with tat that needs a good dusting!
Health and saftey a BIG issue regards locking the restaurant door, and insisting people exit via the fryers and into the take away area...!! Hmmm

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chippy with a seating area”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Good chippy with a cafe style restaurant at the side. Nothing special but nothing bad about it. Okay for an alternative to cooking but not for a special evening. Staff chatty and friendly but not typcial waitress style you get in a restaurant. Not professional, more of a casual chat (hello me duck) ! Food same as you get in the chip shop and they are generous with refills on tea/ bread / chips. Food prices the same as the food in the local pub so considering its only a chip shop it could be cheaper.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa001Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Time & Plaice also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Rothley, Leicestershire
 
Rothley, Leicestershire
 

Been to Time & Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing