We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms”
Review of Orchard Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Willingham B&B and Inns
Somerset
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This B&B was Just the ticket for our family to stay in although the full price paid for children of 6 and 3 was steep to say the least. The rooms were of a high standard and the garden setting was peaceful.
We would have given top grades but we felt not offering fruit and yoghurt for breakfast was penny pinching. We do not all want a cooked breakfast in the morning. When asked if fruit was available we were told that "We used to offer it, but people used to take it for their lunch!"
SO.... the cost of fruit & yoghurt is minimal compared to the price one pays. I know of no other quality B&B that does not offer fruit, indeed many B&B's of a lower grade have given us fruit.
Such a little thing to put right. It would not have been too much effort to say "well we do not usually give it but we can get some for you" would it?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Orchard Cottage is a fabulous place to stay. Warm and welcoming hosts who are lovely to chat with. Extremely comfortable rooms with en suites. Breakfast is fabulous with the opportunity to sit outside on a warm morning. The village has good eateries (The Duke of Wellington). The Bank Micropub is worth a visit. The location is handy for Cambridge, Ely and the surrounding Fens. Thanks to you both for making it a relaxing break.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally of a high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The very friendly, welcoming and professional hosts at Orchard Cottage offer a first-class, good value B&B about 15 minutes drive from the centre of Cambridge.

I had a smallish but very comfortable, and well-furnished single room, with a really plush en-suite shower room. Everything was in pristine condition and spotlessly clean. The full English breakfast was cooked to perfection and delivered to the room at the requested time.

There are 3 minor issues which could have enhanced my stay, but which in view of the price paid aren't enough to prevent me from giving this the maximum rating:

1. TV was far too small and difficult to see any detail even wearing glasses (size was more appropriate for a kitchen TV when you're just a couple of feet away)

2. Disappointed that there was no shower gel / shampoo provided - probably not a great cost to provide this and would have been fitting to include at such a high quality B&B.

3. The Wi-fi appeared to be switched off at night, which was a problem for me as I wanted to do some work early in the morning. It seemed to come on again at around breakfast time.

Overall though, great place to stay and one which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan_2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed at the B&B for three nights and really pleased with the service from Mick and Mandy- the owners.

They are polite and courteous and very professional . The breakfast was excellent

Will definitely stay again
Pyela

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pristaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Don't let the somewhat drab street-side exterior deter you from visiting this super B&B - we drove up and down a few times on a wet and windy Sunday night before spotting the small sign announcing Orchard Cottage at the entrance - and boy, it was worth it! This cool and relaxing B&B is set in a courtyard behind the pretty thatched rear of the main building, our rooms part of a converted outhouse. The decor manages to cleverly integrate original character with classy and stylish modern features. Our host Mick brought fresh milk for tea before we'd even sat down - a nice touch carried through to Orchard Cottage's policy of bringing guests' breakfasts (chosen from a ticklist the night before, and vegetarians well catered for) to their rooms at the requested time. Beds are blissful, en suites roomy and efficient - though a not-very-bright previous guest had evidently decided to ignore the owners' polite and discreet notice about what not to flush down the loo. Lots of reading material and local-menu info in the hall, plenty of parking, and friendly but non-pushy proprietors. Mandy and Mick have got the formula spot on - when we tried to re-book a night for the journey home from East Anglia to Devon, there wasn't a chance of squeezing in again - fully booked, as seems to be the well-deserved norm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catsdoormat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights staying at Orchard Cottage in Willingham. Accommodation is perfect; the rooms are modern and kept very clean. The highlight was breakfast which is delivered to you fresh every morning! Owners are very relaxed and leave you be. Nice location and would stay again if passing in the future.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We've passed this B&B many times on the way to visit friends in Willingham but had no cause to stay there until we attended a party last weekend. Far & away the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The room was immaculate - clean & comfortable. Mick was an attentive host but unobtrusive. He provided fresh milk for a cuppa when we arrived and was prompt with our delicious breakfast the following morning. I just wish we had another excuse to stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willingham
0.1 mi away
The Porterhouse
The Porterhouse
#2 of 2 in Willingham
32 reviews
6.4 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#1 of 1 in Waterbeach
76 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hatton House
Hatton House
#1 of 1 in Longstanton
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Thorpe Guesthouse
The Thorpe Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Hemingford Grey
292 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Property: Orchard Cottage
Address: 60 High Street, Willingham CB24 5ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Willingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Willingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Orchard Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing