We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful character hotel with great service.”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Reviewed 26 August 2011

A lovely warm welcome, character rooms and great food. The castle lit up at night us a stunning spectacle.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisuresafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

Perfect stay here in this nice hotel. Spa was small, but the body wrap was done very professionally. Dinner in the orangery was nice and not expensive. People where very nice. We had room 4, and when we checked in, the baby cot and 2 additional beds where there already. Crispy clean bedding, modern bathroom and very romantic round tower room. Surroundings where beautiful! We also had a look at their falconry which contained very beautiful birds!!! Very nice please near Edinburgh!

Room Tip: Room 4 was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Dalhousie Castle was absolutely charming. The service was first rate, the food was great and the atmosphere was just wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a theme suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here for 1 night, after a trip to Edinburgh. The staff and service are excellent , . We ate in the dungeon restuarant, the food was excellent. We really enjoyed it. Very good service and an impressive setting.Our room was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable , so we had an excellents night sleep. The spa although small was also good. Would have appreciated some one telling us how to work hydropool, instead of us having to find the switches ourselves and working what switch did what. Overall the castle is impressive although is let down by areas/things in need of repair or redecoration e.g dirty and water leak marks on the walls in our room in need of redecoration. Saying that they were not that noticable and did not spoil the overall look of the room. This made our stay a 4/5 instead of a 5/5.We would stay here again , as overall a good stay and excellent food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themonstersmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Needed somewhere cheap to stay on a bed and breakfast basis for three nights over the weekend, as we were attending a friends christening a mile or so away in Eskbank. Used LateRooms to find this place and we were so surprised.

Need to point out that we stayed in Dower House, which is a seven bedroomed house within the grounds of the castle, it's about a two minute walk between the two. As we only needed a bed for the night and feeding in the morning, we chose the house over the castle as it was a third of the price.

We arrived quite late but got checked in with no problem and were taken with our luggage down to the house from the castle on a golf buggy. We were heading back out again and the driver kindly waited for us to freshen up before taking us back to reception.

We had room 30, which was located on the first floor. It was large but very dated, the decor in the room and en-suite is from the 80's, the carpet and bed (two singles set up as a very soft super king size) had seen much better days but importantly, it was clean with a very powerful shower unit. We found the stay relatively comfortable and quiet. You can call up to the main house for the golf buggy to transfer you but after the first night, we decided to walk.

Breakfast has to be eaten in the castle (which didn't bother us), it was really nice to get to get to see the grounds and inside the property. The breakfast selection was very good, fresh fruit, juices, cereal, yoghurts, pastries and a menu of hot food options including full Scottish breakfast, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs and kippers, money well spent in our opinion.

Staff were very friendly and overall for the price we paid, our experience was a really good one and we would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IzziWizzi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked to stay at the Dower House which we knew to be in the grounds of the castle but were pleasantly surprised on our arrival at the breathtaking view you are greeted with. The castle itself is imposing and could easily be a National Trust site rather than a hotel! The Dower House was is a building at the rear of the castle, across a stone bridge and we were escorted there in a golf cart by a friendly porter. The room was a large attic room with en suite and was comfortable and warm. Given we stayed there at around half the normal price thanks to a laterooms deal, we certainly felt spoilt and just being in the grounds of the castle for a late night walk, a little smug at our 'bargain' and the value it provided us. A 20 minute drive from Edinburgh and other local attractions like Rosslyn Chapel, I would recommend for anyone wanting to visit the tourist sites but be well out of the city limits!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simfelemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I had a tremendous time at Dalhousie. The staff was great, and the services were excellent. The food at the dungeon restuarant was wonderful. We stayed in the Mary, Queen of Scotts suite, and it was just perfect. It rained, and we took advantage of the spa, and it was very good. Why woudl anyone compalin about Dalhousie, bogels the mind.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bones57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
2.4 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,004 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
6.0 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range: £74 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing