We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful visit to a magical authentic Scottish Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful visit to a magical authentic Scottish Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

From the first moment we drove down the approach to the castle we were filled with a magical sense of history. The team were great from Check in through to departure. We had a fantastic 4 poster room which had a sense of style and authenticity and we could imagine the figures from history who may have stayed there during the castle's long history. We enjoyed a relaxing hour in the spa and the most wonderful meal in the atmospheric Dungeon Restaurant. The food was top class and the evening was made complete when Andrew Sharpe talked through some of the castle history and some of the ghostly occurrences.
In the morning after a lovely Scottish breakfast we had a stroll in the grounds which were lovely on a sunny spring morning. We have read a number of reviews saying the castle looks worn and in need of decoration but we just do not agree as the aesthetics of the castle reflect the history and authenticity and any improvements need to be carefully planned to maintain the look and feel of this wonderful place. We will definitely return to this magical place

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    334
    176
    88
    85
See reviews for
210
720
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I chose Dalhousie, as we wanted to stay in Scottish castles. We were a bit disappointed with our choice.

The castle is stunning on the approach. The reception area is nice, spaces are large and interesting. I can only say that it's time for the owners to have a walk-through with a restoration expert to get some ideas of how they can update their establishment with appropriate paint, wallpaper, carpets. I understand that a major overhaul would not be possible. It is, after all, an old castle that has seen many different uses over the many centuries of its existence. I just think a bit of updating could be in order, as it doesn't appear to have been touched in the 40 years since it was converted to a hotel.

As for service, it was okay, though impersonal. The staff are professional, without seeming to care a lot about the individual guests they are serving. I cannot fault them or praise them. There was never an offer of help with seeing the countryside, anything that could have been improved in our room, etc.

Breakfast was good. It was not outstanding. We did eat in both the Orangery Restaurant and in the Dungeon Restaraunt. The mushroom soup in the Orangery was excellent. The food in the Dungeon was good, but left us dissatisfied because of the extremely miniscule portions. We were definitely paying for ambiance, not quantity.

We are glad we stayed at Dalhousie, because otherwise we would wonder if we should have given it a try. However, we will never return there, and were not sad to leave it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the William Wallace room, at the very top. It is the only one that opens onto the batt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CinziaOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We returned for our 6th anniversary after getting married here. I am glad to say that it is still superb. Location, spa,food and staff are first rate. After years of under investment by von esson the new owners wont need to spend a huge amount to take this back upto 5 stars where it belongs.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyandjen641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Booked a standard double room with DBB included directly with hotel. Room was small, however it was clean and the bed very comfortable. We used the spa in the afternoon and it was rather quiet but the hydro pool, steam room and sauna were lovely. Great place to relax and unwind.
We visited the Library bar at 7pm, had a few drinks whilst we browsed the Dungeon Restaurant menu. The food in the Dungeon was delightful, the amuse bouche was lovely and we had scallops and smoked trout with white asparagus, both cooked to perfection. We both had the Fillet of Beef, this too was cooked perfectly! Presentation was fantastic, the staff were attentive and friendly. They also have a rather good wine menu and prices sstart from around twenty pounds a bottle.
Puddings were also superb, White chocolate Mille feuille and a superbly baked Date and Walnut souffle. Yum!
Breakfast is served in the Orangery Restaurant from 830 until 1030 at weekends. Fresh fruit, fruit juice, croissants, cereals and a rather extensive menu of hot breakfast options. A full Scottish breakfast and a scrambled egg with salmon went down rather well.
All in all, lovely castle, great staff and the food is wonderful. I would highly recommend a visit and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are comfy but a bit on the small side with little or no view, head upward and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shrek69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We only stayed one night, but it was a great experience. The Castle is a magnificent structure, and it is enjoyable exploring it and the grounds. We did not book the most expensive room, so the room itself was nice and clean, but not fancy or large. The spa provided great relaxation, as well as the steam room and sauna. The food was good, and we decided to forego dining in the dungeon, as it did not seem to be worth the extra money despite the hoopla. The Castle is only about a half hour from Edinburgh. One tip--be sure to bring your swim trunks for the spa, as we forgot ours, and the Castle did not have any to buy or loan. We ended up driving about 10 minutes away to a store that carried swimwear (easy to find). The staff was helpful with directions to our next destination, and having drinks in the library bar was a fun and relaxing experience. We met a man there who had been to the castle several times, and now we know why. We would definitely go back if we are in the Edinburgh area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LakePanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Four of us had tea here. We had wonderful service in the Library. Quite a nice old building to look around in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The slow responses, confused information, wrong rate quoted, igoring of emails and "not care" attitude stopped me from continue the booking. It's easily to take a week to receiev their reply for one single question. Their rate quoted are different from website but no one care to answer my query. I was worried by this kind of service and attitude so at the very last minute (one week before arrival), I had to get my refund back and found another replacement in a hurry. I would never recommend this hotel. They charged expensive but provided poor welcome. I am still upset even that was not recently happened.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing