We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalhousie Castle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melville Castle(Dalkeith)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,490)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveller rating
709
373
209
106
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
373
209
106
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdungeon restaurantlibrary barspa facilitiesfour posterafternoon teano liftbefore dinnerthemed roomsfalconry experiencespecial occasionfine diningwedding partyhydro poolwedding breakfastbirds of preywhole experiencenight porter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
959 - 964 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent a long weekend here for our wedding anniversary. The castle and grounds are stunning. If you are looking for an authentic castle, interested in history or architecture, or simply looking for somewhere quiet and romantic this place is perfect. It feels remote and isolated with dead silence at night but it is only a short drive into the centre of Edinburgh for a day or night out.

The bar was our favourite part of the castle. It is a library full of old books with a log fire and comfortable couches and you couldn't find a better place to spend a cold winters night. After dinner we sat in front of the fire with a bottle of wine watching the snow coming down each night.

The hotel breakfast buffet is good and the dungeon restaurant is outstanding. We had one of the beat meals we have ever eaten in there. We spent one afternoon in the Spa which was free to use if you were staying at the hotel and the facilities were clean and modern.

We stayed in one of the themed rooms and the room décor is tired. The rooms carpets and wallpaper could do with being replaced but this is the only thing that lets the hotel down. My only regret in booking this hotel was that I have probably set the bar too high for future wedding anniversary's and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you stay on the top floor but there are a lot of steps and no lift but it does remind you that you are in a castle walking up the old creaking timber stair to bed each night
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The location and castle is beautiful but in need of some TLC. The bedroom was very small for a themed room, the toilet didn't flush properly and the toiletries weren't replenished each day. After 4 nights still not fixed. They need more staff, there is usually a wait for breakfast, although it is good. Dinner in the dungeon is impressive but not so the food. The chef insisted pearl barley was gluten free and wouldn't change my meal, so expensive for a small but well cooked steak. The pre dinner drinks in the library are very pretentious. The poor waiter was run off his feet as he also had to take the dinner orders and "escort" you down to the dungeon. Never did get our drinks. Wouldn't go back, some guests actually walked out.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a themed room, would hate to see the regular rooms. Window was open as no A/C, dangerous for children, they could fall out.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drennan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Lovely setting & convenient for Edinburgh. Some of the standard rooms at £165 were nicer than our £200 themed room. Compared with an excellent hotel in Glasgow we stayed at Dalhousie was not good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank LouKayBonnyrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed one night in Dalhousie Castle as a birthday surprise. The grounds are spectacular and we were greeted by very friendly and accommodating reception staff.

Our room was huge and beautifully furnished with an ornate wooden sleigh bed, chaise longue, two armchairs in a separate seating area. There was a television and tea and coffee making facilities with fresh complimentary biscuits.

The bathroom was clean, bright and had 'his and hers' sinks. A range of products were supplied as well as bath robes and slippers. The bath was enormous and very comfortable.

We had dinner at the Dungeon restaurant which we shall review separately, but suffice to say the meal was simply stunning.

Breakfast was a real delight, we both had full Scottish breakfast which was gorgeous. We both discovered potato scones and have been trying to recreate them at home ever since! In addition to the breakfast was a huge continental spread which we also enjoyed so no lunch was required that day!

The grounds are lovely and well worth a good walk around which we did. If you are interested in Birds then there a falconry on the grounds and you can participate in archery as well.

Overall it was a stunning stay and we would highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CerrithChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed for just one night recently, the property and grounds are breathtaking but other comments on here about 'tiredness' are accurate, the hotel really lets itself down with a number of things (carpet in bedroom very worn and with a huge stain, dining room at breakfast with water staining on the ceiling and plants that needed serious attention, furniture tired in most rooms) especially as this is not the cheapest hotel.
We ate in the Dungeon, great experience and very good food, but again the let down was the three attempts in getting our bill correct, tried to charge for full 5 al-a-carte courses when my partner had ordered from the normal menu (we also overheard another couple also having the same issue where they were trying to charge the full 5 course rate for a child)
But overall we enjoyed our stay (and breakfast) due to the Castle and grounds.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (corner room) with great views
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne_kilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews