We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Daughters Wedding”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My Daughters Wedding”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My Daughter traveled from Orange County, California with family and friends to be married in the Dalhousie Castle in 2003. It was nothing less than a spectacular experience, not just for my daughter and her now husband, but for all of us. The staff treated my daughter like she owned the castle and everything she requested was at her fingertips, even a impromptu tour of the castle at 2am the morning of her wedding to help ease her tension with a beautiful glass of wine.
We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    345
    186
    91
    87
See reviews for
222
749
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
381 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for 3 days while attending a business function in the castle. It's a neat place to stay with history everywhere and only a few minutes out of town. I stayed in one of the themed rooms and it was very large with a canopied 4-poster bed. Very high ceilings and a large bathroom. Even a pants presser in the room. Breakfast in the dungeon was very good as were our other meals in the Orangery. The grounds are very relaxing with a burbling brook and an incredible falconry establishment. If you follow the river back to the east you will find the ruins of a very old 2 story roundhouse made of rock from the river. Be prepared for the stairs as nearly everything is up or down a couple of flights of stairs. The reason I gave it 4 stars is that it was last updated several decades ago and the rooms and furnishings are looking a bit shabby. But hey, it's a real castle. What else would you expect!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with one of the themed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We cannot say anything bad about the castle and surroundings...However upon arrival complete disorder at reception...our restaurant booking went missing etc....We had room 4 I recall the Dalhousie suite ..huge corridor in the room which leads to the room of a knight...round..stunning vieuw...bathroom very poor..ugly tiles..small...all squeezed...difficult to enter shower area...do it yourself carpentry...the extra bed for our daughter was indeed of medieval quality...The dungeons were the restaurant is are breathtaking..the food quality very poor I thought...all prepared in advance,,not crisp and fresh...staff extremely slow and not attentive...Management should get its act together...breakfast in the Orangery..decent...not great...again staff not sharp (except for French speaking girl that did her best..)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Working in Edinburgh so thought I would give this a try. Castle and surrounding grounds are so amazing. BUT more attention to detail is needed. You do not expect to have to wait for breakfast when you're on a business trip (or any trip) Can't fault food quality and dinner in the dungeon is a real experience. It's just pity some parts seem a bit tired.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed over night here, the room was 1st class absolutely spotless and fresh..........we attended the Wedding Reception upstairs but there was an issue with the Bar -every round of drinks which consisted of the same order!!!gradually increased in price.........

A great nights sleep and down to the Orangery for breakfast-this was fab, freshly cooked to order and the Waitress was happy and very welcoming ,no faults there

Checking Out was a pleasure by the very happy smiling receptionist-Customer Service again was excellent

This privately owned hotel deserves a mention -Well Done

PS Spa Treatments available as well as Falconry & Archery.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the Lower Ground Floor-silence all the way!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rccm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent a long weekend here for our wedding anniversary. The castle and grounds are stunning. If you are looking for an authentic castle, interested in history or architecture, or simply looking for somewhere quiet and romantic this place is perfect. It feels remote and isolated with dead silence at night but it is only a short drive into the centre of Edinburgh for a day or night out.

The bar was our favourite part of the castle. It is a library full of old books with a log fire and comfortable couches and you couldn't find a better place to spend a cold winters night. After dinner we sat in front of the fire with a bottle of wine watching the snow coming down each night.

The hotel breakfast buffet is good and the dungeon restaurant is outstanding. We had one of the beat meals we have ever eaten in there. We spent one afternoon in the Spa which was free to use if you were staying at the hotel and the facilities were clean and modern.

We stayed in one of the themed rooms and the room décor is tired. The rooms carpets and wallpaper could do with being replaced but this is the only thing that lets the hotel down. My only regret in booking this hotel was that I have probably set the bar too high for future wedding anniversary's and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you stay on the top floor but there are a lot of steps and no lift but it does remind you that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The location and castle is beautiful but in need of some TLC. The bedroom was very small for a themed room, the toilet didn't flush properly and the toiletries weren't replenished each day. After 4 nights still not fixed. They need more staff, there is usually a wait for breakfast, although it is good. Dinner in the dungeon is impressive but not so the food. The chef insisted pearl barley was gluten free and wouldn't change my meal, so expensive for a small but well cooked steak. The pre dinner drinks in the library are very pretentious. The poor waiter was run off his feet as he also had to take the dinner orders and "escort" you down to the dungeon. Never did get our drinks. Wouldn't go back, some guests actually walked out.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a themed room, would hate to see the regular rooms. Window was open as no A/C, dan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drennan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,732 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing