We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a pleasure”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I have just got back from a three day stay at Dalhousie Castle Hotel. The hotel was very clean and although the room was not massive it was spotless. The bed was beautifully carved, befitting a castle. Stopping late each day at the Endinburgh Fringe Festival, we are unable to comment on the evening meals, but are able to say the breakfast was top class. What we would most like to mention though was the friendliness of the staff. Every one was helpfull and seem to go that extra mile to make the stay a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. We expect to be stopping here again next year.

Get a room near to the reception if you want good wifi reception. This was the only thing that I was disappointed with.

Room Tip: Book early, phone up and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip_poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at Dalhousie Castle on 3rd August for one night with my partner as we were out in Edinburgh the Saturday during the day for an event. The staff are lovely, polite and welcoming. I had booked a themed 4 poster bedroom, which we had our own patio balcony, which was quite large, overlooking the forest. Our room was clean and historical....its a 13th century castle! We went to the Library room which serves alcohol 24hrs a day, the library room is lovely and relaxing! We just added our drinks to our room bill. The staff kindly phoned a taxi for us when we were heading out. We had booked a bed and breakfast, and was able to order room service for our breakfast to be brought up to our room at our desired time, at no extra cost!! We had massages booked on the Sunday....amazing!! The girls were great! Would recommend massages, You can use the hydro pool as its included in ur room rate so make sure u take ur swim gear...I forgot!!! Highly recommend this hotel!!! Loved every minute!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My Daughter traveled from Orange County, California with family and friends to be married in the Dalhousie Castle in 2003. It was nothing less than a spectacular experience, not just for my daughter and her now husband, but for all of us. The staff treated my daughter like she owned the castle and everything she requested was at her fingertips, even a impromptu tour of the castle at 2am the morning of her wedding to help ease her tension with a beautiful glass of wine.
We loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for 3 days while attending a business function in the castle. It's a neat place to stay with history everywhere and only a few minutes out of town. I stayed in one of the themed rooms and it was very large with a canopied 4-poster bed. Very high ceilings and a large bathroom. Even a pants presser in the room. Breakfast in the dungeon was very good as were our other meals in the Orangery. The grounds are very relaxing with a burbling brook and an incredible falconry establishment. If you follow the river back to the east you will find the ruins of a very old 2 story roundhouse made of rock from the river. Be prepared for the stairs as nearly everything is up or down a couple of flights of stairs. The reason I gave it 4 stars is that it was last updated several decades ago and the rooms and furnishings are looking a bit shabby. But hey, it's a real castle. What else would you expect!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with one of the themed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We cannot say anything bad about the castle and surroundings...However upon arrival complete disorder at reception...our restaurant booking went missing etc....We had room 4 I recall the Dalhousie suite ..huge corridor in the room which leads to the room of a knight...round..stunning vieuw...bathroom very poor..ugly tiles..small...all squeezed...difficult to enter shower area...do it yourself carpentry...the extra bed for our daughter was indeed of medieval quality...The dungeons were the restaurant is are breathtaking..the food quality very poor I thought...all prepared in advance,,not crisp and fresh...staff extremely slow and not attentive...Management should get its act together...breakfast in the Orangery..decent...not great...again staff not sharp (except for French speaking girl that did her best..)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Working in Edinburgh so thought I would give this a try. Castle and surrounding grounds are so amazing. BUT more attention to detail is needed. You do not expect to have to wait for breakfast when you're on a business trip (or any trip) Can't fault food quality and dinner in the dungeon is a real experience. It's just pity some parts seem a bit tired.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed over night here, the room was 1st class absolutely spotless and fresh..........we attended the Wedding Reception upstairs but there was an issue with the Bar -every round of drinks which consisted of the same order!!!gradually increased in price.........

A great nights sleep and down to the Orangery for breakfast-this was fab, freshly cooked to order and the Waitress was happy and very welcoming ,no faults there

Checking Out was a pleasure by the very happy smiling receptionist-Customer Service again was excellent

This privately owned hotel deserves a mention -Well Done

PS Spa Treatments available as well as Falconry & Archery.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the Lower Ground Floor-silence all the way!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rccm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
2.4 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,009 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
6.4 mi away
Salisbury Green Hotel
Salisbury Green Hotel
#119 of 151 in Edinburgh
369 reviews
6 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range: £81 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing