We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalhousie Castle
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$73
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$79
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestonfield(Edinburgh)
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveller rating
715
377
211
106
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
377
211
106
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdungeon restaurantlibrary barspa facilitiesfour posterafternoon teano liftbefore dinnerthemed roomsfalconry experiencespecial occasionfine diningwedding partyhydro poolwedding breakfastbirds of preywhole experiencenight porter
Filter
Updating list...
963 - 968 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are a family of 5 and stayed 1 night at Dalhousie Castle in July13 - we travelled from Austraila away for 4 1/2 weeks in Europe and UK and the only thing on my husbands wishlist was to stay in a castle in Scotland - so I chose DALHOUSIE and it did not disappoint!! from the minute we got there we were so excited about the history - we had a themed 4 poster room, which was brilliant. The kids were off exploring the grounds making up stories about what had gone on here centuries before...the staff were great and very helpful as we had a million questions about the castle. We had dinner in the Dungeon which was excellent and breakfast was also good. We also booked the Falconry which was another great experience - overall a really exciting fun experience that my kids will never forget - or us - thoroughly recommend on all levels - accom, food, location,service and hospitality and experience

Room Tip: a themed room makes it all the better!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I have just got back from a three day stay at Dalhousie Castle Hotel. The hotel was very clean and although the room was not massive it was spotless. The bed was beautifully carved, befitting a castle. Stopping late each day at the Endinburgh Fringe Festival, we are unable to comment on the evening meals, but are able to say the breakfast was top class. What we would most like to mention though was the friendliness of the staff. Every one was helpfull and seem to go that extra mile to make the stay a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. We expect to be stopping here again next year.

Get a room near to the reception if you want good wifi reception. This was the only thing that I was disappointed with.

Room Tip: Book early, phone up and ask.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip_poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at Dalhousie Castle on 3rd August for one night with my partner as we were out in Edinburgh the Saturday during the day for an event. The staff are lovely, polite and welcoming. I had booked a themed 4 poster bedroom, which we had our own patio balcony, which was quite large, overlooking the forest. Our room was clean and historical....its a 13th century castle! We went to the Library room which serves alcohol 24hrs a day, the library room is lovely and relaxing! We just added our drinks to our room bill. The staff kindly phoned a taxi for us when we were heading out. We had booked a bed and breakfast, and was able to order room service for our breakfast to be brought up to our room at our desired time, at no extra cost!! We had massages booked on the Sunday....amazing!! The girls were great! Would recommend massages, You can use the hydro pool as its included in ur room rate so make sure u take ur swim gear...I forgot!!! Highly recommend this hotel!!! Loved every minute!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My Daughter traveled from Orange County, California with family and friends to be married in the Dalhousie Castle in 2003. It was nothing less than a spectacular experience, not just for my daughter and her now husband, but for all of us. The staff treated my daughter like she owned the castle and everything she requested was at her fingertips, even a impromptu tour of the castle at 2am the morning of her wedding to help ease her tension with a beautiful glass of wine.
We loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for 3 days while attending a business function in the castle. It's a neat place to stay with history everywhere and only a few minutes out of town. I stayed in one of the themed rooms and it was very large with a canopied 4-poster bed. Very high ceilings and a large bathroom. Even a pants presser in the room. Breakfast in the dungeon was very good as were our other meals in the Orangery. The grounds are very relaxing with a burbling brook and an incredible falconry establishment. If you follow the river back to the east you will find the ruins of a very old 2 story roundhouse made of rock from the river. Be prepared for the stairs as nearly everything is up or down a couple of flights of stairs. The reason I gave it 4 stars is that it was last updated several decades ago and the rooms and furnishings are looking a bit shabby. But hey, it's a real castle. What else would you expect!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with one of the themed rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews