We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalhousie Castle
Nearby Hotels
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$97
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestonfield(Edinburgh)
US$470
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,490)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveller rating
709
373
209
106
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
373
209
106
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdungeon restaurantlibrary barspa facilitiesfour posterafternoon teano liftbefore dinnerthemed roomsfalconry experiencespecial occasionfine diningwedding partyhydro poolwedding breakfastbirds of preywhole experiencenight porter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful castle and location, however any experience of Dalhousie is best only from the outside. Our room, at £300 including dinner for a night, was tatty and desperately in need of new carpets, furnishings and paint. Staff are conconspicuous by their absence. The food was good, but options for dining in the area are minimal anyway. The spa was filthy, and a wholly unpleasant experience. For the money, I'd rather have stayed in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank privatepork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our daughter's wedding was held in Dalhousie on 3rd August 2013 and the entire wedding party were delighted by it. The venue itself has been improved since we booked it last year and the dining room for the wedding breakfast looked stunning with new chandeliers. Staff were excellent: attentive and polite. I must mention here Alan, the duty manager, who managed the whole wedding with precision and great attention to detail in an unobtrusive way. Friends and family who stayed in the castle were impressed by their rooms and the reports on the Dungeon restaurant were outstanding. The Orangery restaurant has been updated and served a very comprehensive breakfast. There is nothing to beat being piped into the wedding by a piper in full regalia! As an exiled Scot, this was heaven indeed. Thank you, Dalhousie.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a four poster room for real character.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carbreducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are a family of 5 and stayed 1 night at Dalhousie Castle in July13 - we travelled from Austraila away for 4 1/2 weeks in Europe and UK and the only thing on my husbands wishlist was to stay in a castle in Scotland - so I chose DALHOUSIE and it did not disappoint!! from the minute we got there we were so excited about the history - we had a themed 4 poster room, which was brilliant. The kids were off exploring the grounds making up stories about what had gone on here centuries before...the staff were great and very helpful as we had a million questions about the castle. We had dinner in the Dungeon which was excellent and breakfast was also good. We also booked the Falconry which was another great experience - overall a really exciting fun experience that my kids will never forget - or us - thoroughly recommend on all levels - accom, food, location,service and hospitality and experience

Room Tip: a themed room makes it all the better!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I have just got back from a three day stay at Dalhousie Castle Hotel. The hotel was very clean and although the room was not massive it was spotless. The bed was beautifully carved, befitting a castle. Stopping late each day at the Endinburgh Fringe Festival, we are unable to comment on the evening meals, but are able to say the breakfast was top class. What we would most like to mention though was the friendliness of the staff. Every one was helpfull and seem to go that extra mile to make the stay a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. We expect to be stopping here again next year.

Get a room near to the reception if you want good wifi reception. This was the only thing that I was disappointed with.

Room Tip: Book early, phone up and ask.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip_poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at Dalhousie Castle on 3rd August for one night with my partner as we were out in Edinburgh the Saturday during the day for an event. The staff are lovely, polite and welcoming. I had booked a themed 4 poster bedroom, which we had our own patio balcony, which was quite large, overlooking the forest. Our room was clean and historical....its a 13th century castle! We went to the Library room which serves alcohol 24hrs a day, the library room is lovely and relaxing! We just added our drinks to our room bill. The staff kindly phoned a taxi for us when we were heading out. We had booked a bed and breakfast, and was able to order room service for our breakfast to be brought up to our room at our desired time, at no extra cost!! We had massages booked on the Sunday....amazing!! The girls were great! Would recommend massages, You can use the hydro pool as its included in ur room rate so make sure u take ur swim gear...I forgot!!! Highly recommend this hotel!!! Loved every minute!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews