We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Nice Setting, Poor Service”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Setting, Poor Service”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We recently visited the Orangery restaurant within Dalhousie Castle with some friends. We have recently got married in the Castle and looked forward to a lovely evening.

As we knew the castle setting and decor was amazing,

The food was a good standard and we all enjoyed our meal however given the pricey menu and level of hotel we would say that the standard of service received was very poor indeed.

Our waiter for the evening certainly tried his best to serve us, however his english certainly was not nearly good enough and he had difficulty in understanding simple orders.

One of our starters (mushrooms on Brioche) was incomplete (no Brioche) after we had given a simple request for it to be served only without butter. After we highlighted the issue we had to wait for some considerable time before the complete dish arrived by which time all three other diners had finished their starters.

A simple request for a small piece of shortbread to allow one of our friends from USA to try was not apparently possible to be accommodated.

In addition the level of dress and general appearance of the waiting staff was very poor and certainly not the standard you expect from such a prestigious location.

Having said all this we did all enjoy the experience and with some simple training and thought to the level of service offered a more positive review could be given.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grendel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    338
    183
    91
    86
See reviews for
219
737
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was our first stop for a 10 day tour of Scotland. After a long day and night of travel, it was a hoot to stay in a castle and rest a bit before heading to Edinburgh. We would agree with other traveler's average reviews ~ it is in need of some TLC and the staff was a little overwhelmed with wedding guests checking out from the previous night. (It DOES look like a beautiful place to hold a wedding ~ hence the positive wedding~stay reviews.) Although the Dungeon Restaurant was completely booked, they were kind enough to accommodate us with the same menu in The Orangery.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I had my wedding at the castle on the 7th August 2013. A lot of my family also satyed at the castle.
The castle itself is breathtaking, more than I could have hoped for. The staff were brilliant and ensured my wedding ran smoothly and without any problems. The rooms were brilliant. I had the Queen Victoria for the night before my wedding which had a beautiful large window and high ceilings as well as a grand double brass bed with canopy. perfect. we had the Ramsay Suite for our wedding night and it was amazing. Something we will never forget.
The grounds are beautiful.
The food is superb.
The library bar and other hidden rooms are brilliant and it is like something from a film.
I couldn't say enough just how perfect everything was for us. A wedding with happy memories to last a lifetime.
The piper was also great and made our wedding extra special.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a special room if you can. if not castle doubles higher up in castle are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireLewis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful castle and location, however any experience of Dalhousie is best only from the outside. Our room, at £300 including dinner for a night, was tatty and desperately in need of new carpets, furnishings and paint. Staff are conconspicuous by their absence. The food was good, but options for dining in the area are minimal anyway. The spa was filthy, and a wholly unpleasant experience. For the money, I'd rather have stayed in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank privatepork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our daughter's wedding was held in Dalhousie on 3rd August 2013 and the entire wedding party were delighted by it. The venue itself has been improved since we booked it last year and the dining room for the wedding breakfast looked stunning with new chandeliers. Staff were excellent: attentive and polite. I must mention here Alan, the duty manager, who managed the whole wedding with precision and great attention to detail in an unobtrusive way. Friends and family who stayed in the castle were impressed by their rooms and the reports on the Dungeon restaurant were outstanding. The Orangery restaurant has been updated and served a very comprehensive breakfast. There is nothing to beat being piped into the wedding by a piper in full regalia! As an exiled Scot, this was heaven indeed. Thank you, Dalhousie.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a four poster room for real character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carbreducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are a family of 5 and stayed 1 night at Dalhousie Castle in July13 - we travelled from Austraila away for 4 1/2 weeks in Europe and UK and the only thing on my husbands wishlist was to stay in a castle in Scotland - so I chose DALHOUSIE and it did not disappoint!! from the minute we got there we were so excited about the history - we had a themed 4 poster room, which was brilliant. The kids were off exploring the grounds making up stories about what had gone on here centuries before...the staff were great and very helpful as we had a million questions about the castle. We had dinner in the Dungeon which was excellent and breakfast was also good. We also booked the Falconry which was another great experience - overall a really exciting fun experience that my kids will never forget - or us - thoroughly recommend on all levels - accom, food, location,service and hospitality and experience

Room Tip: a themed room makes it all the better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I have just got back from a three day stay at Dalhousie Castle Hotel. The hotel was very clean and although the room was not massive it was spotless. The bed was beautifully carved, befitting a castle. Stopping late each day at the Endinburgh Fringe Festival, we are unable to comment on the evening meals, but are able to say the breakfast was top class. What we would most like to mention though was the friendliness of the staff. Every one was helpfull and seem to go that extra mile to make the stay a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. We expect to be stopping here again next year.

Get a room near to the reception if you want good wifi reception. This was the only thing that I was disappointed with.

Room Tip: Book early, phone up and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip_poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing