We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal!”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Went out to the Orangery at Dalhousie Castle and it was amazing! It's a special place where the staff look after you and make it lovely from beginning to end! The food is first class and presented beautifully.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SHEENA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife has recently enjoyed her second falconry experience, it was as impressive, informative and as pleasurable as on the first occasion. This time she was able to fly a buzzard, an eagle owl, a Harris hawk and finally the great grey owl that she fell in love with last time. The staff are always cheerful and very informative, the surroundings are beautiful, but the joy of being so close to such magnificent birds is simply unforgettable. Thanks to the ladies who made my wife's special day just that much more extra special. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had always wanted to stay in a castle and was not disappointed. Really unique experience. The restaurant was set in the dungeon which was really memorable, but for the right reasons. Food fantastic. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Visited Dalhousie Castle twice now and I've been highly impressed on both occasions. On the first trip me and my partner visited the spa facilities and then enjoyed lunch afterwards.
On the second visit we booked the spa facilities again with treatments and stayed overnight. We both really enjoyed our stay and cannot fault the elegant castle at all or the very helpful staff. The room was very clean and the castle and its beautiful surroundings had real character and ambiance.
The highlight of our trip was an unexpected tour from the night porter! This wasn't organised by the hotel but I feel he simply does tours to pass the time but it was brilliant. He showed us parts of the hotel we definitely wouldn't have normally seen and shared its fascinating history. He really did make our trip memorable as he was a bit of a comedian!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielallan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We ( my wife and i ) have just returned from a post honeymoon two night stay. So here goes .The Orangery for breakfast was fantastic offering a cooked breakfast and a continental buffet. We also dined twice in the Dungeon restaurant which the setting and the food was amazing. We were treated to two freebies of starters and deserts for us both compliments of the chef. My wife had one spa treatment and said it was as good as she had had anywhere else. But was slightly disappointed the hydro pool was closed. But she did use the steam room which was a pleasure.
The staff were excellent . The room was a theme room and quite authentic of what I expected the castle experience to be, with the best and most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in. The room was clean, warm and well stocked with tea n coffee etc. The bathroom was very good bath/shower with fresh towels and toiletries daily.
The wifi was fast and strong all round the castle except in the dungeon. To be expected it was underground.
The grounds where lovely and well presented. The falconry is well worth a look. It was also pleasant to watch the wild deer from our room and the Orangery. I did look at reviews before our visit and admit some concerned me ,but we found it excellent and would definitely return . Highly recommended. Thank you for a memorable most enjoyable stay.
Room 9 .Mr & Mrs G.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank me-n-wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I, accompanied by our daughter and her partner who live in Edinburgh, spent the week-end at this very unique hotel whilst enjoying their 7 course Burns Night supper. Everything was of the very highest standard from the friendliness of the staff to the rooms to the exceptional catering. We had a "themed" room whilst the "children" had a normal one. Both rooms were of the very highest standard. It is an independent hotel and it showed. Everyone seemed to be genuinely happy to be working there and making your stay as enjoyable as possible was truly their pleasure. If you go, I hope that you meet Andrew the piper who has an accent similar to the late John Laurie and so could be listed to for hours. I also hope that Peter the night porter is on duty who will take you on a ghost tour of the castle - what a character! Outside there are falconry and archery which you can either watch or participate in and inside there is a spa, which I have to say we sadly did not sample. Not only an excellent hotel but it is the perfect wedding venue which its has own chapel: they even have a owl who will fly down the aisle to deliver the wedding rings!!!! You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: We are told that Room 17 is the most haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracken3Haslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Myself and my partner had dinner here at the weekend.

We loved it ! the setting is amazing, we had drinks in the library first, then were brought down to the dungeon restaurant which is so unique and intimate. We were introduced to our waiter Carlos who was just a delight all evening! extremely professional yet friendly at the same time. Our food was superb, we had fillet of beef each and it was cooked to perfection. Cant wait to go back, would highly recommend this restaurant, great for couples and specials occasions :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mansaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
2.4 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,015 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
6.4 mi away
Salisbury Green Hotel
Salisbury Green Hotel
#120 of 151 in Edinburgh
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range: £78 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing