We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for our honeymoon!”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent location for our honeymoon!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon at Dalhousie Castle & Spa. Our stay excelled all our expectations. Our suite was the most beautifully & thoughtfully designed room I've ever stayed in. The castle itself is full of character with squeaky staircases and antique paintings & furniture filling the corridors. It's cosy & quirky and it's not just the open fire that fill every corner of this hotel with a warm atmosphere. The breakfast included was lovely and the orangery had gorgeous views of the castle grounds. Our dining experience in the Dungeon was amazing, great food and atmosphere. Every single staff member- receptionists, waiting staff & spa staff were helpful, friendly & attentive. The only downside to the whole experience was having to leave! I'm already looking forward to returning. Best hotel experience I have ever had! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    345
    186
    91
    87
See reviews for
222
749
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem with outstanding natural beauty both inside the hotel and outside in the large grounds. We stayed in room 4 and couldn't be more impressed. It is up in one of the castle's turrets and is packed full of features that give you a taste of royalty.
The library barman Carlos deserves a mention as he was friendly and helpful at every opportunity and the manageress in the Orangery restaurant was also a lovely lady.
As with any old hotel there is a little superficial work that could be done but it certainly doesn't detract from the experience. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to try something a little different to the usual faceless contemporary establishments. It's a tiny bit pricey but, in my opinion, it's worth it!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shaunp2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I've always wanted to stay in a castle so this was an opportunity not to be missed. We stayed two nights, including Valentine's. A few weeks before our stay we received an email to say the Dungeon was full that night and would we like to eat in the Orangery. I was disappointed but there was nothing we could do. Our own fault, although when we found that there was a large family party in the dungeon didn't feel as bad - it obviously wasn't that we'd just left it too late to book. When we checked in we were given an upgrade to a four-poster room. It was large, with two arm chairs and a coffee table, plenty of drawer space, wardrobe with iron, ironing board and hairdryer and a fan heater to boost the electric heaters if needed. The four poster looked amazing. The whole hotel looks just as you would expect a Scottish Castle to look…lots of dark wood, enormous chairs, tartan and mysterious paintings.

Alistair was very helpful and friendly. A quick tour of the hotel on our way to our room and he made sure that the heaters in our room were working and asked us about dining. As we intended to head into Edinburgh that night he recommended Cucina at the Missoni where he had dined the night before. It sounded great so he arranged a car for us (Gordon's Cars) and made a reservation. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly, giving us a glass of Prosecco on arrival and complimentary coffees as were had come at Alistair's recommendation.

Breakfast was served in the Orangery. Staff were friendly and service was a little slow but we were in no hurry so it really wasn't a problem. We started with porridge which was lovely and hot and plentiful. I had lovely smoked kippers with a poached egg and my hubby had scrambled egg and smoked salmon. Both were very good.

Alistair helped us out again with a Gordon's Car, much cheaper than a metered taxi, and we headed off to Rosslyn Castle. Again highly recommended by Alistair and again a fantastic venue.

Dinner in the Orangery wasn't quite to the standard I was expecting. All the components were there…an amuse bouche, intermezzo sorbets but it didn't quite hit the mark for me. There were several choices for each course and I chose the fillet of beef main. I like it blue, which shouldn't be a problem for a fillet, but it was tough and had a large piece of gristle in it.

There's no minibar in the rooms and we fancied another glass of wine when we got back to our room. My husband headed to the library bar, which was occupied by the large party from the dungeon so he wasn't able to get in, and returning to the room we tried calling reception but there was no answer. As it wasn't a pressing fancy we gave up.

Breakfast on our second morning was good again. Staff were very friendly and warned that the smoked haddock would take a little longer. The wait was fine and it was delicious. The toast was granary and nice and hot. We didn't feel rushed at all and had a leisurely breakfast.

Check out was simple and quick and reception had organised another Gordon's Car to take us back to the airport, so everything was really easy.

Just a few cons…
Orangery tables all had small vases of fresh flowers…sadly well past their best and dying/aready dead at breakfast on our first morning and on Valentine's night.
Pillows were flat with no loft at all and the mattress was uncomfortable.
Watermarked wallpaper in the room is not a good look and the sealant around the bath was badly mouldy and the bathroom floor tiles were missing bits of grouting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluerhinodoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

When we got to Dalhousie castle we were wowed by it's wonderful surroundings and the fantastic building. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We were upgraded to a themed room which was warm and very grand. We were very excited to be here. The concierge gave us a brilliant tour of the castle, when you visit seek out Alister. He is fantastic and gave us some excellent advice about our trip into Edinburgh the next day. We had a meal at the Dungeon restaurant which was wonderful. One of the best meals we have had. The staff again were excellent. It was ideal for going into Edinburgh centre and only cost £18 each way jn a taxi which the hotel rang for us.
the breakfast included was lovely too and the orangery had gorgeous views.
We didn't use the spa facilities, but people seemed happy with them.
Overall this was a wonderful 30th birthday present for my partner and we would definitely return if we were going to Edinburgh again. I have nothing bad to say. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!!!

Room Tip: We staying room 17 which was lovely. Dramatic bed and a beautiful view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chucklepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at Dalhousie for the weekend and were blown away. Dalhousie customer service should be a model standard to follow in hospitality. We were welcomed and made to feel right at home straight away. Special thanks to Maria, Peter, Michael and the breakfast staff who I'm sorry I cant remember all your names, who were so very kind and considerate and went the extra mile. Julie and the falconry staff were also very lovely and made a huge effort to help us achieve our experience with the weather trying to fight us!
Our room was wonderful, clean, warm and comfy with wonderful views.
The Dungeon was a fun experience and memorable. Lovely to walk the castle grounds after a great meal. The food was delicious and delightfully presented.
Although the Castle is not very close to the city centre there is a bus stop a short walk away in case your budget does not accommodate taxis every day and the walk itself is really nice (even in the rain!)
Unfortunately not all the spa amenities were functioning on the weekend we went but there was more than enough to keep us satisfied and relaxed.
Overall we were very happy with our stay at Dalhousie. We had planned to go to the city everyday but Dalhousie kept us right where we were all weekend. Even a Dalhousie history tour was a great way to pass the time. There is lots to do if you want a weekend to relax and spend time with people you hold dear. The reception you receive from the staff make it all the more relaxing.
Thank you Dalhousie!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 and found it wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Went out to the Orangery at Dalhousie Castle and it was amazing! It's a special place where the staff look after you and make it lovely from beginning to end! The food is first class and presented beautifully.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEENA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife has recently enjoyed her second falconry experience, it was as impressive, informative and as pleasurable as on the first occasion. This time she was able to fly a buzzard, an eagle owl, a Harris hawk and finally the great grey owl that she fell in love with last time. The staff are always cheerful and very informative, the surroundings are beautiful, but the joy of being so close to such magnificent birds is simply unforgettable. Thanks to the ladies who made my wife's special day just that much more extra special. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,732 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing