We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location appalling service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely location appalling service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The location is amazing and the grounds are wonderful. I was there over a weekend for a wedding. The rooms are a little tired and the carpets are scuffed and worn but they are clean and well serviced with good heating and comfy beds. However the general service in the hotel is appalling. I phoned reception on a few occasions and my calls were never answered. The unwelcoming, monosyllabic man running the bar in the library, begrudgingly served one drink at a time with a huge scowl on his face at all times. The bar in the ballroom in the evening was "manned" by one lady who, despite working flat out, could not possibly serve in excess of 90 guests. The restaurant service was laughable!! The first evening it took over half an hour for our starters to arrive and then a further 45 minutes for the main course (not just our table, this was in the entire restaurant). The wedding breakfast (bearing in mind this was a set menu booked months in advance) took over 2 hours to arrive and was cold. Ever the desert course took 15 mins to arrive (surely these were already made up and on trays ready to go?) I ordered room service breakfast at 11pm last night to arrive between 7 & 7:30 and it arrived at 7:55 this morning...oh and finally, I ordered a return cab to the airport, via reception at check in. The receptionist dutifully wrote down all the details and contact numbers. This morning when I arrived at reception (with indigestion having had to eat my breakfast so quickly) I transpired that the cab had not been booked, thankfully it was a Sunday and I'd given myself plenty of time. On the subject of cabs, the fare in a regular black cab from the airport was £37 and the (not) booked cab to the airport was £25. If the catering manager of this hotel was replaced and the staff properly trained this could be a lovely hotel. There are no lifts or ramp and everything is on different levels so I would not recommend for people with disabilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunseeker1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    334
    175
    88
    84
See reviews for
209
718
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We visited the castle on a Thursday and booked the Dalhousie room, which was a lovely grand room with large four poster bed and a nice sized bathroom down a long corridor , the room is based in the turret section of the castle which was a nice feature with its fireplace etc. check in staff where really nice and helpful with the gentleman that showed us to our room being very informative about the history on the way. We visited wanting to have a quiet relaxing night in our lovely room and to have dinner in the orangery and drinks in the lovely looking library bar, we're a couple of 26year old busy people so wanted some peace and quiet so booked avoiding weekends, but the hotel was still consumed by a wedding on the Thursday, still. The wedding guests took up most the space and in our room we could hear the wedding band clearly till midnight. If you want to avoid this I would check when you book if there is a midweek wedding. OTHERWISE great place, great staff, Dalhousie suite was great, we visited the spa which was nice, quite small but nice, we had dinner and breakfast in the orangery (radio was playing in the evening at dinner which wasn't great for the ambience etc, I remember listening to the wonger money lending advert whist tucking into my starter, but the girl put on a CD when we asked). Breakfast was good. And the staff where apologetic and attentive with regard to our issue with the wedding (no major problem, people are entitled to enjoy their wedding in the venue of their choice but it was abit consuming and we didn't get to enjoy the lovely building) Really recommend this place and would definitely return. 5stars disregarding the wedding music.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jwill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed in the room in the ramparts which comes with it's own rooftop deck. Except for the bathroom , I would give it a 5. View from the top of the tower and eating in the conservatory In the morning was wonderful. Spent an afternoon doing falconry and it was the highlight of the trip.
There are no elevators if stairs are an issue.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and and everything is on different floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had our wedding at Dalhousie and the experience was magical. We stayed in the Dalhousie suite which was out of this world. Everything from the room ,staff and food was superb. The spa was wonderful and relaxing, and we will definately be returning in the future. we can't rate this castle highly enough and recommend you try it for yourselves.
Stuart and Tanya

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 323StuartF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a lovely Castle situated just off the Edinburgh bypass.
Booking Staff excellent, special mention to Javier Sanchez. This staff member was also working during our stay and always had time to speak and ask if we were enjoying our stay, or meal etc. We booked this break through Itison and have to say it was an exceptionally good deal, bed and breakfast and dinner with wine and a theme room. (Four poster, fitted out as you would expect in a castle)
There is no lift so if you do not want to climb stairs ask for a lower floor room.

We tried the spa, which is very relaxing, and small. We both had treatments and found them totally relaxing and value for money.

We had actually booked to eat in the dungeon (which is wonderfully decorated by armoured figures and weapons), but on looking at the meal available we found it was not to our liking, and at an extra £30 each, not what we wanted. However it was our anniversary and reception staff checked that it would be allright for us to have our meal in the dungeon, and so we did. Drinks in the library first, which sounds very sophisticated! The menus we got to begin with were wrong, and another couple nearby had the same problem. The chap that served the drinks was a bit out of his depth with the amount of guests to serve....but he did redeem himself when he escorted us to the dungeon for our meal, and made sure we were seated and drinks served there.
After dinner we went back to the library, and soon found it full of wedding guests, who were probably staying over too. It is not a huge castle so that is going to happen.
Breakfast was good but too slow 45 minutes from ordering till being served and it was not busy.

Overall an enchanting castle and well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room as there is no lift and a lotta lotta stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at Dahousie Castle through an 'It Is On' deal which included Dinner in the Orangery and a bottle of wine. We upgraded our room to a four poster room and got The Alexander Room which was lovely, huge 4 poster bed and a massive bathroom with slippers and robes and nice fluffy towels, Spotlessly clean and nice traditional decor, with a nice view out to the lawn and Falconry.

The food in the Orangery was really good, good service and really nice wine. Although, we would have liked to have tried the Dungeon Restaurant which has 2 AA Rosettes.

Peter in the library bar took us on a tour of the Castle, which really made our stay. We had no idea that the Castle was in the top 10 most haunted in the world! It was great to hear about the history and see areas which we would never have got a chance to see.

We had breakfast in our room both days delivered nice and hot great selection.

Used the Spa, didn't have any treatments. This was the only let down, the hydro pool wasn't very warm.

Really enjoyed our break to recharge the batteries. Would recommend, and would definitely return. Staff are lovely.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

What a beautiful castle. Lovingly looked after and converted into absolute luxury. Our room was clean, large and came with an amazing shower, fluffy towels, robes and slippers which was lovely. Didn’t use the Spa but did have an incredible 3 course (almost 5 course! They give you lots of unexpected extras between meals) birthday dinner in the Dungeon Restaurant. Very romantic venue and the staff were excellent – nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was outstanding and the Orangery has the most stunning views – highly recommend the potato pancakes! Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelightedKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing