We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for no reason, nothing to brag about”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Leyland, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very expensive for no reason, nothing to brag about”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for a wedding at the weekend and on arrival immediately noticed it had awful decorating for a place that takes in so much money! When we finally got into our room, we wasn't very impressed as our bed was two singles put together with a kingsize duvet, the headboard was some wooden thing attached to the wall, the wallpaper wasn't cut in a straight line, it had jagged edges and was falling off the walls, the window was hard to shut and was all cracked, it had old fashioned discoloured wallpaper and to be honest was no better than a dingy £30 a night bed and breakfast. The food served wasn't of great quality, I had chicken and veg which was just boiled veg and a piece of chicken with haggis inside, which was good but I felt they coulve done more with the potatoes, I also had mushroom soup which was good but tasted more like cream than mushroom, so it got quite sickly, and I had chocolate pan a cotta for desert which was the smallest thing ever but was very good. The drinks were very overpriced and they put wine on the table for the evening do, the same wine which was used for the afternoon meal which had the bride and grooms name on it, which was all paid for, but if you had it at the night do they would put a charge onto your end bill! Also on arrival they ask for a £50 holding fee which apparently doesn't come out of your bank, and gets released when you check out, however this £50 came out of my bank and still hasn't gone back in! Overall the castle is impressive from the outside, and the grounds are nice but I wouldn't bother going inside and especially not for £150 a night. Most of the staff were nice especially Peter who was very helpful, however there was some sour faced ones which I guess you get everywhere these days.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khannahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    347
    186
    92
    88
See reviews for
223
756
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this venue for a wedding. Saying the rooms where so expensive I was not very impressed to find wallpaper falling off the walls, damp patches, paint fading and scratched on the headboards, chairs wobbling and nearly falling to bits. nothing about the stay was luxury at all, I can honestly say ive stayed in nicer premier inn rooms. The breakfast we had was very good and the staff were very nice and friendly but the inside of the castle really needs cosmetic attention, the rooms really are a total let down.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SamDewhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The title says it all.
The rooms have wallpaper falling off the walls, they are poorly lit and uncomfortable beds.
We attended a wedding breakfast. The food was awfully slow. Tables were eating different courses! The soup could have been a tinned one, the risotto was cold and 20mins late, they ran out of food so despite pre ordering meals, the person next to me had to order something else. The staff were dropping the veg onto a couple of us whilst serving- without an apology! The cheese cake desert, however, was great. They also served canapés which were faultless.

Drinks are very expensive too. For what they are priced at, you shouldn't get the above errors.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank review169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Dalhousie. The room was grand clean and had all the facilities you could want! The spa was small, but lovely . Breakfast in the morning was great and dinner in the dungeon was exquisite!! Would definitely recommend, surrounded by beautiful grounds and the owl sanctuary is worth a visit! Not far to Edinburgh which is a great town to visit!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank calc_2009_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here on a recent birthday and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and attentive. Stayed in room with turret which had beautiful views over the countryside. Rooms are a bit tired and bathrooms could do with a makeover but it was atmospheric and bed was so comfortable. We ate in the orangery restaurant and had excellent steak. One point to the chef, the crab mousse was full of shell but at lest it showed it was fresh! We used the spa which was very pleasant though heating was turned off in relaxation area so it was freezing and we didn't stay long. This place as mentioned before is unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues due to the large number of stairs and no lifts. Wifi was also non existant but it meant we could relax and enjoy the break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairolass_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

You are staying in a castle!!! what else do I need to say, great rooms, awesome staff. Walk around the castle on the hikes, they are beautiful and so green. Have dinner in the dungeon and drinks in the library. Do the Falconary - such an amazing time. Have tea in the orange room.

Room Tip: We got the Mary Queen of Scots Room - great 4 post bed, lots of room and awesome bathroom and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Went with friends for a spa day. The massage was great and the spa is lovely. We had a very nice afternoon tea in the Orangery. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
960 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing