We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, disappointing room”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, disappointing room”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

As stated in other reviews the setting here is lovely. When you approach you have a stunning view of a beautiful old castle. Unfortunately the rooms were disappointing, being very worn and threadbare with tears in the carpet and on the old sofa and side chair, stuffing showing through the holes. Had the sofa been comfortable (it was not) it would not have been a place to sit as it was too dark to read or knit. The wallpaper had numerous pieces torn/missing and was quite stained in one area. Bathroom was clean however had to ask for hand towels when they were not replaced. Coffee and tea were provided in the room but not replenished. Overall sense that they were understaffed and unable to attend to details.
Food was good and most staff were very pleasant. Had to wait almost an hour for breakfast on our last day, again appeared significantly understaffed.
Agree with a previous comment, the main stairs were very creaky and any room near the stairs would have been quite noisy.
Overall, a very high price for moderate accommodations and inconsistent service. Wound not recommend and would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    347
    186
    92
    89
See reviews for
223
758
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed there 1st time in 2007. There were a weeding that night and lots of noise. It seems that their main business are weedings, what just not make it a good place to visit and relax. It is more just like a big banquet hall with rooms.

Like the atmosphere and room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MF018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place has it all, history, architecture, gardens, birds of prey, outstanding food, wonderful staff, and a lousy bed. We got in it and thought that it was still from Elizabethan times. It was hard, lumpy, incredibly creaky and had no top sheet. The comforter was too warm, and it was too cool without it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We spent two days at the end of our Scotland vacation here. I were both looking forward to staying in a castle and this was above and beyond our expectations. We stayed in the De Ramseia Themed Suite which was perfect. The living area was a bit dark but the bedroom was perfect. The thought was definitely put in on lighting and placement. Probably some of the coolest features of the room, in my opinion, is that they left the original water well in place, the heated towel rack, and the domed ceiling. We felt like royalty staying there. Darryl, the porter, was more than helpful when it came to suggestions, calling a car, filling us in on the history, etc. the falconry was also interesting. We didn't spent too much time at the castle so we only got to see the owls in their cages but still worth a walk down. One thing that could have been a low was that the spa was closed and we found this out after we booked our reservation. Since we had no plans of using the spa, it wasn't a big deal. Definitely worth a visit or stay. Would be a perfect wedding location!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EBFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Dalhousie and we recently stayed there for 1 night with dinner included. The castle is located in the outskirts of Bonnyrigg so getting there is almost impossible via public transport unless you took a cab from Edinburgh (£20). Starting with the good:

Beautiful location and definitely has the wow factor on approach. "Proper" castle feel with great interior, falconery, friendly staff etc. Food is excellent, especially in the Dungeon restaurant and is highly recommended. The castle has several drawing rooms/library where you can chill out on chesterfield sofas etc.

Now on to the negatives...Price. The hotel definitely does not warrant the hefty price (£350/night inc dinner B&B) for what you get. The themed rooms with 4-poster beds are a nice concept, but the decor is often tacky and scruffy in too many places. For example, the wall paper is intentionally chosen as 'aged' design, but they are simply cheap printed ones and they were scuffed/ripped in many obvious places.
The bath tub was in a really bad state and with tiles/silicone covered in black mold, it wasn't nice at all. The sink tap had a knob missing, super-cheapo toileteries etc. Again, the decor of the bathroom wasn't done very well. Cheap reproductions of 'old/regal' look tiles and they just haven't pulled this off.
We were lucky that our room was on the top floor so we didn't hear any noise from the wedding, so I would recommend you check where your room is located as some rooms' entrances are right by the main/creaky staircase so you might be kept awake if you are a light sleeper. The venue is a very popular for weddings so that's something to be aware of.

Despite all this, I'd still give Dalhousie 4 stars because it's still a fantastic place and one that you will remember for a very long time. If you ever wanted to stay in a proper castle with great views/food, then Dalhousie won't disappoint. I hope the bathrooms get modernised and all the scruffy/shabby bits sorted.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up the castle to avoid the noise from the wedding. Avoid rooms that comes straigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shininghero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I will never forget my fabulous week at Dalhousie. The rooms were gorgeous, the food in the orangery was fantastic and the spa was so relaxing! Additionally The staff were more than accommodating! The hotel is well located to the city and just a short drive away!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were given a voucher for dinner at the dungeon restaurant for Christmas. Dalhousie was where we had our civil partnership in 2012 and had a fantastic day. The meal however was slightly disappointing. We had our amuse bouche and starters, both good, we had to ask for bread as we were not served automatically, the waitress was very apologetic. We then had the steaks, we both had asked for the steaks rare, however whilst mine was cooked perfectly, so that a knife slid through, my partners was quite tough, - we kept a portion of each and asked the waiter to show to the chef, that was the last we heard, no feed back from the kitchen.

On a separate note, a quick note to the owner - one of the reasons we chose Dalhousie for a civil partnership venue was the history and the fact that it still felt like a scottish castle. it was sad to see on our latest visit that a lot of the historical documents and photos from the castle had disappeared to be replaced by souveniers. Some of the new pictures seemed out of keeping also. I appreciate that a new owner wants to put a stamp on things, but please, please, please do remember that this is a historic Scottish castle!

All in all left disappointed with our evening, will we be back? - I'm not sure, maybe it's best to have the good memories.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDMF1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
961 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing