We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights to attend a wedding, we arrived on the Friday an hour and half before we could get into our room as our flight was early and getting the hire car etc. had been quicker than we expected. We asked if we could get into our room early, however, the receptionist did not try and accommodate this, even though it has been vacated she would not ask house keeping to go to the room next which was a little disappointing. While we waited we went for a walk through the forests which was lovely as it was a very sunny day.

When we got to the room, it was huge, although a little worn. We were right at the top of the hotel, which was good exercise, but also meant that the windows were very small and one of them was too high to reach so at times it was too warm. The bed was large but you could feel the springs so was either cheap or old. There was a sofa and chair in the lounge area which were extremely old and worn and there was a small TV. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure was good.

We used the spa, which was very relaxing we were the only people in there, and it had recently been refurbished. It is worth popping in, but I wouldn't make a special trip to use the facilities that are included in the room rate.

Breakfast was very good, although a little too formal. They had a cold buffet of cereal and continental breakfast and then a hot breakfast could be ordered. I personally prefer a hot buffet, but the food was very good.

Overall this hotel is very nice, it is a relaxing place to go as there is nothing within walking distance. It desperately needs updating and I would have been disappointed if we had to pay full price for the room as I do not feel that it would have been worth that. Luckily we got a special wedding rate.

The wedding itself was fantastic, its a beautiful venue, the service was good and the food was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxandsightsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Okay, I did not stay in the castle hotel but I did fly a hawk and it was awesome! The castle is far from anything, so you will need a car! We took the bus, from Waverly Train station, and then walked from the bus stop to the castle. It was a long walk! The grounds are lovely! The staff is friendly! The birds are wonderful! The Hawk Walk was well worth the money, and the time, and effort to get there! Loved it!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view since there really is nothing around except the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyc270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As stated in other reviews the setting here is lovely. When you approach you have a stunning view of a beautiful old castle. Unfortunately the rooms were disappointing, being very worn and threadbare with tears in the carpet and on the old sofa and side chair, stuffing showing through the holes. Had the sofa been comfortable (it was not) it would not have been a place to sit as it was too dark to read or knit. The wallpaper had numerous pieces torn/missing and was quite stained in one area. Bathroom was clean however had to ask for hand towels when they were not replaced. Coffee and tea were provided in the room but not replenished. Overall sense that they were understaffed and unable to attend to details.
Food was good and most staff were very pleasant. Had to wait almost an hour for breakfast on our last day, again appeared significantly understaffed.
Agree with a previous comment, the main stairs were very creaky and any room near the stairs would have been quite noisy.
Overall, a very high price for moderate accommodations and inconsistent service. Wound not recommend and would not stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed there 1st time in 2007. There were a weeding that night and lots of noise. It seems that their main business are weedings, what just not make it a good place to visit and relax. It is more just like a big banquet hall with rooms.

Like the atmosphere and room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MF018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place has it all, history, architecture, gardens, birds of prey, outstanding food, wonderful staff, and a lousy bed. We got in it and thought that it was still from Elizabethan times. It was hard, lumpy, incredibly creaky and had no top sheet. The comforter was too warm, and it was too cool without it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent two days at the end of our Scotland vacation here. I were both looking forward to staying in a castle and this was above and beyond our expectations. We stayed in the De Ramseia Themed Suite which was perfect. The living area was a bit dark but the bedroom was perfect. The thought was definitely put in on lighting and placement. Probably some of the coolest features of the room, in my opinion, is that they left the original water well in place, the heated towel rack, and the domed ceiling. We felt like royalty staying there. Darryl, the porter, was more than helpful when it came to suggestions, calling a car, filling us in on the history, etc. the falconry was also interesting. We didn't spent too much time at the castle so we only got to see the owls in their cages but still worth a walk down. One thing that could have been a low was that the spa was closed and we found this out after we booked our reservation. Since we had no plans of using the spa, it wasn't a big deal. Definitely worth a visit or stay. Would be a perfect wedding location!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EBFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Dalhousie and we recently stayed there for 1 night with dinner included. The castle is located in the outskirts of Bonnyrigg so getting there is almost impossible via public transport unless you took a cab from Edinburgh (£20). Starting with the good:

Beautiful location and definitely has the wow factor on approach. "Proper" castle feel with great interior, falconery, friendly staff etc. Food is excellent, especially in the Dungeon restaurant and is highly recommended. The castle has several drawing rooms/library where you can chill out on chesterfield sofas etc.

Now on to the negatives...Price. The hotel definitely does not warrant the hefty price (£350/night inc dinner B&B) for what you get. The themed rooms with 4-poster beds are a nice concept, but the decor is often tacky and scruffy in too many places. For example, the wall paper is intentionally chosen as 'aged' design, but they are simply cheap printed ones and they were scuffed/ripped in many obvious places.
The bath tub was in a really bad state and with tiles/silicone covered in black mold, it wasn't nice at all. The sink tap had a knob missing, super-cheapo toileteries etc. Again, the decor of the bathroom wasn't done very well. Cheap reproductions of 'old/regal' look tiles and they just haven't pulled this off.
We were lucky that our room was on the top floor so we didn't hear any noise from the wedding, so I would recommend you check where your room is located as some rooms' entrances are right by the main/creaky staircase so you might be kept awake if you are a light sleeper. The venue is a very popular for weddings so that's something to be aware of.

Despite all this, I'd still give Dalhousie 4 stars because it's still a fantastic place and one that you will remember for a very long time. If you ever wanted to stay in a proper castle with great views/food, then Dalhousie won't disappoint. I hope the bathrooms get modernised and all the scruffy/shabby bits sorted.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up the castle to avoid the noise from the wedding. Avoid rooms that comes straigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shininghero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
990 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range: £85 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing