We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in Room 6. Beautiful. The service was out of this world and the evening meal was the best we have ever tasted. I could not recommend this venue any more highly. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Any room will do.....just please visit. This venue is just perfect. The staff are a delight and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    342
    186
    91
    87
See reviews for
221
746
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We'd booked a themed suite for our wedding night (getting married elsewhere) back in December, checked a couple of months before our wedding day whether an early check-in would be possible to drop overnight bag off before our wedding because we'd be arriving late on the night of our reservation - reception staff said they'd make a note on our booking but couldn't guarantee this. Two days before our wedding day, I phoned after receiving confirmatory email of our reservation, to ask if early check-in was possible - only to be told our reservation would have to be cancelled due to a hotel policy that we were not aware of (don't allow more than one bride and groom to stay on the same night). Fuming! No help in finding an alternative venue to stay. Poor response from the hotel citing failings in their processes. That didn't help me get another hotel booked for our wedding night though did it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 1206nmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon in Europe - was a lovely castle on nice grounds. Lovely room with a little lunge area to relax in - lots of charm and character. Didn't dine here but did have breakfast which was very nice. Staff were helpful and overall it was a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had an amazing time at this hotel. My son and daughter-in-law celebrated their wedding here. The little chapel is perfect for a very personal ceremony. The hotel is beautiful and full of interesting and beautiful things. The staff were so friendly and very professional, nothing was a bother. Special thanks to Jill. She was so good at making sure everything was just perfect. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys feeling special. Thanks again

Room Tip: No lifts. Fabulous rooms, everyone is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was hoping for a truer castle experience. Instead, it is a fancy, modern hotel with some castle dining rooms. Definitely not worth the price. The food was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It is a very nice character hotel with some 40 rooms and 2 restaurants. It is our first stay in a castle and we stayed there for just one night but found it impressive. We went there after staying for 7 days at Edinburgh city centre and before we transitted to the Lake District. The taxi fare from the Royal Mile (near Ibis Hotel at the North Bridge) to the castle is about GBP23 (not GBP 18 as estimated by some others). We were at Room 15 (standard classic room) at the top floor - a small but clean and quiet room with view of the castle front. There was a wedding in the evening we checked in and the atmosphere was warm with laughters from the guests of the wedding party (but not noisy). The grand staircases are impressive, ideal for taking photos and videos. For guests with heavy luggages, avoid rooms at higher floors as there is no elevator and the staircases are fairly long. We reserved a table for dinner at the famed Dungeon Restaurant at the time of booking (we booked via thrid party online 3 months in advance). They allowed us to take photos/video throughout the Dungeon Restaurant before they started to serve dinner for the guests. Guests to dine in the Dungeon Restaurant were advised to wait at the Library for drinks (charged) and the menu some 30 minutes prior to the reserved time slot. Guests were expected to make order at the Library before entering the Dungeon. Allow 30-45 mins for staying in the Library as they need much time for preparing the drinks/food after the order. The food and service were fine but a bit on the slow side. The setting and dim lighting of the Dungeon Restaurant were spectacular and impressive for us -- a very quiet and romantic dining venue. Breakfast at the Orangery (another restaurant with big windows and glass roof) were fine as well. The reception staff of the castle were helpful but the night porter was a bit cool. They helped booking private hire to Edinburgh Waverly station after on our check-out upon our request and it was a fixed rate of GBP18. Free luggage storage after check-out is available. Falconry was interesting but overpriced. We knew of the haunted stories well before we arrived but our stay was peaceful and not disturbed! We also visited the outside of the castle ground rooms (which they called rooms at the Lodge) which are about 5 minute's walk from the castle. They were quiet but it appeared that guests staying there coundn't enjoy the lovely atmosphere and settings of the main caslte although the rate for the rooms at the Lodge was some 50% cheaper. It appears that booking with the castle direct is a bit cheaper and there is a greater chance of choosing the suitable room. The only shortcoming was that their free Wifi did not work well and connection was lost even we approached closer to the door of our room. A lovely and warm experience overall. Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 15 is small but decent and quiet (oveseeing the front view of the castle). For those who pursu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKBear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

first of all, it took a hour for us to explore all the hallways, staircases, hidden shortcuts and so on. Of course the very friendly staff would alwas help us. The room was cozy and lovely decorated, 76 stair steps above ground. We also liked the winter garden reataurant (Orangerie), its view, dinner and breakfast. We did not try the fine dungeon restaurant. Next time. The surrounding is beautiful, too. We found a couple of beautiful trails. The library also offers a nice view, drinks are being serves from a bar behind a hidden bookshelf door. We have been there for the first time, but hopefully not the last.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BEE239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Prestonfield
#4 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,105 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing