We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth a Visit”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 26 January 2006

We stayed in this hotel as we are thinking of getting married in Scotland. We had only seen photos on the net and as we have learnt to our cost these are not always a real reflection of the environs of out of city hotels. This hotel was beyond our expectations and better than we had imagined. Unlike one of the previous reviewers we thought it was very accessible and quite near Edinburgh but retained an isolated feel. We stayed in the lodge and it was lovely and literally a stones throw from the castle itself. The service is top notch and the library bar remained nicely quiet foe those cigar and single malt moments! My fiancee availed of the spa facilities and informs me they where of a good quality. Also with it being winter we expected the castle to be even a bit drafty-not a bit of it- it was very cosy. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
5 Thank TheThreeJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    339
    183
    91
    86
See reviews for
220
737
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 January 2006

We went to Dalhousie castle for Hogmanay Celebrations. The food was wonderful and the restaurant staff were the most polite people you could meet. As we paid £1400 for 3 nights stay I don't think we ever could have got value for money so it wasn't much of a surprise that it didn't live up to our expectations. If you can, book a castle themed room as people were raving about them. we stayed in the lodge which is a short walk over a narrow bridge and although it says there is a steam room and Jacuzzi they mean a bath big enough for two. The spa is only small and the staff were a bit rude Unfortunately, as the taxi's were all charging double fare we never got to see Edinburgh, only the airport.. my advise is go out of season and drive if you can.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2005

We had a great time here. The staff are very accommodating and we were given a "private tour" of the real dungeon and told some of the history which added to the whole experience. We had dinner in the dungeon which was alot of fun. The orangery doesn't sort of "fit" with the castle period but we had a nice breakfast, even if it was a bit noisy. We would stay here again, and would recommened it to anyone who wants something a bit different. Just a pity its so far away from the city of Edinburgh, which we didn't realise.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeilaJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2005

My daughter was married in the castle on October 30th 2005. What a wonderful day it was. From start to finish we were looked after and all felt that we could relax and enjoy the day. The chapel is beautiful and the food and service from staff was excellent. We had many guests who travelled from England and all are still enthusing about the magnificent wedding and the fabulous setting at Dalhousie. Many guests stayed overnight at the castle and all were very pleased with the accomodation and service. I would certainly recommend the castle as a splendid venue for a magical wedding.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMJEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 October 2005

This castle is magnificent. I was treated to a 2 night stay for my 40th birthday. We stayed in the Dalhousie room which I would highly recommend. The serice and food were excellent. A meal in the Dungeon restaurant is an absolue MUST. The castle is easy to find and is well signposted, being within easy reach of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 October 2005

It started off well enough. The gracious staff accomodated our early check in request, but our room was where the problem began. We faced the front of the hotel where the noisiest gravel known -- by both tire and foot -- was the first sound we heard in the morning and the last we heard at night. It was also difficult to get heat -- it being October and all. The smell of stale ciagarette smoke in the common areas did nothing to sweeten the pot. It appears that weddings are the specialty and the hotel services may fall to a secondary consideration -- but, we must qualify that by saying that for the most part the staff is notably considerate and quite good. Of special note, the falconry is excellent. The young lady who led us about is knowledgeable and congenial. The Dungeon restaurant was excellent as was the Library and secret bar. The Orangery was less predicatable. Although the location was very convienient for Edinburgh our next stay will probably be elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2005

Stayed here in September. This was my second visit within 5 years. We booked the same room as we stayed in 5 years ago. Robert the Bruce. Arrived in the middle of a wedding. Front desk checked us in and held our bags as our room was not ready. We came back after lunch and room was just as it was 5 years ago. Room is large and spacious. Window overlooks the river and woodland area. The king-sized bed is comfortable if you like soft beds - which I do. Sheets could be better (no pils) but were crisp and clean. Bathroom is large with shower and tub with large fluffy towels. Great hairdryer IN the bathroom (which you almost never see in Europe). The drapes are fading around the edges. The television is small. Book early for the Dungeon Restaurant - it books up quickly. The Orangery, which was a new addition since the last time I was there, was very nice with a lovely view. Menu is a little sparse and more frou-frou than it should be - but was very good. Breakfast was excellent. Service was impeccable and friendly. As there were weddings going on all weekend and a football game being watched in the room - I wanted a quiet place to read and one of the staff showed me to a more private salon. Just what I needed. We had a surprise visit by one of their ghosts one evening which was pretty exciting. The only real negative thing I can say is that they had a fire drill about 1 a.m. - at least that's what I think it was as there was no fire. They could have done that a little earlier. However, if there is a fire - you'll hear the alarm - it goes off really loud. I don't think I've dressed that quickly in my life. There are quite a few stairs around 50 to the room so book on the lower floors if that's a problem for you. Fresh flowers in the room would have been a nice touch. Paying $500 a night - you'd think they'd have fresh flowers in your room. All in all, I'd stay here again. But, I'll wait till the dollar is a little stronger against the pound.

Helpful?
15 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing