We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Once in a life time experience”

Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Bonnyrigg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Falconry, fishing, hunting experience, Edinburgh. Falconry available October-March, Fishing all year. Pick up service, no experience needed. All welcome. We have hills, valleys, woods, moorland and rivers all around us. Excellent ground for our hawks and also some great fishing spots. Join our experts on a falconry or fishing trip and bring a camera to catch all the action. Both our activities can be tailored to suit your needs. We can go hiking up the hills or a gentle woodland walk. For an excellent Christmas/birthday present we have gift vouchers and dvds available.
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Once in a life time experience”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My daughter and I went on a falconry hunting experience with Wild Days. Mik, the owner, gave us an excellent day out. It was like being welcomed into the hidden world of stalkers and poachers. Its all legal of course. I felt like a child walking through the woods again with anticipation, being aware of the world around you in a new way, working in partnership with a bird of prey and ferrets to catch a Rabbit. Mik was great, we were part of everything straight away, holding the bird, releasing the ferrets, etc. I don't think there are many people like Mik around, who have been hunting like this since they were a child and let you come and join them. This is the real deal. Professional, humane and real. Do it. Its worth twice the price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darius N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mik53, Owner at Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review on your Falconry experience. I had a great day out hunting with yourself and Megan. Scar and Kass behaved very well and it was good that you both got to fly them to your fist. I knew by your enthusiasm that you were having a great day, and we were all part of a successful team when Kass caught the rabbit at the end.

All the best

Mik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable hunting”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I'd highly recommend a trip hunting with Kik and his lovely hawks doing what comes naturally.
The knowledge he has and love and care for the birds are first class.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Markrobertson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mik53, Owner at Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks for your review. We had an excellent day with plenty of chases and also two rabbits caught. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best

Mik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible experience and a rare opportunity!!!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Mik picked us up from our hotel in Edinburgh and took us a few miles away to a beautiful setting in a Scottish national park.
We learned about the hawks and best of all got to watch Kass hunt a rabbit. He also brought along his newest hawk, Sky. She is just learning to hunt and so we had an opportunity to watch how young hawks are trained.
It was exhilarating to handle the hawks and walk with them perched on our arms.
Mik and Ross are great teachers and clearly have a keen knowledge about hawks and are happy to share this with others.
Thank you Mik and Ross for one of the best experiences we've ever had.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mik53, Owner at Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review about your falconry experience. We had a great day out with you both, considering our typical Scottish weather. Thank you for setting me up on Tripadvisor, photos and also for your business ideas. I appreciate them.

All the best

Mik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing