We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat in ‘The Retreat’” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Retreat Castle Rooms

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Retreat Castle Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Bonnyrigg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real treat in ‘The Retreat’”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights this week during a business trip and I have to say I wasn’t disappointed! If going back in time is your thing, cleanliness and first class service is at the top of your list, then look no further!

My room (2) was spacious, exceptionally clean, well equipped with TV and the usual coffee, tea etc. . The on suite bathroom was equipped with a super power shower and was spotlessly clean and beautifully tiled. The bed was probably the comfiest bed I have ever slept on with fresh crisp and clean linen. An excellent Wi-Fi connection in the room was a real bonus.

A very warm welcome on arrival and I was made to feel extremely comfortable throughout my stay, nothing was too much trouble and help and advice was always on hand.

There is no longer a bar or restaurant on site which I was advised about before booking but there are plenty of places to eat and drink locally. There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu and I can confirm that the end product was incredibly tasty and very well presented.
If I am ever working in that area again and needed a great place to stay, I would look no further than this place! A great find.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PorkchopLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    23
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
79
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We spent one night at the Retreat and thoroughly enjoyed it. Jude was lovely when I made the booking and her welcome and hospitality when we arrived was second to none. The hotel has recently changed to guest house status so was just run by Jude and her husband. We were thrilled with the welcome we received and the service and hospitality impeccable. The room was lovely and very comfortable with everything we could need. The Retreat itself if a amazing building and wouldn't hesitate to go back and spend a bit more time there.

The breakfast was gorgeous (full Scottish) and value for money was excellent.

We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abergavenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

well what can i say about this hotel,it was fantastic the staff were so friendly and nothing was a problem.The bar staff are so friendly (Trevor,Sophie and another lad which i cant remember name,sorry)the hotel was lovely and clean and the food was great ,drinks and food great value for money.Lots of locals use this hotel for food which is a good sign.Bus stops right outside hotel which was great for new year,the hotel bar did shut at 10.30 on new years eve but we went to another pub quite local called The laird and dog and had a fabulous night,again bus door to door,taxis were reliable and reasonable to.Thank you to Jude and her team and would go back any day.

Room Tip: we had the big four poster room which i think is room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleymorgan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Due to a last minute change of plans, I needed to find a room for 3 nights that was reasonably close to the airport for an early flight, and had wi-fi so that my husband could access the internet from his work computer.

Jude at the Retreat Castle Hotel got back to me within short time to offer me the accommodation that we needed.

When we checked into the hotel, she took us to the room that she had open for us, and had my husband immediately check the wi-fi. Although they had just installed a booster, there was no connectivity in the room, so Jude immediately put us into another room that had adequate wi-fi.
The place was booked with a wedding party, so we were lucky that there was another room available.

However, there was some sort of unusual odor in the room that affected my asthma. When we mentioned this at breakfast, Jude was more than happy to switch rooms, as the wedding party had left, and when we came back the next evening, we were shown to room 6 which was a huge room on the second floor which had a 4 poster bed. Our luggage had been moved for us.

Really, Jude and her husband went out of there way to assure our comfort, which we really did appreciate.

Breakfast is served downstairs in the conservatory. We were given several options from a menu to choose for breakfast. I highly recommend the porridge. I do believe that it was the tastiest that I have had while traveling through Scotland.

Even though our room was over the Pub, we were not disturbed by any noise. I will admit that our first room, room 2, was quite noisy due to the late night wedding celebration, but the website warns of that on the home page, and we knew that there would be a wedding, so I cannot fault the establishment for that.

Even though room 6 was large, it was cozy warm. The walls were decorated with some very entertaining pictures, and a variety of different shaped mirrors. It was definitely one of the most unique rooms that I have encountered. Amusing, to say the least.

The bathroom was large and came with a tub/shower combination. I did not like the bathroom in room 2 as the shower and sink share the same space and I am not used to getting my feet wet while brushing my teeth. Perhaps there is a trick to this that I am missing. But, room 6 came with a more user friendly bathroom in my mind.

Room 2's shower had some mildew in the grouting near the floor. Room 6's bathroom was brilliantly clean.

We were given two large bath towels, but only one hand towel, no washcloths.
Bath shampoo/body wash was supplied in the room.

There was a hospitality tray with tea and coffee and a package of cookies to enjoy.

The room was dark, even with all of the lights on. There is a large closet in the room, but no light inside. I was certain to pull all of my items out during daylight so that none would be missed in the dark of the morning as we had to depart early for my flight.

Parking is in a lot right in front of the hotel.
The doors are locked at night, and we were given a key to allow access should we come in late.

Peter was sure to call the room in the evening to ask if we would be coming down for dinner. A very nice gesture on his part to assure that we did not miss dinner if we were eating onsite.

I found Jude and Peter to be quite attentive and eager to make us comfortable.
The price was certainly reasonable for the accommodation that we ended up having.

Room Tip: Obviously, the rooms on the second floor are much larger than the ones on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Deciding to return to Scotland for a "minor" anniversary, we picked the Retreat Castle Hotel based upon its websites content.

Being a big fan of four poster luxury and non-standard decor, with an individual styling, it was a one horse race for us.

So we booked for three nights.

The hospitality is excellent and we will definitely return for future breaks.

Don't be put off by the 8 mile distance from Edinburgh. There is a park and ride facility, or if youre "treating" yourself, you won't mind paying the parking charges in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Rooms to suit all budgets. The Turret room (6) has a spacious layout with en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Qld
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Just what we wanted.... A nice quaint Castle Boutique Hotel for the start of a Scotland Heritage trip for our 8 year old Australian Grandson. Staff were very friendly, Breakfast Room Casual and nice food. Small Lounge/bar and comfortable surrounds. Room was great big enough with 2 4 poster double beds, the only thing missing so my Grandson said was the mesh curtain draping the bed.a great area 1/2 hour bus ride from Edinburgh, Bus stop right outside Hotel and grounds for Parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Welcoming,relaxing and a warm reception, this is an hotel with a bit of history "built in". My wife and I have stayed twice en route to Galashiels, and on our last stay we were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a four poster bedroom.

Great meals and quaint and relaxing bar are just what you need after a long drive from Inverness.

Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
0.7 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
5.7 mi away
Salisbury Green Hotel
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
5.3 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Castle Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Castle Rooms

Property: The Retreat Castle Rooms
Address: 1 Cockpen Road, Bonnyrigg EH19 3HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Retreat Castle Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family run Fairytale Castle close to Edinburgh City centre. With 5 quality rooms some with four poster and set in tranquil 1.5 acres with playarea and large gardens. Unique guesthouse offering genuine friendly hospitality only 6 miles from Edinburgh with direct bus route. Minutes from the City by-pass and near to Rossyln Chapel. Ideal location if you are going to a function or wedding in nearby Dalhousie, Meville, Oxenfoord, Borthwick or Crighton Castles.Set yourself up for the day with one of our hearty full Scottish breakfasts- all local produce.A warm wecome awaits you at the Retreat Castle Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Retreat Castle Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Castle Rooms Bonnyrigg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing