We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Retreat Castle Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Bonnyrigg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at The Retreat castle after a wedding at Dalhousie Castle, it was only about 3 mins drive from each other. I can honestly say our room (room 6) was much bigger and much nicer, than the rooms at Dalhousie ( I know this as I had seen two of my friend's rooms there). The mattress was AMAZING and I had such a comfortable sleep which was needed after much dancing at the wedding! The bedroom was huge and was decorated very nice. the bathroom was gorgeous and it had two stained glass windows in it. The colours in the bathroom in the morning with the sun shining through was lovely. The landlady was great, very welcoming. She remembered everyone's name that came down for breakfast and was interested in what their plans were for that day. The breakfast was really good, although I was wishing the potato scones were a bit bigger in size as I was enjoying them so much. No complaints at all and would suggest here as a place to stay to everyone!

Room Tip: Get a room with a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    23
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
79
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at The Retreat Castle just after Christmas, just my husband and I as kids were with Granny! Easy to find. A fantastic warm welcome from Jude, who explained how everything worked, how to get the bus etc - a fountain of knowledge! The room we had was beautiful, lovely comfortable 4 poster bed - cold at first but soon warmed up! You can come and go as you please and breakfast is served when you want it - and what a breakfast! I couldn't face the full breakfast after a Christmas of over indulgence but my husband enjoyed every mouthful! The Retreat is everything you look for in a B & B - great location, great bed, great breakfast and a lovely host! We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4 poster bedroom - a little more money but fabulous for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenMargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Well what can I say but fab, everthing from the host to the rooms and the breakfast.booked this hotel off the internet to go to a 50th birhday family celebration and would definelty go back, well worth the money, it is a gem thanks for having us.

Room Tip: We stopped in a twin and mother stopped in the double both very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you look for a castle to stay in Bonnyrig, look no further. Retreat Castle is a charming old building in a small village in Edinburg's countryside. It is at a 30 minutes' drive from the airport, and a 20 minutes' drive from Edinburgh old town centre.
You can book online, but you'll enjoy much more to book by calling. The lady of the house is charming and inviting from the start. When we arrived, the welcome was consequently warm and joyful. She had arranged two rooms, totally according to our wishes. And with the attentive touch of someone who listens to your needs and plans for a holiday weekend.
The hotel and the garden offer lots of detail and fun to enjoy. Breakfast is complete and tasty, practically a la carte...
My next time in Edinburgh may well be a re-treat in this hotel!

Room Tip: just explain what you need, she'll offer the best she has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay whilst attending a friends wedding. What a great place!! We stayed in a four poster room and it was beautiful. Jude was the perfect host and makes you really welcome, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is plenty and cooked fresh by Jude. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wethreerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just got home after a two night stay and have to say loved the place, the décor is quirky and really works. Everyone was really friendly and welcoming and the room (I had one with a four poster bed) was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed over August 25th bank holiday weekend 2013 and can honestly say how me and my partner enjoyed our stay. The friendly and accommodating landlady and landlord were brilliant. Rooms are kept to a high standard and breakfast was top notch. Definitely going back next time I'm up that way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
0.7 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Castle Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Castle Rooms

Property: The Retreat Castle Rooms
Address: 1 Cockpen Road, Bonnyrigg EH19 3HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Retreat Castle Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family run Fairytale Castle close to Edinburgh City centre. With 5 quality rooms some with four poster and set in tranquil 1.5 acres with playarea and large gardens. Unique guesthouse offering genuine friendly hospitality only 6 miles from Edinburgh with direct bus route. Minutes from the City by-pass and near to Rossyln Chapel. Ideal location if you are going to a function or wedding in nearby Dalhousie, Meville, Oxenfoord, Borthwick or Crighton Castles.Set yourself up for the day with one of our hearty full Scottish breakfasts- all local produce.A warm wecome awaits you at the Retreat Castle Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Retreat Castle Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Castle Rooms Bonnyrigg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing