We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Unique Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Retreat Castle Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Bonnyrigg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wonderful girlfriend booked this as a surprise birthday weekend. We were greeted by Jude at the door of this quirky, intriguing castle. This guest house is full of character and the owners are most friendly. Our room was fantastic with a cute turret, we both loved the decor. Our favorite bit was the four poster bed which was so comfortable, we struggled to get out of it for breakfast. The full breakfast was very filling which gave us the energy for a full day of activities and adventures. We couldn't recommend a stay here enough!

Room Tip: Room 6 - large four poster room. Best room available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maceddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Retreat due to the close location to Dalhousie Castle where a friend was getting married. I am normally such a difficult person to please but I have to say Jude went out of her way to make our stay the best, even texting to introduce herself and see if we needed directions.

Four poster room was a last minute upgrade which Jude made possible and we were front of house with a Juliette balcony (room 7). The bed was just amazing, really, really comfortable and I could have stayed there much longer. Shame the balcony wasn't accessible, window didn't open but I imagine this is intentional for safety reasons. Would be superb if this could be renovated with a door leading out.

Loved the locking ourselves in and out of the castle, gave it a very unique, safe feel. Creeping about in high heels at midnight was comical as the hotel feels so homely that you hope you don't wake the neighbours ;-) not a single complaint to be had.

Breakfast was superb with freshly brewed coffee in a massive cafetiere which was much required! Jude was so refreshing and lovely; there were renovations going on when we stayed but even these didn't impede on our wonderful experience.

Would stay here again and again. Excellent for able bodied guests; there are, however, barriers that would hinder an elderly or disabled guest such as the number of stairs but this is hardly to be avoided in such a beautiful and aged castle.

Thank you so much Jude, what a wonderful person and hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank viccid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at The Retreat castle after a wedding at Dalhousie Castle, it was only about 3 mins drive from each other. I can honestly say our room (room 6) was much bigger and much nicer, than the rooms at Dalhousie ( I know this as I had seen two of my friend's rooms there). The mattress was AMAZING and I had such a comfortable sleep which was needed after much dancing at the wedding! The bedroom was huge and was decorated very nice. the bathroom was gorgeous and it had two stained glass windows in it. The colours in the bathroom in the morning with the sun shining through was lovely. The landlady was great, very welcoming. She remembered everyone's name that came down for breakfast and was interested in what their plans were for that day. The breakfast was really good, although I was wishing the potato scones were a bit bigger in size as I was enjoying them so much. No complaints at all and would suggest here as a place to stay to everyone!

Room Tip: Get a room with a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at The Retreat Castle just after Christmas, just my husband and I as kids were with Granny! Easy to find. A fantastic warm welcome from Jude, who explained how everything worked, how to get the bus etc - a fountain of knowledge! The room we had was beautiful, lovely comfortable 4 poster bed - cold at first but soon warmed up! You can come and go as you please and breakfast is served when you want it - and what a breakfast! I couldn't face the full breakfast after a Christmas of over indulgence but my husband enjoyed every mouthful! The Retreat is everything you look for in a B & B - great location, great bed, great breakfast and a lovely host! We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4 poster bedroom - a little more money but fabulous for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenMargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Well what can I say but fab, everthing from the host to the rooms and the breakfast.booked this hotel off the internet to go to a 50th birhday family celebration and would definelty go back, well worth the money, it is a gem thanks for having us.

Room Tip: We stopped in a twin and mother stopped in the double both very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you look for a castle to stay in Bonnyrig, look no further. Retreat Castle is a charming old building in a small village in Edinburg's countryside. It is at a 30 minutes' drive from the airport, and a 20 minutes' drive from Edinburgh old town centre.
You can book online, but you'll enjoy much more to book by calling. The lady of the house is charming and inviting from the start. When we arrived, the welcome was consequently warm and joyful. She had arranged two rooms, totally according to our wishes. And with the attentive touch of someone who listens to your needs and plans for a holiday weekend.
The hotel and the garden offer lots of detail and fun to enjoy. Breakfast is complete and tasty, practically a la carte...
My next time in Edinburgh may well be a re-treat in this hotel!

Room Tip: just explain what you need, she'll offer the best she has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay whilst attending a friends wedding. What a great place!! We stayed in a four poster room and it was beautiful. Jude was the perfect host and makes you really welcome, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is plenty and cooked fresh by Jude. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wethreerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
0.6 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
990 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
5.8 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
4.3 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Castle Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Castle Rooms

Address: 1 Cockpen Road, Bonnyrigg EH19 3HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnyrigg
Price Range: £115 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat Castle Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat Castle guesthouse is family run and close to Edinburgh City centre. All our rooms are ensuite and have been tastefully decorated offering hospitality trays, hairdryer, ironing facilities, toiletries and free wifi. Unique guesthouse offering genuine friendly hospitality only 6 miles from Edinburgh with direct bus and train routes. Minutes from the City by-pass and near to Rossyln Chapel. Ideal location if you are going to a function or wedding in nearby Dalhousie, Meville, Oxenfoord, Borthwick or Crighton Castles. We pride ourselves on our freshly cooked to order Scottish breakfasts- all from local produce.A warm wecome awaits you at the Retreat Castle Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Retreat Castle Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Castle Rooms Bonnyrigg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing