We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night in the Stables”
Review of Rose And Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rose And Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Elham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed over for one night on the return leg of a gruelling roadtrip.. but after an excellent pub lunch , walk on the downs and a selection of fine ales soon felt much the better.
Breakfast .. the best of English !
The rooms , converted stables , were spacious and quiet although it was a Friday night and no lack of patrons.
The staff were very friendly and only regret was not being able to extend our stay to the caribbean seafood night..
Elham itself .. a ramblers paradise.


Will hopefully be able to re-visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Try the stables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Rose & Crown Inn for two nights as we were attending a wedding at a nearby wedding venue! Our room was massive with exposed beams and set apart from the Inn itself by a courtyard. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night followed by many drinks in the bar. The bar staff and the locals were all lovely and welcoming! Dinner was gorgeous - steaks cooked to perfection!

Full english breakfast was well received and just what the doctor ordered for a muzzy head!

From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of and staff went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel welcome! Elham is a charming, english town! A great stay! Thank you David & staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank st5om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The Inn is set in the heart of this charming village.

My room (106) was upstairs with a vaulted ceiling and exposed beams. Clean, comfortable ad warm (necessary as it was freezing outside!). The room was also very large!

most of the rrom apear to be in a separate block from the inn and set around a small courtyrad. Noise from the Inn was not a problem.

We were fortunate enough to be there when the courtyard was used on the Sunday for a local Farmers Market (ith a Christmas theme) which was an added bonus.

Breakfast was plentiful and very nice.

Room Tip: Room 106 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at the Rose and Crown for one night with our son. We had a family room which was very spacious and comfortable. The Inn is located in a beautiful quaint village, yet near enough to Canterbury and the White Cliffs of Dover. We had dinner at the Inn's restaurant and it was excellent. The service was very good and the people running the Inn were very kind. We were admiring the Spitfire beer glass and wanted to buy one for our other son as a gift. When we asked if we could buy one, the management simply gave us one. We had a very pleasant experience staying here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearljamfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed at the rose and crown for a weekend break. We found the rooms very spacious and clean and it was a real bonus that they are not above the pub so we had no trouble with noise. I must also say that the food was of a very high standard with a very inventive seasonal menu. We stayed here before a trip to france as it was close to the channel tunnel and we will definately be returning. Keep up the good work !!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnjones22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is a beautiful hotel in an excellent spot for the Channel Tunnel. But beware…..

In February I wanted two rooms for a night in August; a double and a twin. The double wasn't available so I took a Family room instead. I received no confirmation, so when I rang a couple of days before we arrived to check that the booking was alright, I was a little surprised to hear that we had just a family room. I asked about the twin, and was told that none was available as the hotel was full.

When we arrived, we booked in and were given one key, for a family room. There was again no mention of another room. We had a good meal (though service was dire), and all squeezed a reconstituted family into the family room. As we were leaving early in the morning, I settled up before we went to bed.

Imagine my surprise when an additional charge for £70 appeared on my credit card bill. When I asked the proprietor, I was told that this was for a twin room which I had failed to cancel! A long exchange took place, with Mr Pettit allegedly consulting with the staff member I had spoken to on the phone (who was off on a remarkably long – indeed apparently indeterminate – holiday). However, since he said that if the said junior staff member had in any way failed then he would have to pay the £70, there was only ever going to be one outcome to any such discussions.

Mr Pettit also told me that guests not taking up rooms they had apparently booked is quite a common occurrence at his establishment, and that they are always charged. Perhaps his stated policy of never confirming bookings contributes to this – after all, it is a nice little earner, so why should he change it? It seems, however, that even when his establishment so nakedly fails to provide, he still feels able to charge, and unfortunately, the way credit cards are set up allows him to do this.

I leave readers to draw their own conclusions about the honesty of this practice, and the wisdom of booking a room at this hotel. In the meantime I am pursuing a refund through my bank – though I do wonder whether the courts might be more appropriate, given the sheer brazenness of Mr Pettit’s behaviour.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nedludd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroseUk, Owner at Rose And Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2010

A real shame that a man can be so bitter about his own mistake !!.
This review was posted by this guest who had booked 2 rooms with us and only needed 1 so we charged him as our cancellation policy which is 48hrs notice as at no point did he attempt to cancel the second room. I would invite any of our guests to check our feedback on Late rooms.com or Booking.com as these are our booking agents and all our guests are invited to leave GENUINE feedback here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Used this Inn many times over the years since 2003 and always found it good, with cheerful staff good food and facilities. This Year 2010 it seemed to be under new management and the qualities that brought us back there every year were no longer evident.

Food was expensive and of very poor quality, in fact nearly inedible. 50% of what was served could not be eaten and had to be taken away. That which was left was itself awful. We asked for simple food, like Hamburger and chips, to be told it was not available, having to order from the restaurant menu rather than a pub menu.

The bed rooms where clean although the toilet had no hand soap, spare toilet roll or anything other than towels . The additional, third beds supplied as requested where not very good and in fact where broken, making for a most uncomfortable night for two of our party.

The staff where OK, one of them even helping with a set of jump leads and their vehicle to get another vehicle started.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elham
5.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,052 reviews
3.7 mi away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
5.9 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.0 mi away
Abbot's Fireside Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Marquis at Alkham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose And Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose And Crown Inn

Address: High Street, Elham CT4 6TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Elham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Elham
Price Range: £83 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose And Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the Rose & Crown Inn, Elham. (AA 4 Star). A traditional 16th century coaching inn with our main Restaurant and Bar situated in the main building. Our rooms were once stables from the days when the inn served as a coaching stop on the way from Folkestone to Canterbury. The accommodation is located ideally for visiting many tourist attractions and local sites. Elham is a delightful Kentish village nestled in the heart of the Elham Valley, a popular destination for walkers and cyclists, We are close to Canterbury, Dover and the Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and Sandwich.The pub itself was built in the 16th Century and features oak beams and open fires. The north end of the building used to be the local courthouse, and the first game of Bar Billiards in England was played here in 1935. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Rose And Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Inn Elham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing