We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous character in traditional setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbot's Fireside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Elham B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous character in traditional setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Lots of character & history, staff very friendly and helpful. Food good, generous, but cooked extras not cheap. Rooms well kept. Has free wi-fi for guests.
Restaurant on ground level very popular in daytime and doubles as breakfast room. 15C character maintained well.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    19
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
46
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had an overnight stay at the Abbot's Fireside. The hotel is absolutely delightful and full of character. The service was excellent and staff genuinely helpful and friendly. The host, John, was extremely welcoming and made the stay feel very relaxed. We didn't have our evening meal in the restaurant but tried another local pub, so are unable to comment about the food, however, we returned to the hotel later in the evening for very relaxing drinks in the snug bar. The continental breakfast in the morning was delicious and more than adequate, so we didn't need to order a full english. The village was charming and very 'olde worlde'. Everyone was very friendly. Yes, the building is old and creaky, but that is part of its charm and magic. Our room was very clean and roomy and seemed to have been renovated in keeping with the age of the building. My advice is, if you want new and square (without creaks) stay at a corporate hotel, but if you appreciate an older, historical place to stay in a quaint village, the Abbot's Fireside is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentMar_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

An amazing tudor building in a beautiful quiet village in a nice part of the world. Unbelievably friendly staff, great food, 3 ales on tap (gadds) and a lovely continental breakfast! We also took 2 bicycles with us which they allowed us to wheel through to the courtyard and lock up under cover which was nice! Strongly recommend both the hotel and restaurant!

Room Tip: Music from the restaurant could be heard in the rooms above, but was turned off before late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in August of 2013 as we were traveling for a wedding. We felt very welcomed by the staff and felt like one of the family by the end of our stay. The food was wonderful. The rooms clean. As this is an old inn the walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors or the dining room below. Not a bother for us at all.
So happy we were able to stay here and enjoy this little gem.

Room Tip: Know that the inn is old and quaint. Our room was above the dining room and faced the street. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband booked us in here as a surprise to me and we wasn't disappointed . We were made to feel so welcome from the start and nothing was to much trouble . The history of the Inn was lovely we loved all the slopping floors and tiny doors. Food was amazing we will most certainly be back and soon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metty36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff not just front of house ! the rooms are great plenty of character and very clean, the food was top class and reasonably priced, I have no reason not to recommend "The Abbots Fire side" to all who look for piece and quiet, good food and friendly staff.

Thank you

Nick and Michelle

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickaguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dipolog, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Yes, was OK, just not as good as expected. Dinner was fair/reasonable, bit too stodgy, bit overpriced... Bed a bit squeaky. Floor sloping. Breakfast next morning was excellent, however. So 5***** for that!

Room Tip: Mind your head if over 5ft tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elham
3.7 mi away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
7.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose And Crown Inn
Rose And Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Elham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Duke Of Cumberland
5.0 mi away
The Marquis at Alkham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Fireside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Fireside Hotel

Property: Abbot's Fireside Hotel
Address: High Street, Elham CT4 6TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Elham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbot's Fireside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abbot's Fireside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot's Fireside Hotel Elham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing