We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodnant Welsh Food Hayloft Restaurant

Bodnant Welsh Food Hayloft Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Tal-y-Cafn
Cuisines: European, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in the quiet estate surroundings with mountain views, our relaxed Hayloft Restaurant combines the very best of our estate grown foods and local produce to bring you a 'taste of Wales' right from our very own doorstep. The restaurant itself is a beautifully converted hay barn, with a rustic yet modern appeal and a menu designed to showcase the fantastic Welsh larder available. During seasons we have some rare and exciting meats on the menu that have been sourced from local farms, these dishes are lovingly designed to showcase the amazing local produce available. At Bodnant we pride ourself on the freshness and quality of our seasonal Menu. The bread is freshly baked in the Bodnant bakery, the fish and shellfish is locally sourced with passion wherever possible and prepared by our fantastic Chef, the meat on offer is from our butchery and our ice creams and cheeses for our puddings and cheese board are produced in our dairy. If you have any question about any of the food or farms that we have used the team would be happy to talk to you about our high quality produce we have on the menu for you.
Penmaenmawr
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Lovely goat cheese starter with very good size portion. Main course, really enjoyable and couldn't manage it all after huge starter and trying some creamy potatoes. Dessert enjoyable, again couldn't manage after previous two courses. All very rich could have done with a Sundae spoon really. Lovely wine and excellent service. First visit to the food centre would love to visit again someday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jocarupen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    142
    95
    59
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hayloft”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Visited for dinner with a group on 1st May. Bar area is nice but service was dreadful. Front of house walked off whist I was by the bar. Another member of staff arrived and placed some 30 used glasses on the bar counter, and there they stayed. I waited and the bar person returned but walked off to do something else before finally returning and serving me. When we finally ate the meal was very ordinary, rather forgettable. Who recruits their staff? They appeared stressed, not very welcoming and, dare I say it, untidy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank johnwcooke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxted, East Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superlative in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

What a wonderful place - most beautifully appointed to give a contemporary, relaxed and spacious atmosphere. The locally-sourced food was perfectly cooked - our steaks were melt-in-the-mouth and rare (so often, we ask for rare and get charred remains!) The wine list is extensive and very reasonable too, recommended by the lovely Tim Watson from the on site wine cellar, where we were tempted to purchase a few bottles! Best of all, the staff, who were without exception so attentive, courteous and helpful. We stayed for two nights and felt very well-cared for at all times. There was a little confusion with our booking which was dealt with immediately and professionally. We attended a morning's cookery course at the on-site cookery school, which was delightful too. Highly recommended all round. You'd be mad to miss it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crlncxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Went to the Hayloft as part of a birthday group of about 30 people. As this is part of the Welsh Food centre, my expectations were high. On the positive side, the setting is lovely and the Head Waiter is excellent. He was however sadly let down by the chef and kitchen team.
Whilst our group was a little late in getting seated, the service was very slow, we sat at just after 8 but didn't get our main courses until9.30.
We had a fixed menu, which at £23 was potentially good value. For starter I had whitebait , which was very nice, however there were only about a dozen, so a very small portion. For main I had Crochan of Welsh lamb, with Aberwen Cheese potatoes, this turned out to be a very small pot of Lamb casserole, which again was tasty but only about 3 mouthfuls, included in the pot was very runny, almost liquid mashed potato, a bit like school dinners! There were a selection of vegetables, which were not over cooked but were completely tasteless. finally I had a very small apple crumble, which was ok but again very small. At the other extreme, those guests who chose cheese and biscuits had 4 very large wedges of cheese, which most were unable to finish! absurd!
Other guests seemed to fair a little better with their choices but many still said they left hungry.
Left very disappointed and doubt on this experience I will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“First Class for Quality and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

All good. No complaints. Lovely home produced food off their own estate, bakery, butchery and dairy. Lovely restored old barn restaurant, nice atmosphere, spacious yet homely.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodnant Welsh Food Hayloft Restaurant also viewed

Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy County
Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy County
 
Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to Bodnant Welsh Food Hayloft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing