We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only tea room in area outside Bodnant Gardens”
Review of Furnace Tea Room

Furnace Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
birmingham
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Only tea room in area outside Bodnant Gardens”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Good menu, lovely decor in converted farm buildings.Spotlessly clean, child friendly.Good coffee.Liked ease of parking and large capacity in busy times.Nothing to complain about.Better to stop off here on the way to the coast or Snowdonia, only 10 mins off j 19 of motorway.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sanwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    30
    43
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Staff Training”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Visited today for afternoon Tea. Every empty table was covered in used crockery.At least a third of the tables were waiting to be cleared.When the crockery was cleared no attempt to clean the tables.No supervision and poor training

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tedstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Aiming high”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Furnace tea rooms are part of the recently developed Bodnant Welsh Food centre, not to be confused with the long established Bodnant Gardens run by the National Trust (although they are part of the same estate). The Food Centre is clearly aiming to provide excellent local produce. As well as the Furnace tea rooms, it includes the Hayloft Restaurant, a cookery school, farm shop and beekeeping centre.
The tea rooms are located in the tastefully renovated cowsheds. Our experience was of an interesting but pricey menu. The Welsh Rarebit was nicely done and well presented, as well as suitably authentic, and made for an excellent light lunch. The cheese is locally produced. The soup was tasty but accompanied by distinctly underwhelming white bread (no choice offered). Staff were efficient enough although verging on the brusque. As this was a quiet winter weekday it would be interesting to see how they cope in peak season.
As they are clearly aiming for a premium market, they will need to be excellent across the board. Although much was good or very good, there is a risk that details will let them down. That would be a shame.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“one word........... awful”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We thought we would give this place another try after hearing that they had a new award winning resident chef, (Dai Davies). Called in for lunch, we had to clear the previous occupants dishes before we could sit down. Menu has changed since our last visit, seemed to have improved.Ordered the House honey glazed ham with eggs and chips, and the Hearty Welsh Black beef cawl,together with a pot of tea. We had to ask the waitress for a clean cup as one of ours had a large stained crack in it,not only a health hazard but very off putting and dangerous. A small thing but easy enough to be seen by the person washing up and disposed of.We did not have to wait long for our meals. The cawl was delicious and very filling, but the ham??? it was a large pale pink piece of gammon, sitting in a pool of colourless liquid,it had not been anywhere near a pot of honey, it was tasteless and tough.I don't know what had been done to the eggs but they were hard and very dry.When we made the waitress aware of this she argued quite rudely, I feel that the staff should receive training in how to deal with customers and their complaints. We were very disappointed and will not return or recommend eating here to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rono53354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't order the beef”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just had lunch here, beef was awful . I was expecting a treat as it is a 'food centre' but the beef was so tough we left large chunks as we couldn't cut it or chew it any more. Staff came nowhere near but quickly cleared our half eaten meals after we left. Very disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller15001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Furnace Tea Room also viewed

 
Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy County
 

Been to Furnace Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing