We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change of management makes an awful difference... unfortunately”

Bodnant Garden Pavilion Tearooms
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Tal-y-Cafn
Restaurant details
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Change of management makes an awful difference... unfortunately”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We are National Trust members and have been coming to Bodnant Garden for years.

Unfortunately, the recent changes at the Tearooms have been for the worse, which is rather sad.

The choice of food has decreased, but more importantly, the quality has gone down considerably. We first noticed last year when the homemade hot pot changed; tasted bland, less beef, smaller portions and accompaniment such as salad was nowhere to be seen. Previously, the hot pot was also contained within a pastry bowl, this alas was removed.

Anyway, this time around we ordered a carrot and coriander soup, unfortunately it was watered down and bland.

The main meal, pork chop and vegetables was dry with such small portions. There was hardly anything on the plate!

And the dessert, a lemon meringue was again bland. There was no lemon/curd flavour, it was just a tasteless gelatin slab. Obviously scrimping, as we have had the meringue before the management change and the difference is night and day.

The Tearooms need to go back to providing more flavoursome, specialised, homemade food, not what is currently on offer, which pretty much amounts to the food you get at a supermarket cafeteria but at extortionate prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skand W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden Pavilion Tearooms, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Many thanks for your review. Firstly, I would like to apologise for what would seem to be a rather disastrous experience you had here in our Pavilion Tea Room. We do take Customer Service extremely seriously and nearly all of our staff and volunteers have just completed an intense half day course, so I was very disappointed to read that, on this occasion we, failed you.

On the plus side; you are very very welcome to bring a picnic into the Garden. This is a very new occurrence as previously picnics were not permitted. And there is always the option of treating yourself to an ice cream!

Do call Pietro, our Catering Manager and he will be happy to arrange for your disastrous meal to be refunded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    57
    35
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
285 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR: BRING A PICNIC”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place is one of the worst cafés we have visited. I notice that other people have also complained but it seems that the owners couldn't care less about customer service and food quality. My wife ordered Welsh rarebit and when it arrived, it consisted of one piece of burnt toast with hardly any topping. She sent it back and the second attempt was no better and she did not even eat it. To make things worse, they had the audacity to charge £ 6.90 for such rubbish. Furthermore, the waitress (an elderly and slim lady) was plainly indifferent and I never knew if she was able to smile at all. If the manager of this place thinks that they serve good quality food s/he obviously needs to get out more and learn about good food.

All in all, never again; an extremely poor attempt at service considering the standard of the beautiful gardens and the friendly staff. Avoid this terrible place at all cost; just use the toilets next door.

PS. May I ask the manager to refrain from replying if the purpose is to justify their rubbish

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden Pavilion Tearooms, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are sorry that you where so very disappointed with the changes that have taken place here at Bodnant Garden. We change the menu on a weekly basis and consider the quality a priority as well as adhering to the standards set by the National Trust.

We are sorry that you didn’t make yourself known to us and spoken to a member of staff who would have been better placed to deal with your complaint immediately

If you have the opportunity to come back to us we would be more than happy to reimburse the value of your purchase on the day in question.

If you would like to discuss this, or any other catering matter, do please call Pietro, our Catering Manager on 01492 651 924
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
198 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Bland soup!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed with the catering at this wonderful National Trust site compared to others. The lentil soup was totally bland, not made with any stock. Welshcakes were bone dry, but the coffee was good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden Pavilion Tearooms, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Rachel

I don't think you dined in the Bodnant Garden Pavilion Tea Room (belonging to the National Trust) as we have never served lentil soup. Our Welsh Cakes (one of my favourites) are kept in an air tight container to keep them fresh.

I think you may have visited our neighbour Furnace Tea Room.

If you'd like to discuss this further do call The Pavilion Tea Room on 01492 651924
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
570 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“small basic cafe”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Clean and bright surroundings basic but fine. They stop serving any hot food about 3pm which is early but they have sandwiches and cakes. I did consider a salad but really feel that more than £8 for a quite basic salad is excessive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden Pavilion Tearooms, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are sorry to hear that on this occasion you where disappointed with our high quality service which we believe we provide. We feel our salads are plentiful and good value money and therefore the price is a reflection of our made in house quality products.

We serve hot and cold food and cakes from 10.00am until 5.00pm of course the choice varies due to demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Soup with a smile!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Purpose built facility with character - good service, very clean and
sensible food/refreshments with a friendly staff team.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterFleming187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodnant Garden Pavilion Tearooms also viewed

 
Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy County
Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy County
 

Been to Bodnant Garden Pavilion Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing