We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"OK only"”
Review of The Roman Camp Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roman Camp Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed one night for B&B.

Firstly, the negative: only upon receiving a confirmation by post were we informed that check in was 2pm. We needed the room lightly earlier as we were attending a wedding nearby which started at 2pm. I immediately rang the hotel and was told that that would be fine but there was an additional charge of £10. I was disappointed as surely the hotel could have absorbed this as a gesture if goodwill. But no. I suggested cancelling the room but was Informed in no uncertain terms that there would be a cancellation fee of £40. Disgraceful. What happened to customer service! The hotel wouldn't budge! They said they had to pay their staff extra. Rubbish!! When we stayed there was very few people booked in. They could easily have ensured a room could have prepared at no addition charge - they just wanted to profiteer.

The room was small but adequate and possibly refurbished in recent years. The bathroom was equally small but most definitely NOT refurbished in recent years, a low grade suite, cheap soap and shampoo, cheap towels too. The shower (over the bath) was the opposite of a 'power shower' and had a old fashioned curtain rather than a screen.

The staff were friendly. We requested an iron and it immediately appeared. I visited reception twice but no one was there but they appeared within minutes and were helpful.

The Full English Breakfast was adequate and tasty but nothing special. Cereals were of those individual tiny boxed variety. If you want toast, you have to make it yourself - not exactly what you would expect even at a low grade b&b!

The gardens are nice and there's plenty of car parking - but then there were very few people staying there when we visited - may be "once bitten, twice shy" as they say!

Over priced compared to similar hotels in the area for what you get, and an attitude problem.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardOldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We are sorry that you found it inconvenient and unacceptable that we could not offer you an 11.00 am check in. It seems sensible to me that very specific requirements should be negotiated with us before bookings are confirmed. You were notified in advance of your arrival that our check in time is 2.00 pm but were offered the option of checking in 2 hours early; we think that a small additional charge to cover special arrangements is perfectly reasonable as is our cancellation fee. It is necessary to have a regular check in time. Our Housekeeping arrangements require a minimum period between check out of previous guests- quite often late and check in of new arrivals.
Your stay with us was arranged to facilitate your attendance at a wedding venue nearby. Wedding Guests from this busy establishment are recommended to use RC for accommodation and it wouldn't be possible for us to offer very early check in potentially to several rooms at once and on a regular basis. Your requested check in at 11.00 am would be unlikely to be offered by any other establishment in our category.
Styles of shower curtains are a matter for individual preference and our very recent AA inspection on 21 August 2013 included the comment (Modern Bathrooms also impressed) Boxed Cereals are preferred by many guests on hygiene grounds. It was pleasing that you found the staff very friendly and helpful and the Gardens enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Because of various family circumstances we (myself and my wife) needed somewhere to lodge for 4 weeks in the North Norfolk area. We suddenly remembered the Roman Camp Inn as we had stopped a couple of times for lunch in the previous 12 months. Each time the food was superb and the staff were brilliant! Because of our length of stay we were offered a very generous tariff even though it was the height of the Summer season. Under the watchful eye of Vanessa this is an extremely well run establishment and the number of awards are testament to the hard work put in by the management and the staff. But this was not just a fleeting overnight stay or a long weekend but a 28 night stay so you can imagine I was able to look into every 'nook and cranny' so to speak. Our room was spotless and cleaned to a high standard every day (I'm a bit of a fusspot when it comes to hotel rooms). There is WiFi throughout the rooms with tea & coffee facilities. Because of our length of stay we more or less sampled the entire menu in the dining room and enjoyed every meal. The kitchen brigade did a fabulous job. And Afternoon Tea was very pleasant especially sitting outside overlooking the lovely garden and terrace. We managed to get to know all the staff and they got to know us and nothing was too much trouble for them. The staff are all quite young but very competent, professional and friendly. Tomorrow is our last night here and quite frankly it's going to be sad to say goodbye but we will return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you Stephanie and Richard for taking the time to write such lovely comments and for choosing the Roman Camp Inn for your long stay . It gave us the privilege to get to know you and we feel very honoured to have taken care of you , what a lovely couple you are. We shall look forward to seeing you both again soon. Maybe in Dec.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked our 5 night stay back in April when we stopped off for a meal at the inn.When we arrived on August bank holiday Monday, we were greeted by the owner who made us feel very welcome indeed.We had decided to bring our cycles along so we could enjoy the area by bike and we were not disappointed.The inn's location is ideal for the coast or the quiet lanes of Norfolk.During our stay we enjoyed several evening meals in the bar & restaurant,all meals being very good & presented well.Our room could not have been more comfortable with a high standard of decor & cleanliness.It is quite obvious that all the staff at the inn are a team,from the clean & tidy appearance of the inn from the start of every day to the meals in the bar & restaurant plus the professionalism behind the bar.It is refreshing to find a gem of a place with such good standards.

Colin & Liz,
Newark Notts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooks81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments Colin and Liz. The team here feel very honoured to take care of you both. You seemed very active everyday that you took your cycles out along the country lanes , we were pleased that you didn't get lost but would assist if you did. All the very best and see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner an I loved this place .it was perfect for our first of many weekend away exploring different areas of the uk . This inn was so relaxing the beer garden was a sanctuary to peace an quiet. The food was excellent ,the staff very professional an helpful.we will defiantly be back here again soon . Central for a lot of norfolks holiday attractions.

Room Tip: The two day special offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments. We were very pleased to find that you enjoyed our secret garden at the rear of the inn and on the special two day break package .
For next time you visit you can stroll a little further through the garden gate you can also enjoy the private Walk to Felbrigg Hall another romantic spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have been coming to norfolk for over 11 years on work business and I have just DISCOVERED the roman camp inn,seems I must have missed this place as I have always travelled along the coast road!!
Booked a room at the roman camp for one night and received a warm WELCOME, the rooms were lovely and the food was to my likening, excellent breakfast
Refreshingly DIFFERENT to some of the places I stay, this will be my first choice of accommodation when I am in this area in future

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrunnerPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to hear that you eventually found us and so easy too. Inland slightly makes a difference . I know your rather large vehicle was well taken care of and in a very good private parking space. Now you have found us and we have found you ,we do look forward to seeing you again when youre next on your travels to Norfolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Very clean and attractive bar and dinning area. Good choice of meals on the menu. When we visited the entire staff were rearranging tables next to ours to accommodate a party of 8. This resulted in much scrapping of tables and chairs on the floor whilst they tried different combinations. During this our needs (drinks) were totally ignored and it wasn't a very relaxing experience. I went to the bar 4 times before a waitress realised what I was doing. The result of the table rearranging was that the party of 8 were so close to our table one couldn't squeeze through the gap. During the meal another large party arrived; more table moving. Us and the family in the corner behind us were now blocked in by the two large parties. We had to ask people to stand up mid meal so we could leave.
Good food but not a pleasurable or relaxed experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DavidBrocklesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

On the evening of the 5th July we had a party of 8 arrive for an 80th Birthday party celebration but asked if they could have a square table so they could all face each other which meant us having to rearrange the table that we had already allocated for them. We are aware that moving a table in the middle of service is not ideal but still trying to please we did but there was no scrapping of tables but gently turning the table around. Yourself and one other table were seated at this time 7pm. We know which table you ate at and we are disappointed that we spoilt your dinning experience. We do hope this does not deter you from eating with us again especially when you enjoyed our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

arrived here and decided to have our lunch here .
staff all smart and very proffesional the adnams beer superb bar man very good polite and informative .
lunch was very good , quality ingredients used my one complaint bit small .
decor is good . would like to stay here over night and will do if the rooms are a good as the beer and the food count me in .

Room Tip: get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank geoff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your review it was very nice to hear that you had experienced quality over quantity which goes unrecognised sometimes and doesn't get appreciated. We look forward to meeting you when next on the Norfolk coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
5.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Eiders Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roman Camp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Norfolk/Aylmerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing