We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, as always!”
Review of The Roman Camp Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roman Camp Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed at the Roman Camp Inn on a few occasions and it has been a pleasure every time. They have very helpful and friendly staff, beautiful rooms and a lovely garden. The food is exceptional and they have an great gluten-free menu.
A perfect place to enjoy a short or long break. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketleyhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review, it is always rewarding for the team and builds there confidence when customers appreciate what we carry out at the Roman Camp inn. Service with a Smile is most important and especially the food. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here beginning April. Rooms a little basic but beautifully decorated and clean. Fantastic breakfast and the restaurant food was lovely. Nice little bar with lots of regulars and visitors. Marnie made everyone feel welcome. Had a little issue with flies but I believe that's the time of year and the fruit fields nearby. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear onto the car park. We had room 15. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fropuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Roman Camp Inn. We are glad you had a fantastic breakfast as this is the most important meal of the day. The room which was booked by yourselves was a standard Double room which can be a little more basic than the deluxe rooms.
We are glad that you enjoyed your wedding and look forward to greeting you again when in the Norfolk area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We dined here recently as a family group. The menu was very promising but we all felt the food was not of the standard expected. Three of us had the steakburger which was of very poor standard, being dry and tasteless, and was actually quite expensive. I would not eat here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank penny097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review. We were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us at the Roman Camp. If only you had mentioned at the time of eating that you had disliked your burger then you would of given us full opportunity to rectify any complaint that you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Called in here for lunch, and very pleased we did. Dining available in the restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the garden. Very pleasant surroundings. Service was attentive and efficient. Food was good quality and well presented. A good place to eat if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch along with our beautiful terraced gardens. When you next visit Norfolk we do hope that you will return for lunch and maybe even stay overnight with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a quick stop for beer and snack and was very pleasant. Good place to unwind from a long drive. Would definitely be back. Great area too, very central to other places, such as shops, National Trust and activities with the kids

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's lovely to hear that you found us for a pint and a quick bite to eat after your long journey. Our gardens (weather permitting) are a great spot to sit, relax and soak up the sun. We do hope that when you are next in the area you will visit us again as we have just started serving from our Summer Menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Over the past few years we have stayed regularly at The roman camp Inn and have always been pleased with the service, staff and the way everyone looks after us. The rooms are lovely, the food is lovely and the gardens are nice to walk around in.
Upon arrival on our latest visit there was a wedding reception taking place, but still Vanessa and her staff had time to come and welcome us again.

Room Tip: we have stayed in various rooms upstairs and downstairs my favourite has been room 2 which we find v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Peter, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to us. We are so pleased that you and your wife have returned and that you both had an enjoyable 3 days. We will keep in mind for your next visit that your favourite room is 2. We look forward to seeing you both in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went here for a friends wedding, (see 216KPrice) the staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are nice and comfortable and in keeping with the building. The gardens and outside area is very well thought out, we had a great time.

Room Tip: We had room 5, it's at the front but the noise from the road is OK, and dont worry the light at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shantaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Room 5 is at the front of the Inn , but has the best view from the bathroom over the garden and country side. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the hospitality from our team . We look forward to meeting you again if you are in the area in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
3.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
775 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
663 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Pigs
The Pigs
#1 of 28 in Holt
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eiders Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roman Camp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Norfolk/Aylmerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing