We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a wedding”
Review of The Roman Camp Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roman Camp Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great venue for a wedding”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a wonderful venue for a wedding. The weather was exceptional so we could all enjoy the beautiful and extensive garden. Perfect for guests to relax and mingle and children to explore and play. Food was excellent and cheerful service provided by all staff. Comfortable clean accommodation.
Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HelenB186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for all of your kind words of exactly how the Inn is. It was such a beautiful day for a wedding The flowers in the garden made a lovely back drop for the wedding photos. The weather being sunny all day made the evening exceptional and everyone enjoyed the different scents from Honeysuckle, roses and herbs in the garden as well as a Hog Roast
Do try and get back to Norfolk to come and stay with us again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    82
    27
    18
    10
See reviews for
59
115
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed at the Roman Camp Inn on a few occasions and it has been a pleasure every time. They have very helpful and friendly staff, beautiful rooms and a lovely garden. The food is exceptional and they have an great gluten-free menu.
A perfect place to enjoy a short or long break. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketleyhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, it is always rewarding for the team and builds there confidence when customers appreciate what we carry out at the Roman Camp inn. Service with a Smile is most important and especially the food. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here beginning April. Rooms a little basic but beautifully decorated and clean. Fantastic breakfast and the restaurant food was lovely. Nice little bar with lots of regulars and visitors. Marnie made everyone feel welcome. Had a little issue with flies but I believe that's the time of year and the fruit fields nearby. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear onto the car park. We had room 15. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fropuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roman Camp Inn. We are glad you had a fantastic breakfast as this is the most important meal of the day. The room which was booked by yourselves was a standard Double room which can be a little more basic than the deluxe rooms.
We are glad that you enjoyed your wedding and look forward to greeting you again when in the Norfolk area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We dined here recently as a family group. The menu was very promising but we all felt the food was not of the standard expected. Three of us had the steakburger which was of very poor standard, being dry and tasteless, and was actually quite expensive. I would not eat here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. We were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us at the Roman Camp. If only you had mentioned at the time of eating that you had disliked your burger then you would of given us full opportunity to rectify any complaint that you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Called in here for lunch, and very pleased we did. Dining available in the restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the garden. Very pleasant surroundings. Service was attentive and efficient. Food was good quality and well presented. A good place to eat if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch along with our beautiful terraced gardens. When you next visit Norfolk we do hope that you will return for lunch and maybe even stay overnight with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a quick stop for beer and snack and was very pleasant. Good place to unwind from a long drive. Would definitely be back. Great area too, very central to other places, such as shops, National Trust and activities with the kids

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's lovely to hear that you found us for a pint and a quick bite to eat after your long journey. Our gardens (weather permitting) are a great spot to sit, relax and soak up the sun. We do hope that when you are next in the area you will visit us again as we have just started serving from our Summer Menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Over the past few years we have stayed regularly at The roman camp Inn and have always been pleased with the service, staff and the way everyone looks after us. The rooms are lovely, the food is lovely and the gardens are nice to walk around in.
Upon arrival on our latest visit there was a wedding reception taking place, but still Vanessa and her staff had time to come and welcome us again.

Room Tip: we have stayed in various rooms upstairs and downstairs my favourite has been room 2 which we find v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Peter, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to us. We are so pleased that you and your wife have returned and that you both had an enjoyable 3 days. We will keep in mind for your next visit that your favourite room is 2. We look forward to seeing you both in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
3.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
2.2 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roman Camp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Property: The Roman Camp Inn
Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Norfolk/Aylmerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing