We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful for a stop to eat”
Review of The Roman Camp Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roman Camp Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stopped here for some lunch, walking in we were greeted by two nice people behind the bar who welcomed us and informed us that there was a garden at the back and we set up a tab and ordered drinks. The gardens are first class and extremely peaceful. Menu wise, you can pick from sandwiches to main meals, they also serve a reasonable afternoon tea. You need to note that all the food is made FRESH to order so you could wait up to 30 minutes for it. We both ordered the roman camp steak burger, it was very good value for money, you can tell its fresh and it tasted wonderful. The portions are generous and we shared a dessert of home made chocolate ice cream. This place is a little gem and we would definitely look at renting a hotel room in the future and we will most certainly be back for the food and great service!

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Lizski85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are very pleased that you found us on route .We are still finding lots of customers who pass the Roman Camp Inn but have never realised that we are not just an Inn but with accommodation as well and good food as our previous reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely friendly atmosphere and great rooms. We loved our 4 night stay and wish we could have stayed for longer. We enjoyed leisurely breakfasts, daily walks and cappuccinos at the nearby Felbrigg Hall and afternoon drinks in the sunny hotel gardens. We also travelled with a young baby and the hotel could not have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SandstoneKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review .We are situated in Aylmerton which is only a walk away from Felbrigg Hall and Majestic Wood with lovely surrounding Gardens. The Hall can be accessed from our private fields at the rear of our Garden which makes a lovely walk for any of our Hotel Guests to enjoy like yourselves. We are pleased to hear you also enjoyed our garden and grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have now eaten (lunch) here three times, from a full meal to sandwiches, but at quite at different times of day. Nice selection of food, pleasantly served and good value for money. A good stop off point when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ExpatComfortLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to stop at our Inn on three separate occasions and we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and found it great value for money which is so important these days. Situated on the A148 between Cromer and Sheringham is very ideal for those who don't want to get caught in the traffic around the towns.
look forward to seeing you next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A friendly welcome on arrival Very comfortable,clean room. Helpful staff in the dining room for Breakfast and Evening Meal. Beautiful, restful Gardens and sunny Patio at the rear. Also beautiful view from the Car Park! One can see why the Romans chose this too! From The Roman Camp I had a choice of places to visit, set so near one of Norfolks highest areas.

Room Tip: Always comfortable. One or two smaller downstair rooms do have morning traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for writing such a lovely review and yes we agree that our garden is beautiful and some of the views from the rear of the building across the fields are lovely. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were upgraded to a more expensive room than we'd booked, which was very comfortable and had recently been refurbished. We did not use the restaurant other than for breakfast and found it rather dingy compared to the standard of the bedroom and the breakfast was rather disappointing both in terms of quality and quantity. Given the price of the B&B package I would say this was poor value for money.

Room Tip: Opt for the lower priced rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. The room which was allocated to you was an upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite which is a very nice room which we are pleased you enjoyed at no extra cost. Your rate for your stay was £50.00 per person bed and breakfast. We do wish you had spoken to the breakfast waitress if you wished to have more cooked breakfast than we normally serve. The Restaurant has a tiled floor and Wood panelled walls as our webpage clearly shows. You forgot to mention our beautiful garden which we do hope you had chance to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a wonderful venue for a wedding. The weather was exceptional so we could all enjoy the beautiful and extensive garden. Perfect for guests to relax and mingle and children to explore and play. Food was excellent and cheerful service provided by all staff. Comfortable clean accommodation.
Many thanks

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HelenB186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for all of your kind words of exactly how the Inn is. It was such a beautiful day for a wedding The flowers in the garden made a lovely back drop for the wedding photos. The weather being sunny all day made the evening exceptional and everyone enjoyed the different scents from Honeysuckle, roses and herbs in the garden as well as a Hog Roast
Do try and get back to Norfolk to come and stay with us again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed at the Roman Camp Inn on a few occasions and it has been a pleasure every time. They have very helpful and friendly staff, beautiful rooms and a lovely garden. The food is exceptional and they have an great gluten-free menu.
A perfect place to enjoy a short or long break. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketleyhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review, it is always rewarding for the team and builds there confidence when customers appreciate what we carry out at the Roman Camp inn. Service with a Smile is most important and especially the food. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
3.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
652 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roman Camp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Norfolk/Aylmerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing