We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our five days at The Eiders”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eiders Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Charming hostess as other reviewers have commented.Tea and cakes on arrival which were most welcome after a four hour drive in scorching sunshine.What a breakfast! More than I could eat and had to ask for reduced portions..absolutely delicious. The ducks provided much entertainment during our stay.A very convenient location, handy for Cromer, Sheringham and the coast road to Blakeney. Pub for evening meals is just a short walk down the road.Gave 4 stars, should have been 5 but our room didn't have a window and as it was so hot we had to sleep with the patio door open, however we didn't have any intruders!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Eiders is our second home, we have had many visits; all as pleasing as the others. The best hosts ever, lovely swimming pool (heated by solar panels), amazing ducks to feed with cute ducklings. We went in the pool every day and it is good itself as a swim but also to cool off after a hot day. Caroline and James are always willing to help with the assistance of their children (very good). It definitely lives up to its five star rating. Brilliant location with varied sea-side towns around and a lot of attractions, places to visit and places to eat like the Dormy Hotel which is excellent (they just happen to own that too). The gardens of the old vicarage in East Ruston is a nice place to visit with it's 32 acres. The Eiders is and excellent place to stay with the most spectacular hosts making nice breakfasts.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are clean and nice, the luxury room is extremely luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Lovely hosts and hospitality with wonderful rooms and little extras!! We love the heated pool, breakfasts, ducks and especially the ducklings (they are so cute). Our 5th visit is definately not going to be our last!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at Eiders. WE had a superior room which was very spacious and clean. Large shower room which again was spotlessly clean. Landlady very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. Only two observations which mean I gave "very Good " rather than excellent rating. The TV did not appear to have a signal. There was a TV in the dining room which also had Sky but the room TV didn't seem to work. Also could do with a heated towel rail in the bathroom so towels can be dried for use again. Have to say though breakfast was excellent, better than many 4 star hotels. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A very warm welcome greeted us Tea and cake soon provided The residents ducks expecting their share We were very impressed the following day when a supply of our favourite tea had been provided in the room Thats what I call service Don't be put off my the muddle of signs at the bottom of the drive We will visit again

Room Tip: We had Room 1 It was the luxury double but worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I must say that we were slightly put off on arrival by the physical appearance of the B&B, driving up a dark tree-covered track into a slightly shabby parking area round the back.

Fortunately the warmest of welcomes banished brief concerns - and, indeed, the extremely friendly service and attention from both Caroline and James is a very strong feature of this B&B .

Breakfasts are 100% excellent, varied and thoughtfully-served. The only tiny downside is the need to decide the night before which of the excellent 7-8 choices of specially-cooked/prepared dishes you will want in the morning and when - but that is simply necessary in order to offer properly cooked breakfasts at the right time.

Our room itself was a minor disappointment, largely because of the contrast with the place we had stayed the previous night - but it offered perfectly reasonable and clean facilities to a decent B&B standard. The balcony overlooking the (20+?) ducks is a bit cramped but the distance views from that side of the property are far-reaching. We hadn't considered the potential impact of noise from the ducks on our sleep but, in the event, they were quieter than initially feared.

The location is excellent, being a very short drive from several nearby towns; the only downside is that there is only one pub/restaurant in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Consider carefully whether you want to be near the ducks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EE_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Myself, my pregnant wife and 2 year old daughter stayed 3 nights at The Eiders at the end of June. Caroline couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, breakfast was great and we even got bread for my daughter to feed the resident ducks. We stayed in one of the family rooms which was very comfortable and we'd happily stay at the Eiders again should we come back to the area.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Futureproof12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
2.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
755 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
8.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eiders Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eiders Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Eiders Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range: £61 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Eiders Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star rated AA quality bed and breakfast, all ground floor rooms, set in 2 acres of wooded gardens, heated swimming pool, Luxury/double, twin and family rooms available, all with en-suites, some with balconies overlooking pond and gardens, varied breakfast menu and special diets no problem, a warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Eiders Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eiders Bed And Breakfast Norfolk/Aylmerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing